We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Although I booked based on the "Am Munster" in the name, the hotel is a short walk from the Munster. The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable. A large bath. The breakfast was excellent. The staff is very friendly. Everything is within walking distance. We arrived on a Saturday and the market on the Munster Square was great. A chance to try a wide variey of wrst.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dayhiker3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 945 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

Far from being a glamourous hotel, its location is its best feature.
Just across the street from altstadt Freiburg, everything touristwisely is at reach, short walking distance.
Actually, for those who are familiar with Mercure standards, its a rather simple and old-looking facility.
The rooms are fair, but small for a couple carrying more than 3 large pieces of luggage.
The bathroom is ok as well, but could offer more places to leave toillet items.
Breakfast is good, nice variety of dishes, and enough amount of tables to guests. No waiting.
The building host not only the hotel, but a small shopping center and a number of services, such as hairdresser. The parking lot is also shared, but not a real trouble to find a empty slot.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel belongs to Accor Group & it is also ideally located, at the beginning of the freiburg pedestrian zone and the heart of city.

The personnel is dedicated and at your disposal.

The room are cleaned and standardized because of the network.

The only thing is not so well, they have suppressed the mini-bar and now you have to go to the first step to heve a drink...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvère M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Near (not really "at", as the name suggests) the Münster, not really appealing from the outside, but nice inside: friendly staff, super tasty dinner at the hotel restaurant, convenient, nice room, extraordinary breakfast buffet!
Cathedral, old town, shopping, Markthalle (don't miss!), Stadtgarten and Schlossberg are all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_saida2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for one night recently. The location was good; very close to the Cathedral and shopping area. Overall, the room itself was just average, but I did like the shower. A previous review said there were problems with the hot water, but I had no issues with that. Parking is conveniently located in a garage under the hotel, but you do have to pay. Breakfast was also an additional charge, but I think it was well worth it. Had a great variety of breakfast items. Staff in the hotel and at breakfast were very accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rb913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was my first trip to Europe, so I have to say that I think I was not prepared for the typical European hotel room (as compared to American standards). The location was awesome- walking distance to everything, especially the cathedral, market etc. The rooms were adequate- not quite as nice as they appear in the pictures- a bit dated, quite small. Windows opened, but did not have screens (so I ended up with bees!), counter space in the bathroom was limited, and bedding was sparse. Also (and again, maybe this is just novice European traveler)- I did not understand why the shower door did not enclose the whole shower or why I could never get really hot water. Toilet water always looked grungy. Also wifi did not work.

Breakfast was ok each day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,701 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
637 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
391 reviews
2 mi away
Green City Hotel Vauban
Green City Hotel Vauban
#10 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Freiburg
Hampton by Hilton Freiburg
#24 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster

Address: Auf der Zinnen 1, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: $105 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Freiburg Am Muenster
Mercure Freiburg Im Breisgau
Mercure Hotel Freiburg Am Muenster Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing