We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent breakfast, quiet rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels and Resorts
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I stayed here three nights during my business trip. The reception and lobby of the hotel were slightly out-of-date, and there were some construction works going on in the hotel. However, the room was modern, clean, and quiet. Breakfast was exceptional tasty with large variety of organic food. The hotel is not situated in the very hart of the town, but you can still easily walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyBird_fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 188 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

The hotel is perfectly situated in the center of the beautiful town of Freiburg. We stayed here after a 3-day trip to EuropaPark since we wanted to visit to surrounding too and the park hotels are just too expensive. This hotel offers great value for money with a large choice at the breakfast buffet. There are parking facilities too. The rooms are clean, spacious and well equipped. The friendly staff was helpful in giving us tips where to go in town. Good value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro_7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after we spent 3 days in the close-by Europa Park to visit the lovely town of Freiburg. The hotel is centrally located and has a guest parking. The rooms are clean, spacious and the hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood. Here you find all kinds of bars and restaurants in walking distance. The breakfast buffet was varied and offered all one would need. Perfect place to spend a night!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amsterdam_Chris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stadt Hotel Kolping, Karlstrasse 7, Freiburg, Germany is an overlooked hotel in a city where it can be difficult to find last minute reservations. A walk-up reservation cost me 77 Euros. The room was much larger than one might expect for the price with a recently remodeled bath and free internet. The hotel has more rooms than most and, thus improves your chance of finding a room last minute. Three blocks from Cathedral square and pedestrian areas.

Room Tip: My room was on the street but it is not a busy one and new windows provided good sound insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stilts6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hotel was really quite nice. The room was fairly good sized with nice, modern furnishings. The bathroom was nice too except that the hot water in the shower had very low flow. Most of the room was clean except for a couple dusty shelves near the closet. Internet was out when I arrived, but was functional again later in the night. Unlike some other reviewers here, I didn't find the hotel noisy at all even with my window open. My room looked onto the side-street. Maybe it's quieter than the street in front or maybe it was just not a busy couple nights. My only complaint is the lack of air conditioning. Hotel rooms get stuffy, warm and humid without decent circulation. Opening a window didn't help much, but fortunately it was not too warm while I was there.

I had both dinner and breakfast there at the restaurant. It was fine, but nothing special. The staff of the hotel spoke good English and were helpful.

I would probably look for something different next time I'm in Freiburg. But this is an ok choice so long as the weather is comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BullaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I have to admit that when we opened the door to our room (double), we both reacted to the smallness of the room. However, it was a very thoughtfully designed one. Every space was utilized without it feeling crowded. For instance, the bathroom, while small, had hooks everywhere, as well as small shelves both in and out of the shower compartment.

Likewise, the room itself made good use of the space. For instance, the (very comfortable) bed had built-in lights and small shelves (instead of a bulky bedside table) that were more than adequate. We ended up quite liking our small room.

The location couldn't be beat, as well. Just a block north of the ringstrasse that surrounds the altstadt (old city), it avoids both the price and the noise/congestion of a hotel within the ring.

It was also a very good value, costing around 100 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pknski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Hotel is in a good location to see Freiburg. Very easy walk to the town centre and historic sites. We stayed on a Sunday night so the resturant wasn't open (is closed Sun/Mon nights) so didn't try the food. Breakfast was very expensive so we didn't bother, rooms were OK - hotel suited our needs on our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boston1533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
968 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Freiburg - City Centre
Holiday Inn Express - Freiburg -...
#14 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rappen am Muensterplatz
Hotel Rappen am Muensterplatz
#18 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
IntercityHotel Freiburg
IntercityHotel Freiburg
#31 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
383 reviews
2.1 mi away
Green City Hotel Vauban
Green City Hotel Vauban
#10 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Freiburg
City Hotel Freiburg
#12 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels and Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels and Resorts

Address: Karlstr. 7, 79104 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Stadthotel Kolping Freiburg)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 56 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: $98 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels and Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels and Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadthotel Kolping Freiburg Im Breisgau
Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels And Resorts Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing