We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to start to our European trip,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hotel Post Meier KG
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A perfect place to start to our European trip,”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our family of 5(3 teenage boys) stayed for 4 nights in late June. Having just arrived in Europe following the long flight from Australia, this hotel was the perfect place to find our feet and get over our jet lag. It is located an easy 5 minute walk from the main train station (2 hours by high speed train from Frankfurt airport), next to a delightful park. Across the park is the beautiful pedestrianised Altstadt.
We stayed in a spacious, well appointed 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor with views across the park to the Münster. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom clean and modern. Of note, the rooms were quiet despite the hotel being on a relatively busy street. The friendly and knowledgeable staff were very welcoming and a great help with planning our days' itineraries. A highlight (especially for our ravenous teenagers) was the delicious buffet breakfast. A small supermarket and bakery across the road made for convenient self catering, although the daily market in the nearby Münsterplatz was another excellent food alternative. We highly recommend the Park Hotel Post and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again ourselves if we find ourselves in Freiburg in the future.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartment a good family option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    114
    36
    7
    1
See reviews for
46
135
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great hotel which is perfect for a short stay in Freiburg. Its ideally located just outside the old town (2 minute walk) and has underground parking for 9 euros. Our room was pretty big with nice views and a balcony overlooking the park. The hotel staff provided some very nice touches like a free welcome glass of wine and free bottles of water and fruit when we left.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyW_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Park Hotel Post in May 2013. The staff were very helpful, giving us information and making phone calls for us.We enjoyed the free tea, biscuits and chocolates which they brought to our room. The breakfast was good. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk to the train station and next to the old town. Our room overlooked Colombi Park which is lovely. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very good hotel Within walking distance from the station and to the old town.The rooms does not have a tea kettle but tea coffee snacks available all day at the reception. the breakfast was good.
free Wi-Fi available.and the kids loved to eat candies at the reception.
they also offered us bottles water and snacks when we were leaving.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheetal207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had mixed feelings about the Park Hotel Post. It is listed as a four star and maybe it just makes the bottom end of that classification, but probably more like a three star. We reserved a double room with a view to the Colombi Park, which seemed the highest category in the booking system. The room was adequate, nothing exceptional about it, but probably our biggest concern was the hotel is not air-conditioned and it is on a busy, noisy street, it is the thoroughfare from the railway station to the city, and the noise levels kept us awake most nights until 4 am. The staff are really nice. The breakfast was fine, but in a fairly small room for the number of guests. The hotel is close to the city, a few minutes walk, and Freiburg is a lovely city to visit. Perhaps this hotel is among the best in Freiburg, but given the noise levels at night, we had mixed feelings about it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTimes030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated in a relatively quiet cobbled side road, not very long, linking the Main Railway Station at one end with the Old Town area of Freiburg at the other. It’s the Old Town that we visited most, the edge of which is no more than 5 minutes on foot from the Hotel, so very convenient to get to.

If you arrive by car, then you’ll appreciate the secure underground car park (at a reasonable cost) which has windscreen wash facilities, bikes for guests and a lift to the upper floors. At Reception, you’ll be offered a welcome drink by a fluent English speaking staff member, after registration and an explanation on all and everything you ask for.

The Garage attendant took our bags up to our spotless room, which was very well decorated and furnished. Everything worked and, as ever in Germany, the quality of the fixtures and fittings, seems to nudge the rest of Europe towards the 3rd world. The quality double glazing shut out all of the outside noises. Breakfast was most enjoyable, although it is difficult to push the standard of a continental breakfast ahead of the pack. I do like an egg for breakfast but, all too often, the boiled ones turn out to be like bullets, and the scrambled egg I always treat as ‘suspicious’. Safer, then, to stick to the superb smoked hams and cheeses with a full variety of bread; this, after the usual variety of juices, yoghurts and cereals.

This is an excellent Hotel, which does not suffer from any significant faults to my mind. I would thoroughly recommend it and certainly use again. Well done everyone at the Park Hotel Post.. Just the ticket!

Room Tip: All equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeFlitwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Decent hotel, not to expensive and close to all the action. The location is on the edge of the old town. This must be one of the nicest cities in the world. So pedestrian friendly, almost carfree center. The weahter was super hot, and no air condition made the sleeping expirence not that good. But friendly people working there. Rooms were decent. They had bikerentals and free refreshments in the lobby. Wonderful city

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HankNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colombi
Hotel Colombi
#3 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
436 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Post Meier KG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Post Meier KG

Property: Park Hotel Post Meier KG
Address: Eisenbahnstr. 35/37, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#8 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Post Meier KG 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the middle of Freiburg near the Colombipark, despite the city bustle, guests will experience its quiet, naturalistic setting, a haven of peace and relaxation. Guests can unwind in the tastefully furnished rooms during their stay at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Park Hotel Post Meier KG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
Park Hotel Post Meier KG Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing