We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, 70s Design, but we paid a cheap rate”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Freiburg im Breisgau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel am Stadtgarten - Gaestehaus
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Small, 70s Design, but we paid a cheap rate”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked last minute via booking.com. It was the cheapest hotel. It's the guesthouse opposite the main hotel. We paid only 59 euro a night and for that it was ok. It's very central and you can venture out to the city. I would not book it though for any more money. The rooms are clean but very old 70s design, no minibar. No air con, no amenities on the room. It's not a room where you would spend time in, it's purely for sleeping and nothing else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheep81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
39
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
581 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

we booked for just one night and were very happy with our booking. We booked using booking.com and got a good price too. We had a very comfortable room, it was a good size and was very clean. The only problem was that it overlooked the evening BBQ that the hotel were doing for dinner and so we couldn't open the window. also the noise from the bar meant we couldn't go to sleep with the window open. It wasn't too noise but we were on the first floor and are both light sleepers.... had we stayed longer we would of moved rooms but for one night it was OK. It is just worth thinking about when booking.
The hotel is in a good location on a relatively quite street but easily walkable to the altstadt in about 5 mins.

Room Tip: ask for a room not overlooking the outdoor bar if you sleep with windows open !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An_Expat_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This review is for the GUESTHOUSE, not the hotel: room and bathroom are clean, but very simple and even banal. The room is not as the one shown in pics (probably they have taken pics from the best rooms or from the hotel, which is a 4 star). No elevator. Expensive breakfast (13 euro), but you can have a very good and cheap breakfast in a bakery very close to the hotel, going towards the city centre.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage try to find a room on the first floor, because there's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoodTraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed at guest house which did what we asked of it andwas good value for money.Pleasant reception staff who spoke English
Clean and pleasant room - but perhaps they should make it clear there is no elevator as three flights of stairs with your luggage can be a bit much.
Good location and nice and quiet.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d1r1g1ble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.0 mi away
Designhotel am Stadtgarten
Designhotel am Stadtgarten
#16 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Schiller Freiburg
Hotel Schiller Freiburg
#53 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zum Roten Baeren
Hotel Zum Roten Baeren
#36 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels and Resorts
Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hote...
#30 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Freiburg
Central Hotel Freiburg
#14 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Freiburg
City Hotel Freiburg
#22 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Stadtgarten - Gaestehaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Stadtgarten - Gaestehaus

Property: Hotel am Stadtgarten - Gaestehaus
Address: Karlstrasse 12, 79104 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 56 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Stadtgarten - Gaestehaus 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Hotel Am Stadtgarten - Gaestehaus Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing