We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in a delightful city”
Review of Hotel Oberkirch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oberkirch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

It's few steps from the Munsterplatz in the old part of the city. Restaurants, bars, a brewery (even) within minutes. The town is extremely cycle friendly and is a great base for tackling some of the nearby 1,000 meter 'hills'.
Only downsides to the hotel is the lack of a guest lounge and bar. Their restaurant is a brief walk away. The staff, as to to be expected, are extremely attentive, competent and korrect..
Valet parking is available for the hotel but spaces are limited.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 307 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

THIS REVIEW IS FOR THEIR RESTAURANT ONLY

Located along the boarder of the market square & directly in front of the church, Oberkirch Hotel-Restaurant-Weinstube was a wonderful dinner to welcome us to Freiburg

We were seated in a nice quiet room upstairs, the place was still bustling w/ lots of dinner guests from local to tourist. We knew we were in for a treat!

Appetizers for all included the Asparagus Soup - this was a very creamy soup w/ little hunks of asparagus. Slight spice but the cream & asparagus flavors took center stage. Delish!

The Mr & I chose the Gnocchi w/ Cream Sauce & Asparagus - perfectly cooked white asparagus spears & little pillows were tender, w/ just a bit of chew but not doughy. Delish!

Dad chose the Whole Baked Trout w/ mixed Salad & said it was flaky & moist & cooked just perfectly

Mom chose the Veal Medallions in a creamy mushroom sauce w/ Spaetzle - she said the beef was super tender & she loved the tender spaetzle that soaked up all the sauce

Desserts included the Elderberry Sorbet for Dad - very pungent & flavorful. Dad said it was completely refreshing & hit the spot

Mom chose the Assorted Chocolate Mousse - white, dark & milk chocolate mousses paired w/ a raspberry coulis. She loved it & wouldn't even think to share - and this was saying something!

The Mr chose the Semolina Pudding served in a small glass w/ a raspberry coulis on top - said it was custardy & delish

This was a fantastic welcome to Freiburg & a perfect cap on another perfect day touring Germany

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank wanderlust s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is in the centre of a pedestrianized area and is a nightmare to get to. I was stopped by the police and fortunately the cop in question had other things to do, or I would have been charged.
We had arranged a parking space with the hotel, but when we arrived it was a "good news, bad news" moment. The room was ready, but the parking was non-existent. The public car park may only be 300 metres away, but if you have luggage, it is no joke.
The hotel is fine, the staff most helpful and the position superb. The restaurant is terrific, the breakfast really good and the rooms adequate, in what is a very old building. A lovely place to stay, a nightmare to get to.

Room Tip: Try to get in to the guest house at the rear. It is quieter and less hassle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GourmetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias P, Controlling & Marketing at Hotel Oberkirch, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

First of all thank you very much for your comment on our hotel. We regret your experience when trying to get to us, even if we only have very limited influence over our location. It is correct, there only are six parking spots directly at the hotel, which is why they are fully booked very fast. Nevertheless it always is possible to drive directly in front of the hotel to unload your luggage and park the car in the public garage afterwards.

We also strongly recommend to contact us before travelling as most GPS do not lead through the pedestrian zone properly. Also when contacting us in advance we can reserve a parking spot, if we have one available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Oberkirch is bang in the old town opposite to the church fronted by a cobblestone square. We stayed here for just 1 night at the end of our drive through the Schwarzwaldhochstrasse.
Our GPS lady in the car couldnt guide us to the hotel properly as the hotel is not directly accessible by roads on the GPS and it makes sense to study how to reach the hotel before, especially if you are driving. Would recommend calling up the hotel earlier to check on the parking for your car. There is a parking lot located at a close walking distance from the hotel, however if you are lugging around wheeled luggage then be prepared to make a racket while rolling the luggage over the cobblestone pathways enroute to and from the hotel :-).
The restaurant in the hotel is quite good and seems to be a popular place with the locals. We had a good dinner at this weinstube.
Overall decent place for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTushar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of the Altstadt and it provides the perfect base of operations for exploring this great town. Our room looked over Müsterstraße which gave us the perfect soundtrack for sleeping and relaxing. Make sure you head up the funicular to the Schlossberg for some amazing views of the city and the Schwarzwald.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wmerck26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in March - young couple touring the Rhine and stayed here en route from Switzerland. Amazing service. Got upgraded to a lovely suite where we got extras like fresh fruit, water and the most comfortable bed. Parking is convenient - a lot down the street that they'll give you a fantastic discount to if you just ask for validation of your ticket. Breakfast was AMAZING - and included in the nightly rate. Smoked salmon, lovely cheeses, decadent yogurt - well beyond the usual buffet fare. Stay here - you'll get your money's worth and enjoy your stay in this lovely city that much more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelligui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We enjoyed 3 wonderful nights in this hotel. We were lucky enough to have a renovated room. Our had a couch and a stunning bathroom (complete with bath). I did find the bed to be on the hard side, but my husband thought it was fine - so I guess that's a personal thing. Breakfast was around the corner and was delicious. The location of the hotel can't be beat and it was certainly an experience driving through the pedestrian zone to get to it. Staff park the car for you. The bells did from the Cathedral did not bother us, though I imagine in Summer with windows open they could be a problem (ear plugs are provided!). We left early (6am) on our last day and because we missed breakfast, the front desk provided us with a packed lunch to take with us. And it was a BIG lunch. We were really made to feel welcome here and love the thoughtful touches like the packed lunch.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libbywithnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.5 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
388 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
945 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kreuzblume
Hotel Kreuzblume
#30 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oberkirch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oberkirch

Address: Muensterplatz 22 | Schusterstrasse 11, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#4 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#5 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: $126 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Oberkirch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, privately run hotel in Freiburg’s old quarter is located in the heart of the pedestrian area, directly opposite the famous cathedral. It serves delicious regional cuisine.The Hotel Oberkirch provides traditionally designed rooms with en-suite facilities.A colourful range of shops, cafés and restaurants are just a short stroll away.Treat yourself to seasonal delights and Baden specialities in the Oberkirch’s widely appreciated restaurant. Make sure to try the local wines on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oberkirch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberkirch Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
Hotel Oberkirch Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing