We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and reasonable.”
Review of Hotel Rheingold

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rheingold
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and reasonable.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just completed a short 2 day stay at this hotel. Room was very nice - large size compared to others in area. Thank goodness for the Air Conditioning in the room because of the hot humid weather during this stay.
Very tasty breakfast - not a large selection though. Small, cozy bar area.
Helpful staff assisted with a special request.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chitownthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    56
    37
    16
    10
See reviews for
21
43
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our fourth stay at this place, and we will certainly come back. Rooms are clean, comfortable, and very well refurbished. Staff is friendly and dedicated, service excellent. Last but not least, their restaurant is a class of its own.....delicious meals at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimetrius1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to Freiburg for a wedding. After hours of jet lag and driving around Germany we arrived at the hotel. It was a little hard to figure out where to park because to get to the parking garage you have to go down a road that looks like a sidewalk. Other then that the hotel was great, staff at the front desk were helpful and courteous, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Finally the free breakfast in the morning was really great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Dated rooms. There is no tea/coffee making facility in the room which I find disappointing. However, the hotel is just a short walk into town with lots of bars and restaurants which is convenient. Reception team were very friendly and helpful. Good selection of choices for breakfast and a little gift when we checked out of an apple and a bag of sweets for our journey back to the UK!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip to Freiburg. The hotel itself is located about 100m away from the Hbf - though the train noise is well insulated, and I didn't hear the trains during my stay. However the street does get a lot of pedestrian traffic, as it is the main thoroughfare to the Old Town! The hotel itself is only 5 mins walk from the Old Town, so is a great location to go exploring. The room was large, and very clean. The bathroom was also large by European hotel standards. There was no kettle or ironing board. There was also no airconditioning, so we just had the window opened. The buffet breakfast in the morning was great, and offered both a fried and continental breakfast. The restaurant itself had good views overlooking the cobblestoned street. The staff were incredibly helpful as well, providing a small bag of snacks for the day (an apple and wafer biscuit). It was a nice touch!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagli, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

After a long journey with a lot of delays I arrived exhausted at Hotel Rheingold in Freiburg ... to discover that they gave away my room! I booked it in February via Booking and received an email which said that the booking was confirmed and guaranteed. But because I arrived late they just sold my room (probably for a few euros more) to somebodyelse. I was so angry! There I was at 11 pm standing outside on the street in stead of having a shower and a bed. With the friendly help of Best Western, down the same street, I managed to find another hotel. Much more expensive then the one I originally booked.... So I'm sure everybody can imagine that I would NEVER recommend this hotel, unless you like unpleasant surprises.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Monqieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels

Northeast Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spent a few nights here on business. Comfortable bed, decent size room, very nice bathroom. Bathroom was exceptionally modern and clean. TV was very small, like a computer monitor but that did not matter to me.
Bar is OK downstairs for a beer with work people but not a "cool hangout" for vacation.
Restaurant is spacious for breakfast and service was very good. I did not eat dinner but work friends who did said they were surprised how good the food was.
All the service staff were very friendly. I would come back for business.

Not exactly a "touristy place" but if you are looking for a good professional and clean business stay, you will not be dissapointed. English speaking skills of staff were very good, if that is a concern for you.

Room Tip: some floors are smoking dedicated, other are smoke free (it is Eurpoe after all). Make a note w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Post Meier KG
Park Hotel Post Meier KG
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#25 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Rathaus
Hotel am Rathaus
#30 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel Freiburg
Central Hotel Freiburg
#15 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rheingold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rheingold

Property: Hotel Rheingold
Address: Eisenbahnstr. 47, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rheingold 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rheingold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rheingold Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing