We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for tansport links!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterCity Hotel Freiburg
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for tansport links!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed in the Intercity in Freiberg in August for 6days/5nights. Room was available on arrival (about 1.30pm), checking in was no problem. The room and bathroom were very clean and there was a tv in the room, showing a variety of UK, USA and European channels. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room though.

Breakfast was ok - there was a selection of juice (orange, tropical and mixed) and a full range of tea including: english breakfast, earl grey, green, mint, camomile, and different fruit flavours. The server at breakfast asked if we wanted coffee and a large coffee pot is available.
There was a choice of 4 cereals, including hot/cold/soya milk. Fruit and salad plates, cheese and ham/salami plates, bread, croissants, spongy sweet cakes and biscuits. There were 6 varieties of yoghurt, and a selection of jams and honeys. Also there was the option to make toast and hot food included: boiled or scrammbled egges, sausages, bacon.
Breakfast is availble 6-10am weekdays and 7-11am on weekends.

Good points: The hotel is great for transport links. The airport bus terminates right outside the hotel in the bus station, so it is very convenient and easy to find after travelling! The train station is behind the hotel - either turn right from the enterance of the hotel to go to the platform or go left and enter through the main train station entrance. The tram line is to the right of the hotel - it has access to lines 1 and 3. Trams are very frequent, every 8-10minutes. Great location for walking into the center of the town - only 5-10minute walk....or just jump on the tram for 2 stops! Also with your stay you will recieved a FREE transport card so you can use all the public transport you want during your stay for free! This card saved us about 30euros during our stay!

Negative points: The benifit of being so close to all the transport links is that it is not the quietest of places at night. We had the window open because we went during the heat wave (35degrees in the day and 225 at night!) and we could hear the trains and trams and cars, but we both still slept ok, just the first night took abit of getting used to. Also the room does not have any air-con so it is very warm, we did go during the heat wave so it was extreme temp, but i would imagine even in normal summers it would be quite warm!

On the check out day we were able to leave our luggage in the room and recieve a numbered card in order to collect our luggage later that day.

Overall it is good value for money as it includes transport (great if you want to explore the beautiful surrounding area of Freiburg and the black forest)!

Would definatly stay there in future!

Room Tip: Room facing the train/tram line avoid noise from the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoogles87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    161
    103
    28
    9
See reviews for
40
106
36
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Not very big rooms, but comfortable. Very short walking distance to most important places of the city. The hotel is close to the train station, but you don´t hear the train. Supermarket, cofee shops, drug store, restaurants really close as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very central right next to the station. Small rooms but functional. Breakfast basic but adequate.
A little noisy being right next to the station. Reasonably priced and I would say value for money.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhsan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The hotel is in a very accessible location. I arrived in Freiburg on the train, so it was a relief to have to walk a few yards from the platform to the hotel. Naturally, you can hear the noise from the railway from the hotel room but that wasn't too bad.

The room was clean but very basic. The TV only had one English language channel (CNN). There were no tea making facilities in the room.

While it is ok for travellers on a budget, little things like tea making facilities would really make it much better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

The InterCity Hotel Freiburg. Excellent location. We arrived by train (ICE) and walked 50-60 yrds from the train staion to the hotel. Reception was very pleasant / friendly. The room was clean with comfortable beds. Bathroom had all conveniences. We stayed on the 4th floor and during the night we could hear one or two high speed trains going throu the station. It took less than 3-4 seconds. Let's face it when travelling it is always different than "home". The room had no airconditioning but a revolving fan was all the comfort we needed. The breakfast was included with our stay (110 Euro's) It was an outstanding buffet in a very spacious room also with waiter service. The breakfast (all you can eat) alone would cost you 15-20 Euro's if taken outside of the hotel. The location is ideal if you continue visiting this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms towards he side or front street are more quiet than towards the railway tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald5735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights with an elderly relative. Out first night was a boiling hot Saturday and we had to leave the windows open as the fan provided was so noisy and not effective. The noise of drunken partygoers and shouting taxi drivers kept us awake all night and caused out relative a lot of stress. Our room was floor 2 and my elderly relative's was floor 1. Although we heard the trains these didn't really bother us.

To be fair when we asked to move at reception they put us on floor 5 which was better but still had noisy taxi drivers talking all night!! I cannot fault the service at the reception desk or the cleanliness of the rooms.

The hotel is a good location and the free travel tickets very useful. But not one to stay at if you want a great nights sleep!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londoner1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is located on platform 1 of the Freiberg im Breisgau train station. They provide city bus passes for getting around this lovely old university town. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are sparse but clean and adequate. If you are planning to visit SW Germany and bounce from town to town, this is a very good 'camp'...plenty of very good and inexpensive restaurants within walking distance. I have stayed at this hotel at least once per year for the last several years. Very convenient and easy on your wallet.

Room Tip: request a room on a high floor on the north side of the hotel; ideally at the east end of the corrid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beentheretwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victoria
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Hotel Freiburg
Central Hotel Freiburg
#15 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Freiburg
City Hotel Freiburg
#27 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel am Rathaus
Hotel am Rathaus
#31 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterCity Hotel Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCity Hotel Freiburg

Property: InterCity Hotel Freiburg
Address: Bismarckallee 3, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — InterCity Hotel Freiburg 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Freiburg is centrally located, the main station is situated just next to the hotel. The nearest motorway junction is a mere 5 km from the hotel and it is 60 km to the Airport and the Exhibition Centre in Basle. After a sumptuous breakfast in the InterCityHotel Freiburg set off to see the highlights of the city free of charge by local public transport using your FreeCityTicket which is included in the price of the room. Freiburg has much to offer - in addition to the Augustinian Monastery and the famous square in front of the Freiburg Minster, you can also reach the city centre comfortably by bus and tram for your shopping tour. The InterCityHotel Freiburg has 152 modern furnished rooms, a restaurant and a hotel bar. All 7 conference rooms in the recently renovated InterCityHotel have daylight illumination, modern conferencing technology and air conditioning. The rooms can be used both as conference rooms and as rooms for groups and accommodate up to 75 guests. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HRS, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterCity Hotel Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercity Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
InterCity Hotel Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing