We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average... (noisy too)”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Freiburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Freiburg
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Just average... (noisy too)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed at the Novotel in Freiburg at the beginning of August and the location is very central. It is right across the train station and along a very busy road.
You can walk from the hotel into the Altstadt and explore (very convenient).
They have a parking garage and it costs 14 Euro per 24hours to park.

The room is spacious and clean.
The beds are European style (1 duvet cover and 1 lousy flat little pillow for each person). Wish they would have had at least one more pillow on the bed.

The bathroom was great. Nice, clean, big, tons of space to put your stuff down. You get 1 towel per person. We probably could have asked for more, but we didn't.
I would say the hotel is a good average hotel. Nice and clean.

During our stay Germany suffered from a heat wave. The room had supposedly A/C but one couldn't tell. We had it on, but it did not cool or blow.
So we had to open the windows at night to get some cool air in. It was so loud and noisy from the train station and busses etc. Didn't have the best sleep at the Novotel.

Don't have the expensive breakfast at the hotel. If you walk to your right into the Altstadt there are lots of great places to have breakfast and they are much, much cheaper too.

During one night the fire alarm went off at the hotel. All the people rushed out and waited in front of the hotel. It smelled burned in the lobby. The fire dept. and police were there quickly. We had to wait a little outside (max. 45 minutes) before we were allowed to go back inside. We never knew what burned or what happened or heard any stories about it from the staff at the reception.

Freiburg is a great place and yes I would come back to this hotel if I had to. I was very clean and very central to walk everywhere - especially to the University and Altstadt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seekAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    782
    321
    83
    32
See reviews for
474
492
109
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sulbiate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Novotel is located few minutes walk from Friburg city center. Rooms and services are what we must expect from a four star hotel. There are also some strengths not always standard in such kind of hotels: bathrobe and slippers, spa and swimming pool (we do not try) and very rich morning breakfast! Just a bit disapointing for a wi fi connection fee, in 2013 we expect this as a standard service also for a budget hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a 4 star hotel, rooms are large even for US standards, location is great, spa is very good, breakfast was very good too, but has no air conditioning in the rooms. The thermostat and installation seems to be fake, since when I asked reception for the aircond they said that the Hotel does not have in the rooms (it has in the lobby), with the outside temperature 35°C, is really necessary. We could not open the windows at night, since it is in front of the train terminal and trains are noisy, so our room was like a sauna. There is no complimentary coffee maker in the rooms. There are no blankets in the bed (just the horrible edredons, which I hate), just one not very comfortable pillow, no safe in room, of course no free wifi, just a computer in the lobby if you were lucky to catch.
A pity because the hotel looks nice and a better service details could improve it a lot.

Advice: If you travel to Germany in summer be sure that the hotel you book has air conditioning, we stayed 3 weeks and all the time temperature was over 30°C reaching 38°C some days

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights as part of a European road trip.
When we first checked in we were informed there were only smoking rooms left. As non-smokers and from the UK where all hotels are non-smoking it wasn't something we'd thought of and were a bit gutted about. With no other option we checked in.
The smokers rooms are on the top floor and as soon as you left the elevator the smell hit you. Our room itself wasn't too bad, you couldn't really smell it, and was a huge room with big windows overlooking the city. The air con is absolutely rubbish so the room was stuffy, and being on the top floor and unable to have the windows open in a fixed position, they clattered and swung open and closed with the wind when open, so we couldn't have them open at night. I went to reception and they were really sympathetic, knowing there was nothing they could do there and then I was promised a room change the next day, which we got. I had one really bad nights sleep in that stuffy smoking room but the staff really were great about it.
The non-smoking room was a lot smaller, like half the size, but was furnished identically with the same awful air conditioning but no smell :) yay! I had 3 much better nights sleep!
My hint would be to put a note when booking requesting a non-smoking room. Although if you're not bothered about the smell a smoking room is much bigger!
Anyway the hotel itself is lovely. It's quite amazing how the air con in the foyer is super rate but then in the rooms it's so bad it might as well not be there. Well located for the train station and a 10 minutes walk from the beautiful old town. Didn't try the breakfast, we just ate out every day for cheaper. A good stay overall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is in a very good location very close to the main train station in Freiburg and very close to a main public transport hub. There are shops (supermarket, pharmacy etc nearby).

To be safe, I asked for a quiet room. The room was reasonably quiet.

The hotel itself is well kept and clean, but was probably very modern in the 70s/80s. The fittings, room set-up etc were the usual for Novotel (good, but not excellent). Staff were professional.

No aircon, but the staff brought a fan to my room. Even with 30+ degrees during the day, I could sleep fine (with the fan).

Internet (not included in price!) was fast though I did have some problems connecting though.

Unfortunately no fitness studio in the hotel, but the hotel can offer a voucher for reduced daily/weekly rates for a gym nearby.

Breakfast was the Novotel standard (very good, but not excellent). I will probably never understand why you can't get a good espresso at Novotel hotels (guys - its not that hard!). Selection of newspapers available at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babelfish111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victoria
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colombi
Hotel Colombi
#3 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Freiburg

Property: Novotel Freiburg
Address: Konrad Adenauer Platz 2, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#8 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#13 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Freiburg 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Freiburg Am Konzerthaus is located in the heart of the university town of Freiburg. With 219 rooms, a terrace, eight meeting rooms and direct access to the Konzerthaus convention centre, this 4 star hotel is perfect for relaxing or concentrating on work. Unwind with our swimming pool, sauna and beauty treatments. Business travellers and holidaymakers appreciate our central location, opposite the ICE train station, 60 km from Basel International Airport with an easy connection to the A5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Freiburg Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
Novotel Hotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
Freiburg Im Breisgau Novotel
Novotel Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing