We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best ever breakfast”
Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Minerva
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“best ever breakfast”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

lovely little hotel in quiet street few minutes walk from the old town, helpful staff, small room but comfortable with small balcony, breakfast was wonderful - amazing variety of excellent quality fruits, breads, hams, cheeses, cakes etc. Best breakfast of our trip throughout Germany

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbottomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
30
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed there 2 night, services and breakfast are good. Room prices are higher than other cities I visited (Munich, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Frankfurt).

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sakullak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

One of my co-workers recommended this hotel, and I'm glad she did. The hotel staff was very friendly and efficient. The breakfast was great. I had a corner room on the top floor, and it was much larger than I expected. Some of my other co-workers stayed at the hotel next door, and they were jealous of the Minerva. Also included in the price is a transit pass for Freiburg and neighboring area. We used it to go hiking in the Kaiserstuhl on the weekend.

The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the main train station, so it was very convenient. The cathedral and shopping were just a couple of blocks in the other direction, so it really was a great location.

One of the nice touches was that every morning someone went around and lit about a hundred candles. It showed a high level of personal attention to making the place cozy.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tipsyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2006

At first, at the internet, this looks like an unpersonal chain hotel, but it is not. It is a very charming and tidy little hotel between the old town of Freiburg and its raliway station. The staff is extremely friendly.

Our room was calm, clean and cosy, decorated in light colours (white, blue, green). It was not too big but very comfortable. There is an elevator in the hotel.

Breakfast is good and German; in other words, you can choose between several types of bread and pastries. There are fresh fruits. Breakfast is included in the price.

There is no parking but the hotel offers you discount on a parking house nearby the railway station (Konzerthaus). The hotel also offers you free tickets for the public transports.

  • Liked — Non-smoking hotel
  • Disliked — Could be cheaper
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matti_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2004

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. It is a nice hotel with big rooms.

Breakfast was included and was very good. Lots of options, good coffee and plenty of choices.

However, the rooms are not air conditioned!!! This may not be a problem in March but in July, we almost sweat to death.

We opened all of the windows to sleep but then we had street noise.
Loud Germans seemed to argue at all hours of the night outside of our room. When we finally got to sleep at 6 am, the deliery trucks started.
We were glad to leave the hotel so we could get some sleep.

It is nice hotel if you don't need to open the windows but in the summer, the heat is unbearable.

It is a great area. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. We didnt' have a problem parking but you have to park on the street.

Helpful?
9 Thank TravelerfromSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barbara Garni
Hotel Barbara Garni
#18 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Post Meier KG
Park Hotel Post Meier KG
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rheingold
Hotel Rheingold
#37 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Rathaus
Hotel am Rathaus
#31 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Property: Hotel Minerva
Address: Poststr. 8, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing