We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schwarzwaelder Hof

Schwarzwaelder Hof
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were in Frieburg for a conference and this was recommended by the local staff. It was a great recommendation. The food was excellent and very affordable. They give you a fresh tasty salad free of charge before your meal. I had a mixed fish plate (not fried) cooked beautifully, and we also had a very good orange risotto. The presentation of the food was also beautiful, I wish I had took a picture. I highly recommend it and if they have a special take it, because it comes with soup and dessert. One of the best meals I've eaten and we still talk about it even months after so I decided I should write this review.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shireentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the Hotel, Love the Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel and after several nights of walking by the restaurant and seeing it packed with patrons every time, we decided to check it out for ourselves. And we were definitely not disappointed. The food was traditional German and excellent. Favorites included the spätzle and the potato soup. If you are in Freiburg, make a reservation and check it out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lawstreetdingrepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“White asparagus and wiener Switzel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Both of these are a must try . Would have like a top sheet for when it's really hot, hard with just a duvet, gorgeous streets and shops

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank leighb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
372 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is your typical German cuisine restaurant at its best. The atmosphere is traditional, warm and cozy. The waitress was friendly and helped with explanations and descriptions. The menu had a wide variety of foods to pick from. You do need a reservation, and it filled up while we were eating.

I ordered a Vegetable Plate and the boys ordered Turkey Salad plate and Fish boiled with potato and salad. Everything was delicious, the ambiance was relaxed and comfortable and wait staff were very helpful. I would definately eat at this restaurant again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TennisgalGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Outstanding evening meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

This is a Hotel-Restaurant and we visited the restaurant on 2 evenings of a 4-day stay in the hotel (see separate review). We would have visited on all 4 evenings had it not been closed on Sundays, and we would be too late back from a day-trip on the other evening.

It is clear how popular this restaurant is by the fact that you must book a table in advance and on each of the occasions we visited, potential diners were turned away. Despite the restaurant being busy and popular we were never rushed with our meal and the waitresses although very busy, were attentive, charming and also spoke good English, helping us choose dishes from the daily specials menu (all in German) and the main menu which is also in English.

The menu is quite varied although the dishes are predominently German cuisine. On our first visit we both tried the house special dessert (Coupe Schwarzwaelderhof) which is an ice-cream and cream sundae with hot wood fruits and kirsch - absolutely delicious such that we had to have it again on our 2nd visit.

While the meals are fairly simple and would not be described as gourmet, the dishes were all beautifully cooked and presented and very tasty, and we could not fault the service. The dining room is fairly traditional but had a comfortable cosy atmosphere.

As always when considering restaurants the number of locals eating here, is a good indication of what to expect and there were a number of parties of locals dining here on both occasions when we visited. The meal prices were comparable with others in similar establishments in the city and were good value. Although I have rated it £££ below this reflects more the ambience, character, and nature of the restaurant rather than an excessive price, in line with the Trip Adviser guidelines. It is not stuffy and formal, but neither is it what one might call casual, although the dress code is certainly not formal. To put it in context an a la carte 3-course meal currently costs of the order of 20-25 euros per person + drinks. There is a slightly cheaper Table d'hote menu.

On both occasions a very enjoyable evening and highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvertravelsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schwarzwaelder Hof also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Schwarzwaelder Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing