We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freiburg Must”
Review of Schlappen

Schlappen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Freiburg Must”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Must iconic stop by if you're in Freiburg. Locals hang out here whether students or working people. Food prices are very affordable and surprisingly tasty whether you get the spaghetti or pizzas (cheaper and better than a lot of these overated Italian places in Toronto!). Don't forget to check out the washroom...you're in for a surprise...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tak87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    156
    28
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Get schloppy at Schlappen”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Okay, okay, my husband and I were pretty reserved at Schloppen and cannot claim we got truly schloppy (sic) despite the tasty absinth and whiskey we consumed. We are true whiskey connoisseurs and enjoyed the amazing whiskey collection and tried multiple flights. We didn't eat here on our recent trip but have in the past and the food is always good. This is one of our favorite Freiburg bars. Friendly service and a great selection of food and drink. Fabulous atmosphere and clearly enjoyed by locals, students, and tourists alike.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shananananana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A truly happy place”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a place. Absolute must visit. Though its a whiskey bar, I discovered the joys of Absinthe & will be forever thankful.............
Very knowledgeable & friendly barman ( struggles with English though. Anyway drunkenness transcends languages).
Take a pocketful of cash & trade it for Absinthe bliss.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alhadraje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“very busy, studenty, loud and joyful”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

an institution that I still go to, even that I am not a student anymore.... have good beers and some of the best fried potatoes with sour cream dip around - an absolute classic.
Up and down side can be that it is VERY popular and therefore VERY full and loud. So nothing for romantic couples but ideal for a group of friends, also for staying very very late (for Freiburg locations).

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katharina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food and drink”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a popular place with folk of all ages. Very busy at times! Service was very good and attentive and there was plenty of choice of drink and food, The Flammkuchen were tasty and not expensive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elizmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schlappen also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Schlappen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing