We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok, but to expensive for what it is” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Schiller Freiburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Schiller Freiburg
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“ok, but to expensive for what it is”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

The Hotel is very central and the staff friendly, but the furniture was very old and it felt as if we stayed at my grand-grandmothers place.
The room not very big, the tv hidden behind a corner, so you can only watch TV when u sit at the corner of the bed. No mini bar, no blow-dryer, the bed not very comfortable. So all in all just to expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheebashoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    34
    17
    12
See reviews for
31
26
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

This hotel is positioned very near to city center, in 5 minute-walk you reach the old-town. This is actually a hotel-restaurant, and it has no lobby, the check-in desk is situated in the restaurant. The staff was nice. My room was large, with balcony, it was also clean, but furniture needs to be renewed. The bed was not the most comfortable and TV was very tiny, as the room was large, it would have needed a larger TV also. Surprisingly bathroom (that needs also to be renewed) in my room had no hairdryer. But the biggest problem is the street noise day and night. I could not sleep well due to the traffic noise. If you decide to sleep there, you better take earplugs with you. After all I found the price too expensive for services they offer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fadinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels

Frankfurt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

My mother and 3 of my aunts stayed for one night. Hotel was clean, breakfast was good and the friendly staff had functional English. If I go back to Freiburg, I will be booking this one again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

We spent one night in hotel Schiller. Hotel located 5 min walk from city center. Staff was very friendly. The double room was a good size. Breakfast was good. All was good with one exception: lack of air condition.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise street
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loradru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg, Germany
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

Lately I have booked a number of corporate guest in the Schiller and I am pleased to say that my guests really enjoyed their stays. Friendly staff, personal touch, appropriate rooms and good location just outside the old town. Near one of the main roads but that is the only downside. Good value for money. The breakfast was actually praised same as the food in the restaurant which I also tried myself and was very pleased.

Worth a try if you need a value for money place that is not standardised and has some personal touch. The Schiller is especially a good option if the rest of the city center hotels are booked out on the weekend or have put up their rates because of trade shows or fairs.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HHFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2007

Stayed here on a Friday night. We wanted something traditional. The restaurant downstairs - where breakfast is served - is a really nice room. Very German and traditional. The breakfast was fairly basic but adequate. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was disappointing. It was large and clean but sterile. I can imagine that the owner wanted a "modern" look and had taken out the original traditional rooms. This was what not we were looking for but then our taste is not the same as everyone elses. The price was right. Good value.

  • Liked — The breakfast room downstairs - very old German
  • Disliked — The bedroom
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tagesthemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alleehaus
Hotel Alleehaus
#42 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel am Rathaus
Hotel am Rathaus
#26 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Designhotel am Stadtgarten
Designhotel am Stadtgarten
#21 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victoria
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.6 mi away
Green City Hotel Vauban
Green City Hotel Vauban
#11 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schiller Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schiller Freiburg

Property: Hotel Schiller Freiburg
Address: Hildastrasse 4, 79102 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 56 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schiller Freiburg 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Schiller Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Schiller Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing