We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Family Afternoon”
Review of Mundenhof

Mundenhof
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Family Afternoon”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

As a mother of 2 children which are 4 and 6 years old, I enjoyed a lovely afternoon in our summer holidays in Freiburg with my whole family. Because of the fabulous weather we just got there by bike. I never expected that so many kind of animals are living in such a good and comfortable atmosphere without any entrance fees. Especially for my lil ones there where a lot of activities like adventure play grounds and touching animals like goats, horses and donkeys. Moreover they where really excited about camel riding. Furthermore we are godparents of a peacock since summer. Due to the fact that it was a hot and sunny summer afternoon, so we just enjoyed a mouthwatering homemade ice cream. Which was soooo delicious. We will definitely come again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LingLing79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    77
    13
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genova, Italia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not good, not bad”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After reading all the positive reviews, I expected a lot from Mundenhof. Above all I thought we would have a lot of interaction with pet animals, which was not the case. It is surely a nice place, where animals have a lot of space (and because of this they are sometimes very far from the fences, so that there might be some trouble to see them). The zoo is free of charge and if you arrive by car you have to pay for the parking (5EUR), but it is reachable by public transport too after a 15min walk. There are about 20 species of animals, divided according to their geographical area. If you come with children, the biggest fun comes surely from the little goats which can be freely touched as they are not in a cage. Also horses and deers are very nice, as they often come near the fences to take food (grass) from your hands, I would say that the park is neither good nor bad. For sure before visiting it again we will think about it twice or thrice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank maximarcellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely and free Zoo”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Not only kids but also adults can be amazed by different kinds of animals on earth gathered in this huge zoo. It is worth taking a walk around the zoo and end up with a cup of hot chocolate in an autumn day!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hoangmyhanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Petting farm”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Not what we would call a zoo really but a nice cheap couple of hours that works well for those with children below 10 I would say. Entry free with 5 euro parking charge. Really well laid put with nice easy walking and you can even cycle around

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice park/zoo near Freiburg”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The zoo is free, you just pay the car parking. We went there on a very cold day, nevertheless it was a enjoyable experience. The bisons are impressive!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank F_Andy_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mundenhof also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Mundenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing