We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful city”
Review of Hotel Oberkirch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oberkirch
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful city”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is in the old town. Right across from the Munsterplatz. Perfect position.
Very helpful and friendly staff.
A really good free breakfast.
To get directions you are best to ring staff before arriving, as you are in the centre of the old town. it is easy to find when they tell you.
We got a car park 5 min away, so not to hard.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerryAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    97
    22
    9
    1
See reviews for
58
134
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My partner and I recently visited this hotel for a romantic night away. We treated ourselves to an exclusive room with a view over the Munster. The price tag for this room suggested a luxury room but apart from the view, which was stunning, the features of the room were pretty standard. It had quirky wallpaper but otherwise the room had simple beech or pine furniture, a rather small bathroom and slightly tacky photos on the walls. In comparison, the restaurant downstairs is a beautiful space filled with dark wood and reminiscent of the history of the place. None of these features were apparent in the bedroom which could have been situated in any other hotel. Although we had these reservations, the room was very clean, spacious and included fruit and some water as a welcome (nice touch). The breakfast was nice and the service fine. The location of the hotel is great but I'd remind potential visitors that the bells of the cathedral do chime quite frequently (and from an early start in the morning) so if this may bother you then perhaps choose a room at the back or a different hotel altogether!

Room Tip: We did enjoy waking up and seeing the Munster from our window (and hearing the bells chime)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrLadybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel for travellers with car. First of all hotel is very hard to find. Sat Nav in not showing it. Even Google maps in my smartphone would not recognize this location,which has never happened to me before.On top of it hotel has only 4 car park spaces,which were occupied when I have arrived.I was advised to use car park a few blocks away.When I went there car park was closed,even though it is 24 hours car park.Finding hotel and finding car park has taken me one and half hour.By the time we have parked the restaurant got closed and we went to bed hungry and tired.Finding car park at city centre is nightmare

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koenigstein, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

In the heart of Freiburg right on the verge of the Münsterplatz this hotel makes you feel at home from the beginning! You will be assisted by friendly staff, the rooms have an individual flair, very clean and tidy. Whilst separated from the hotel (2 minutes walk), the restaurant is typical for this part of Germany: Don't miss to choose this for dinner, the wine list is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi58DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It may be a little difficult to find at night but it's worth the effort. The staff is friendly, the hotel feels very European and everything was clean.
We had a two room suite which overlooks the cathedral, with plenty of room for three. The bathroom is a little small but everything worked and for a three night stay it was fine. Breakfast was good with plenty of variety. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper try to get a room away from the Cathedral side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherylF195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. While the taxi driver couldn't follow instructions from the train station to it (!) - the hotel is right opposite the Freiburg Minster - it is wonderfully centrally located.My room (52) looked right out on the cathedral and the markets during the week. I found the view appealing and not at all noisy (which I expected) The hotel staff were pleasant, helpful and polite. The breakfast was good and the dinner in their restaurant also met expectations. While the room was initially thought to be a little small (and with a strange looking bed) it turned out to be perfectly adequate. I'm not fussy. It was clean and had what I needed including a safe. I liked the place. It was friendly, an easy stay in a great, central location, and I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Freiburg.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RJMcDiarmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennep
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The location is great and the service good. The rooms are a bit small. Breakfast was good with a lot of different items. The breakfast staff had a rough night the night before I guess... Overal a good stay but nothing exceptional.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wouterrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#6 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
893 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colombi
Hotel Colombi
#3 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
443 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#9 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oberkirch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oberkirch

Property: Hotel Oberkirch
Address: Muensterplatz 22 | Schusterstrasse 11, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#4 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#5 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oberkirch 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, privately run hotel in Freiburg’s old quarter is located in the heart of the pedestrian area, directly opposite the famous cathedral. It serves delicious regional cuisine.The Hotel Oberkirch provides traditionally designed rooms with en-suite facilities.A colourful range of shops, cafés and restaurants are just a short stroll away.Treat yourself to seasonal delights and Baden specialities in the Oberkirch’s widely appreciated restaurant. Make sure to try the local wines on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oberkirch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberkirch Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
Hotel Oberkirch Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing