We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, perfect location”
Review of Hotel am Rathaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel am Rathaus
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice, perfect location”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Absolutely brilliant location right next to the Christmas Market and Town Hall, but my room was quiet nonetheless. Nice, compact single room – a bit exotic to have the shower in the bedroom (though the toilet was, thankfully, in a separate room!). Stylish, simple decor, nice touch to have a well-filled bookshelf in the room (left-behind books, presumably). Good breakfast. I was also given vouchers for glühwein and bratwurst from the Christmas Market, since no person must leave Freiburg without it, apparently! Service was friendly throughout, and Freiburg is a very cosy place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanneme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    102
    38
    10
    6
See reviews for
68
64
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel has a superb location in the old town Freiburg. Everything is very clean and very new. The reception staff are exceedingly polite and helpful, and they make you feel welcome! The cleaning staff is very sweet and polite, especially the lady on the second floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, soundpruff windows (verrrry importnant things for this area, trust me))), reach buffet breakfast ( price includet), friendly and very helpfull staff. Only 7 minutes walk to HbahnHoff and 5 min to Münster...good price for Altstadt district..so.. Recomended! Next time will book it again for sure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mazuratti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Loved the breakfast here. Wide variety of sweet and savoury. Our room was very clean and comfortable, but a little hot. We were on the top floor, and I would recommend asking for a room lower down. There were large fans in the corridor we could have used which suggests heat is a common problem. Also the lift didn't go up as far as this floor. The hotel is very central but, as others have said, getting there by car is a bit tricky as you have to drive through a pedestrian area to the underground car park. If you are travelling by car I would recommend booking a parking place beforehand - worth paying- and then getting clear directions from the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the very top floor - no lift and rather hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel staff was very helpful, but the hotel is hard to find. The entrance is inside a shopping area and the GPS could not find it, because it is on a pedestrian area which you have to drive to to park the car. The room was large, but not air conditioned. The breakfast buffet adequate, but nothing special. I would NOT recommend visiting this town. There were much prettier places that we drove through. The church, the market, some of the old buildings were interesting, but unless you have a specific reason for visiting - I would add a different city to your intinerary.

Room Tip: Family suite was large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaTravels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Due West, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Hotel am Rathaus is centrally located, very clean, reasonably priced (for the location), and surprisingly quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful, and breakfast is very good. They have free internet and a big library of DVDs. If you want to stay in the center of the old part of Freiburg, this is a great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really nice with great central location but is really not suitable for families. To get to the parking space you have to drive in a pedestrian only area, the parking is within 2 mins walking distance, but is not connected to the hotel. The breakfast is nice for business people, but not much to eat for kids and the small eating room amplifies every child noise. The big family room on floor 5 is reachable only by stairs from floor 4, which sadly was not mentioned during the order. So, not for families, but yes for all the rest.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roi_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rappen am Muensterplatz
Hotel Rappen am Muensterplatz
#20 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Post Meier KG
Park Hotel Post Meier KG
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zum Roten Baeren
Hotel Zum Roten Baeren
#35 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#24 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Rathaus

Property: Hotel am Rathaus
Address: Rathausgasse 4 - 8, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Rathaus 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Rathaus Hotel
Hotel Am Rathaus Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing