We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
IntercityHotel Freiburg
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed for a night and its good for its location next to train station.Nice staff ,clean room,not noisy if windows are closed.They don't have any tea and coffee facilities in room.Room was quite expensive and reason I believe is their location.Good for business travelers or short stay.

Room Tip: Coffee shop in train station is brilliant for next morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vishokeenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 375 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

The intercity is a good Hotel right in the center(almost) of freiburg. The train station is right next to it and its easy access by car, plus the underground garage takes you straight to the Hotel, but its 9 € per day.
Staff is very frienldy and helpful, you also get a city card which lets you use the Bus and Tram for free for your whole stay. Breakfast is superb but also very pricey. Personally I think the Hotel is a little expensive compared to others in Freiburg and Internet is ridiculous, I think it should be complimentary nowadays! Could be a bit noisy sometimes due to the train station.
But for a short stay its a good Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanjaParkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is the most convenient hotel in Freiburg next to the train station and next to city transportation The rooms are very nice and the breakfasts are great. We could get to everything with a mimimun of effort

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likestotravel7650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Rooms are not just ok. Not big, not too small. I stayed at the 6th floor. It was pretty warm in the room, so I'd like to have the window open. That's not really an option if you want to sleep - much traffic noise and trains passing by.

The breakfast (buffet) was just good. Also, they have an English (so, not German-synchronized) moviechannel which is pretty nice!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front-right side of the hotel, should be less noise. I had 604 = much noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank EwoutW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stay in hotels very regularly and spend maybe 50-60 nights away per year. Usually I am very happy with what is offered. I cannot say the same about this hotel.

So this is not all negative, I will start with the positive points:

- it is next to the railway station so very easy to get around
- parking under the station or the concert hall is not badly priced and very convenient
- the takeaway "Wok" place next door does a very good stir fry.

Now the negatives:

- on check-in I was allocated a twin bedded room rather than a double - I happily admit that this could have been mu command of German, but I came back down to reception to ask for the room to be changed. This was done (by Nicholas) and I went to the new room. It was clearly a double room that had been made up for single occupancy. Back to reception. I asked about this and was very forcefully told that someone would be up. So forceful was this explanation, that I was very affronted and didn't even know what to say. I wouldn't say that I was shouted at, but it wasn't far off. This is not the kind of welcome that I have had before in any hotel ever. Had the hotel not be pre-paid I would have left on the spot.

- I said it was next to the railway station... Well with no air-conditioning in the room, we tried leaving the window open at night, but this didn't work due to very noisy (and very long) goods trains through the night. So roast away, or be kept awake by the trains - your choice.

I sorry, but I cannot offer any advice for this hotel other than to chose another in Frieburg; there are plenty of others.

Avoid

(If you think my standards are unreasonable, please read some of my many other reviews, and I hope you will see that the reviews are fair...)

Room Tip: Anything not opening onto the railway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete-Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed in the Intercity in Freiberg in August for 6days/5nights. Room was available on arrival (about 1.30pm), checking in was no problem. The room and bathroom were very clean and there was a tv in the room, showing a variety of UK, USA and European channels. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room though.

Breakfast was ok - there was a selection of juice (orange, tropical and mixed) and a full range of tea including: english breakfast, earl grey, green, mint, camomile, and different fruit flavours. The server at breakfast asked if we wanted coffee and a large coffee pot is available.
There was a choice of 4 cereals, including hot/cold/soya milk. Fruit and salad plates, cheese and ham/salami plates, bread, croissants, spongy sweet cakes and biscuits. There were 6 varieties of yoghurt, and a selection of jams and honeys. Also there was the option to make toast and hot food included: boiled or scrammbled egges, sausages, bacon.
Breakfast is availble 6-10am weekdays and 7-11am on weekends.

Good points: The hotel is great for transport links. The airport bus terminates right outside the hotel in the bus station, so it is very convenient and easy to find after travelling! The train station is behind the hotel - either turn right from the enterance of the hotel to go to the platform or go left and enter through the main train station entrance. The tram line is to the right of the hotel - it has access to lines 1 and 3. Trams are very frequent, every 8-10minutes. Great location for walking into the center of the town - only 5-10minute walk....or just jump on the tram for 2 stops! Also with your stay you will recieved a FREE transport card so you can use all the public transport you want during your stay for free! This card saved us about 30euros during our stay!

Negative points: The benifit of being so close to all the transport links is that it is not the quietest of places at night. We had the window open because we went during the heat wave (35degrees in the day and 225 at night!) and we could hear the trains and trams and cars, but we both still slept ok, just the first night took abit of getting used to. Also the room does not have any air-con so it is very warm, we did go during the heat wave so it was extreme temp, but i would imagine even in normal summers it would be quite warm!

On the check out day we were able to leave our luggage in the room and recieve a numbered card in order to collect our luggage later that day.

Overall it is good value for money as it includes transport (great if you want to explore the beautiful surrounding area of Freiburg and the black forest)!

Would definatly stay there in future!

Room Tip: Room facing the train/tram line avoid noise from the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoogles87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Not very big rooms, but comfortable. Very short walking distance to most important places of the city. The hotel is close to the train station, but you don´t hear the train. Supermarket, cofee shops, drug store, restaurants really close as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Elisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
938 reviews
1.7 mi away
Green City Hotel Vauban
Green City Hotel Vauban
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Freiburg - City Centre
Holiday Inn Express - Freiburg -...
#13 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Freiburg

Address: Bismarckallee 3, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: $83 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — IntercityHotel Freiburg 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Freiburg is centrally located, the main station is situated just next to the hotel. The nearest motorway junction is a mere 5 km from the hotel and it is 60 km to the Airport and the Exhibition Centre in Basle. After a sumptuous breakfast in the InterCityHotel Freiburg set off to see the highlights of the city free of charge by local public transport using your FreeCityTicket which is included in the price of the room. Freiburg has much to offer - in addition to the Augustinian Monastery and the famous square in front of the Freiburg Minster, you can also reach the city centre comfortably by bus and tram for your shopping tour. The InterCityHotel Freiburg has 152 modern furnished rooms, a restaurant and a hotel bar. All 7 conference rooms in the recently renovated InterCityHotel have daylight illumination, modern conferencing technology and air conditioning. The rooms can be used both as conference rooms and as rooms for groups and accommodate up to 75 guests. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your IntercityHotel Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercity Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
IntercityHotel Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing