We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Cathedral” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freiburg Cathedral

Freiburg Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.67*
and up
Private Tour: Freiburg and Black Forest Day Trip from Strasbourg
México
Level Contributor
124 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing Cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a nice and very interesting Cathedral. Located in the heart of Freiburg and just a few steps away from the forest. It was a shame that I got there when it was under maintenance, anyways, it was quite amazing. Amazing gothic style, great history, lots of places to visit around it, including the Münster Platz.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank César B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    896
    545
    64
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

On this occasion we only climbed the belfry; a lot of steps and two way! If you are claustrophobic I would leave it alone as passing on the stairs can be extremely tight. However, at €2 you get to see an good deal. You pay when you reach the first level and then you can go higher and look at the bells. The views of the surrounding area are breathtaking. It is good to look at the market from this vantage point.
The Cathedral seems a constant labour of love and repairs mean scaffolding cloaks a part of the building. I doubt I shall ever see it free from this. Just walking around the outside admiring the gargoyles is an attraction in itself. (take with you some binoculars!)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
241 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church with Unusual Features”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a very nice cathedral, although it does not rank with Notre Dame de Paris, Chartres, Reims, or other French cathedrals. Notice an unusual gargoyle/rain spout on the south side; I can assure you that you have not seen one like that!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hawaii-Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful cathedral ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Not as grand as the cathedrals in Paris, Milan or Rome, nevertheless, it has its own charm. It is remarkably well preserved and is free to visit except for voluntary contributions. For us, it was a mere stop-over for our tour group from France to Switzerland. If you can spare an hour, it is worth a visit.

It was odd seeing palm trees at the nearby cafe. Maybe for use on Palm Sunday?

Back home, I go to church once a week. While on vacation in Europe, we went to church every day ...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank zanypoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“"Let there be... dark?" Very dim, dismal & Noisy - thus very disappointing!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have visited many Cathedrals & places of worship over the years & I found this very disappointing. Christian places of worship need light to reflect both the presence of God & the beauty of its architectual design. This Cathedral, with its impressive Gothic flying buttresses and red stonework is entered via the vestibule through a heavy curtain and the first impression to grab you is... darkness! Even at noon on a bright summer's day, the nave is shrouded in darkness as light struggled to penetrate the heavily stained glass windows. This is done to good effect in the Church of Gethsemane, Jerusalem, symbolising Christ's trial on the eve of his crucifixion, but here it is due to overworked glasswork making for an semi-dark & dingy interior - like the house of a heavy smoker with the curtains closed.

During our visit the interior was also reverberating to the organ being played so loudly that the overall impression was oppressive & extremely unpleasant! My wife & I went into one to the smaller chapels to sit quietly & found this almost impossible, the whole atmosphere more like a poor Hammer Horror film. With so many other bright & beautiful bright Cathedrals in Europe I can only rate this two stars.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank revcole7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freiburg Cathedral also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Freiburg Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing