We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome city, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels and Resorts
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome city, average hotel”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

the hotel itself was very simple and unassuming our room was basic but nice - we were a little disappointed with the bed as the matress was larger than the base so it 'folded over the edges' so to speak. the towels also seemed a little old and frail.
on the positive side, the staff were friendly, the location was good and onsite parking is a definate plus!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    77
    51
    12
    9
See reviews for
26
64
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Very good location as it was too close to Münsterplatz, about 10-15 mins walk from the main station. Very good wifi connection in the room, but the bed could have been more comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmjm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed in Freiburg one week for a business trip and really enjoyed this hotel! When i arrived, they were about to check in a large group so I had to wait for 30 minutes BUT they gave me a room upgrade and it was totally worth the wait!
One lady at the reception was a bit slow and treated me like a 9-year-old but the other day I talked to an exceptionally friendly lady at the reception who tried everything to make my stay as comfortable as possible.
There are still some construction works going on, but the room was brand new, very comfy and absolutely quiet.
I didn't have breakfast there, because it was 13,50€ which i think is quite a lot! So i chose a bakery next to the hotel for breakfast which was perfect for me.
All in all, I'd definitely recommend this hotel to a friend and I'll stay there again the next time I visit Freiburg.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaAnna4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I stayed here three nights during my business trip. The reception and lobby of the hotel were slightly out-of-date, and there were some construction works going on in the hotel. However, the room was modern, clean, and quiet. Breakfast was exceptional tasty with large variety of organic food. The hotel is not situated in the very hart of the town, but you can still easily walk everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBird_fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The hotel is perfectly situated in the center of the beautiful town of Freiburg. We stayed here after a 3-day trip to EuropaPark since we wanted to visit to surrounding too and the park hotels are just too expensive. This hotel offers great value for money with a large choice at the breakfast buffet. There are parking facilities too. The rooms are clean, spacious and well equipped. The friendly staff was helpful in giving us tips where to go in town. Good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro_7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after we spent 3 days in the close-by Europa Park to visit the lovely town of Freiburg. The hotel is centrally located and has a guest parking. The rooms are clean, spacious and the hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood. Here you find all kinds of bars and restaurants in walking distance. The breakfast buffet was varied and offered all one would need. Perfect place to spend a night!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam_Chris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stadt Hotel Kolping, Karlstrasse 7, Freiburg, Germany is an overlooked hotel in a city where it can be difficult to find last minute reservations. A walk-up reservation cost me 77 Euros. The room was much larger than one might expect for the price with a recently remodeled bath and free internet. The hotel has more rooms than most and, thus improves your chance of finding a room last minute. Three blocks from Cathedral square and pedestrian areas.

Room Tip: My room was on the street but it is not a busy one and new windows provided good sound insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stilts6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
909 reviews
0.0 mi away
Designhotel am Stadtgarten
Designhotel am Stadtgarten
#16 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
IntercityHotel Freiburg
IntercityHotel Freiburg
#31 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,630 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Freiburg
City Hotel Freiburg
#24 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels and Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels and Resorts

Property: Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels and Resorts
Address: Karlstr. 7, 79104 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Stadthotel Kolping Freiburg)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels and Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels and Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadthotel Kolping Freiburg Im Breisgau
Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels And Resorts Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing