We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and stuffy”
Review of Zum Roten Baren

Zum Roten Baren
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Overpriced and stuffy”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stopped for lunch because it is the oldest continuously operated Gasthaus in Germany (1131 AD). The staff were stuffy and almost seemed offended we had entered their establishment.

One of us order couscous Mediterranean with zucchini and bell peppers. Very tasty and an adequate entree for 12.80€. The other ordered Schweinenackensteak special for 9.80€. Te meat was overdone but plentiful and the potatoes were perfect.

Was over-rated in the guidebooks. We would go elsewhere on the next trip. It's only saving Gracie's its proximity to the cathedral.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KB9MNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    50
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stocksund, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Perfect final conference dinner. Around 100 people were served gourmet food in 90 minutes - with no rush. We had a set menu, the duck breast was superb.

Fascinating cellars dating back even before there was a restaurant on the site (which there has been since 1311...).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Fine experience on a quiet evening”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was actually the second time I have visited the oldest Gasthof in Germany (Zum Roten Bären - the web disallows characters with umlauts). The origins goes back to 1387 (!) - of cause not in the current building, which is from the late 1700 but archaeological evidence has established the fact that there has been a Gasthof since 625 years ago - quite a feat. If you go down in the cellar under the restaurant and hotel, you'll find the original cellars and foundations including a thorough description of the history of the site (in German).
Myself and a colleague went here for dinner one evening, as I remembered it as a very good and authentic place. We were indeed not disappointed.
The service was fast, attentive and spoke fluent English (after all this as a very large university city, so it should be possible to recruit personnel fluent in several languages (a French family at an other table were serviced in French).
We both settled for geschnitzeles (which was a mixture of veal, venison and pork) in a mushroom sauce served with home-made spätzle (south German variety of noodles).
This was a fairly large portion for two - especially as I have had a salad with rocket, lamb's salad, frillice, and speck.
The wine list luckily has several local wines on the list, and a local Spätburgunder was an excellent choise.
Rounding off with coffee and a local Quittenschnaps (an aromatic alcohol made on quince) ended a perfect evening. Do try it out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LarsDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Germany's oldest hostelry”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A late booking on a busy Christmas weekend. Our waitress spoke perfect English and French and was charming. The service was efficient, and the menu a delightful mixture of classic german dishes with a modern update. The duck breast in honey sauce was cooked to perfection, the vegetables "al-dente" which suited my taste, and the oven-baked sliced potatoes just right. Crusty but not dry.
Wine by the glass suited us very well, and the atmosphere was quietly elegant without being too starchy. Quite the perfect spot to blend history with adaptations of classy regional cooking. Heartily recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RocketmanGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian, UK
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Big Menu with Big Helpings!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Germany's oldest Gasthof certainly has a contemporary view of good service. We enjoyed our visit here although people with small appetites should beware - the portions are huge! Service was quick without being rushed and everybody's dish was delivered at the same time.

The price and quality of the wines by the glass was a highlight. This is a real benefit when you have a group of six with very different tastes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJfromtheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Roten Baren also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Zum Roten Baren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing