We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend this hotel to my friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Stadt Freiburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Beautifual and modern hotel, nice helpful staff, large quiet rooms, good breakfast, and nice restaurant with quite normal prices. Located in about 20-30 minutes walk to the centre of the city (and bus and railway station). Taxi from the station to the hotel was for 8 euros (7 minutes). There is also a tram going to the city centre (about 2 euros). No problems with wi-fi, library (or a reading room), several computers in the business zone with free internet and possibilities for printing etc. Staff is ready to help in case of any probems. Extra paid spa facilities (like massages etc) are really nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 220 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

stayed one night at hotel stadt. the hotel was booked by my holiday tour agency.

room was great, spacious and very new refurished room.

bed was great. comfortable.

the breakfast was full marks. many choices and good quality.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tzecheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We went to Freiburg specifically for the Christmas Market, and to admire and enjoy the old town (home to Germany's oldest Hostelry). All the hotels in the centre were already full, but this little gem, only 10 minutes by bus (stop right opposite the hotel) from the centre and entirely renovated over the last 12 months, was still able to offer accommodation for 2 over the weekend. Owned by the same family as the well-known Colombi, our upgraded room was well appointed, quiet and in tip-top condition. The service was efficient, and the reception staff ever helpful with reservations for restaurants, or information about town.
We enjoyed a light supper at the restaurant on Sunday evening, and although it does lack a little charm and ambiance, what we ate was very well prepared, the service friendly and the prices correct.

Room Tip: If the budget stretches, a junior suite, which could have up to 4 persons, would be a delightful way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RocketmanGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

There for five days during a visit to Freiburg and found this hotel a little lacking in service. The restaurant was for much of the tme closed during the evening as was the bar.
This hotel resembled more of a bed and breakfast than a full facility hotel. There appeared to be a distinct resignation among the staff that guests were an inconvenience.
Have stayed in several hotels in Germany and have had nothing but praise for quality of service down the the most modest establishment.
It was so inconvenient that we ended up using the facilities and restaurant of the hotel opposite.
Certainly no return visit and would not reccommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimsdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were in Freiburg for a weekend and didn't know about this hotel much while making online bookings. Hotel is simply brilliant....We were given three beds in one room for friends without any objections...Rooms were pretty big at the normal rates...Bathroom was quite big and with all the necessary things like Shampoo, Moisturizers , conditioners along with nice hot shower.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and was good. Offcourse it could have been better for Vegetarian person but I would say it was good. Reception was polite enough to greet us well. They kept our bags on request for few hours in the secured place for us.

Hotel ambiance is good. There is nice garden and fountain in the hotel premises.

You can reach hotel by local tram and then bus (3 stops) which is bit inconvenient for tourists but all in all nice hotel and I wouldn't mind staying there again.

Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed with my group in this hotel for a week. As a tour guide experiencing many hotels around the world, I can tell you, it was a great choice. Althow it is not in the center of town it is very easy to get into the center with bus that stops right in front of the hotel and comes every couple of minuits. The stuff at the reception and at the bar/restaurant where wonderful. so kind and helpfull, rely gave us the fillinf we are very welcomed. Great breakfast and nice meetingrooms with all the equipment we needed for audio and video

Room Tip: all the rooms where great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peled A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed there for three nights. The rooms are clean and there are lots of option in the breakfast buffet. I hated the bed, it gave me back pain. I think it is about time they change the matress because it didn´t offer any support and I am not a large person! The location is not ideal, I needed a taxi to get on time where I needed to go. It is good that they asked the customer's opinion but it was a yes or no questionnaire. It would be more helpful if instead of asking "was the room comfortable yes or no" they gave an scale from one to five. I can say it was comfortable but not comfortable enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
3.3 mi away
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Fre...
#16 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
311 reviews
1 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,738 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Freiburg
Hampton by Hilton Freiburg
#20 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Green City Hotel Vauban
Green City Hotel Vauban
#10 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
128 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
379 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stadt Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadt Freiburg

Address: Breisacher Str. 84b, 79110 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: $121 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stadt Freiburg 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freiburg is one of those cities that offer the things that dreams are made of. Situated just a few minute's drive from the town centre and the exhibition centre, the Hotel Stadt Freiburg offers for both business and holiday activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stadt Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadt Freiburg Hotel
Hotel Stadt Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing