We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Hotel Freiburg
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel has a perfect location. Even though the train station is kind of central, I'd definitely recommend all travelers to stay in the actual center which makes this hotel and some other ones a better choice to me. They serve a simple breakfast, which I also liked and some of the staff members are extremely nice.

The biggest downside to the hotel to me was that they did not supply schampoo, conditioner or body lotion. The little soap and shower gel was of the same class as motel 6 toiletries, which is not okay to me considering the price of this hotel. If you do decide to go, make sure to bring some - especially during public holidays or sundays when everything is closed. I also did not appreciate that they were out on bread the last 30 minutes of the breakfast (especially since bread is basically the only thing their simple breakfast includes) and that the toilet did not feel completely clean. I am also not sure how skilled the staff is in English. I spoke English to them, but just one of them spoke English back to me. The rest answered in German.

Overall it's okay, but I know other people have been more pleased with other hotels close by.The rooms are pretty small, but not too small for most people. I will most likely not go back there and would not recommend it over other places if the price isn't considerably lower.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 144 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before and chose it again because of its location on the edge of the city centre. It is a typical unassuming German hotel with large rooms, comfortable furnishings and an excellent breakfast. The staff at the front desk were particularly helpful, one of whom went out of her way to find us a reputable repairer for our laptop. Parking is downstairs and is very well located to the hotel. I would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Freiburg which is a very lovely, historic and interesting city with lots of lovely shops!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Staff were nice and breakfast, though standard, had an excellent seeded bread. Bed was okay. However it was extremely hot, and the fan is too small for the room. The shutters need to be fully closed. The room is basic, and the key is one of those annoying twisty ones which are a bit difficult but we got the hang of it, and staff are there 24 hours so didn't need to worry.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pancreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A straight 10-minute walk from the train station, this hotel is located very close to the city centre and has nearby supermarkets. The single room itself was very basic but clean. and the staff are helpful and polite with excellent English.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is perfect for tourists who walk for hours and need to have a break during the day. It is a very short walk from the city centre and market square and has an added bonus of a great supermarket and bakery right next door. The staff are amazingly helpful with excellent English and happily recommend all the main attractions. Our room was spotless with an excellent shower. It was not air conditioned and you do get some street noise in hot nights. Breakfasts are great, we especially enjoyed the freshly scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: Ask for an air conditioned room if there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy Aussie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We opted for the City Hotel, as it was right next to the train station. We decided to splurge rather than drag our suitcases across blocks of cobblestones to get to the tourist information office. It was a typical European chain hotel. Room not spacious, but spotless. Bathroom one of those capsule things, but spotless and adequate. When the window was closed, it was very quiet. It was very handy to everything we wanted to see and we were given free passes to take public transportation anywhere in the city, a nice bonus. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. No free WiFi, but the Starbucks at the train station had it! We had drinks in the bar in the evening and service and selection were more than adequate (everyone was focused on the football game as Germany was still in the playoffs).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

we stayed for 2 nights at this hotel in their family room. clean, decent, good size room. but very small shower area, even though i am very moderate built, i had difficulty, kept bumping against the walls, and when i had to bathe my kids it was pretty difficult though i managed. no mini bar, no kitchenette. Free internet at the reception. No free wifi.
the hotel staff were very nice and helpful, they even tolerated my younger daughter wetting the reception carpet, which was pretty embarassing for us.
Tram station just across the road, supermarket next door, actually its the same building and its almost in the city centre. But if you coming by train and would like to avail of the pubic transport (trams) you need to change once which is a bit bother and its a bit far by foot especially when you are when you are pulling luggage. Taxi is better costs only 8-10€. Lot of eateries nearby.
Great value for money.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank sanjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
968 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Green City Hotel Vauban
Green City Hotel Vauban
#10 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Freiburg - City Centre
Holiday Inn Express - Freiburg -...
#13 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Freiburg

Address: Weberstrasse 3, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: $106 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Freiburg 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the City Hotel Freiburg is a pulsating university town with a lot of culture, expositions and conventions. Our hotel is situated in the center of the city, on the edge of the pedestrian zone and is an ideal starting point to discover the city: no matter whether you are interested in the historic or the culinary highlights of Freiburg. Our hotel is managed by the owners and has maintained its charm. The Schultheis Family and their staff are looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
City Hotel Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing