We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre beer, overpriced mediocre food”

Ganter Brauereiausschank
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“mediocre beer, overpriced mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

got to my hotel late, went out to eat around 10. it's a lovely place to sit outside, looking right at the cathedral and with views of other historical buildings. the draft beer is just ok (it's not bavaria or bohemia, so it's generally hard to find really good beer). i'm a connoisseur of käsespätzle, so i tried them here. it's actually very hard to get good käsespätzle, even in the allgäu and munich. most restaurants nowadays take the easy way out. they make the noodles (if they make them themselves at all), melt a bunch of cheese, sometimes cream added, over them, and top them off with deep-fried strips of onion. NOT the way it's supposed to be done.

but these were far worse. the noodles were basically swimming in a cheesy sauce and had a few under-fried onions lying on top. edible, but nothing one would ever order again.

and this simple, and most disappointing, dish cost 11.90 euros!! this is a dish that even in the center of munich, in a good restaurant, costs well under 10 euros, usually 7.90 or 8.90. so this was not only a disappointment, but a rip-off.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank waehlerisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    153
    68
    18
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
309 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Nice Spot am Muenster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I had an excellent meal and a couple of good local draft Pils while admiring the cathedral on a lovely afternoon. Service was excellent and the food was great. Not really expected in such a "touristy" spot.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LowLands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home Brewery (Brauhaus) at the foot of the Munster (cathedral)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Small in comparison to most Brauhauser I've visited but the right atmosphere. Location almost can't be beaten, direct opposite the fantastic Freiburger Munster. There is a big terrace so you can admire the church and the people on the square surrounding it. We spent some time inside.
It was Spargelzeit (Asparagus season) so there was a season menu with classic asparagus dishes, I took the soup with cream. It wasn't bad but I've had better. The options for mine girlfriend (Vegetarian) and child (boy 6 year old) were slim, that's always a pity. Add to this the not so friendly waitress and the high prices. (In comparison with other restaurants we've visited in Freiburg) I can't do better than 3 out of 5. The local outfit the waitress were wearing added some bonus points to this achievement.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank borktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great location, food, service and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We were lucky to choose this restaurant with terrasse just by the cathedral, service was excellent as well as food and prices. The dunkel local beer was also fantastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The real deal - down home food, prices, service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We went for an early lunch after walking around in Freiburg on a somewhat dreary spring day, but our mood rose several notches in this homely classic restaurant/brewery. They had no problem that the lively 2 year-old loudly sang and commented on how much he liked the fries, but found him a toddler chair and gummibears for dessert
Nice beer, righteous food - Sauerbraten with dumplings and red cabbage, pork roast with dumplings and veggies, cheese Spätzle - the waitress was embarrassed when she brought a wrong meal that despite our pleading that we had enough food and it was fine, she ended up bringing another whole plate with the right dish, for free.
Different from other places in Germany, it was no problem getting a doggie bag ("We are used to it, our portions are really kind of big here!")
Very good value too, and that the place is heavily frequented by locals is another indication of its well-deserved local standing.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_J71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganter Brauereiausschank also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Ganter Brauereiausschank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing