We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahatma-Gandhi

Mahatma-Gandhi
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I went to this restaurant after a visit to Freiburg's Christmas market. A very large group had arrived just before us and, in addition, the restaurant was very busy. We wondered whether we should give it a try on another evening instead, but in the end decided to stay. Despite there being only two people serving, we got our food and drinks quickly, and thanks to plate warmers, our food stayed nicely hot throughout the meal. Surprisingly, the large group also seemed to be served efficiently and quickly, and there was no pre-set menu.

Sadly, the chicken vindaloo was all too tame, but nicely flavoured, as was the other curry and vegetable dish we ordered. The naan was a little disappointing, but not enough to make the meal any less enjoyable. The furniture, incredibly big and heavy chairs and tables and placed too close together, gives the restaurant a very crowded look (but I read that the current owners took it over from the previous restaurant, so it probably wasn't their choice.) A series of excellent black and white photos of Mahatma Gandhi adorn the light-coloured walls, and this simplicity tends to tone down the effect of the heavy furniture. The food and wine was very reasonably priced, and we look forward to going there again at a different time of year.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    13
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malterdingen, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a shame I can't rate this place higher. The service was rather slow and disinterested, the samosa pastry far too thick and stodgy and my Chicken Milgiri would have been very good, subtle and interesting spicing, but was slightly too salt. Maybe we caught them on a bad night, but the problems could be so easily solved.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food - just what was needed after long bike ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

After arriving in Freiburg my legs were tired after the cycle from Basel. I wandered around the old town and stumbled across this Indian restaurant. It was only 7pm but I wanted an early night so I went in. The Balti was great as was the yogurt they suggest you order on the side was too. The owner was friendly and service was good. Just what was needed. All in all I can recommend

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dinosaurnothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacoima, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place was so much like our favorite Indian restaurant in Los Angeles! The food was very tasty: deeply spiced and not necessarily -hot- spicy (we ordered the Milgiri-- which is like a korma with cilantro and mint flavors). Great samosas! Also, since we'd been digging into local German cuisine for the last ten days, this was a wonderful change.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LNakashima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great restaurant with lovely Indian food in a nice location on an old street in Freiburg. The service was really good and the food excellent. We would definitely go back. Price-wise we found this really reasonable and comparable to other similar restaurants in the city. We tried a couple of times to book a table via email but it didn't work so just turned up and they had space, even though it was a Saturday. Definitely call ahead though if you want to be sure of a table, rather than using the website.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BaselEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahatma-Gandhi also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Mahatma-Gandhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing