We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class All the Way”
Review of Hotel Colombi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colombi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2013

A fabulous hotel that compares with the best in the world in terms of service.

Hotel is a 5-minute cab ride from the train station and is centrally located. The lobby is functional but unpretentious. Check-in is quick and the front desk person takes you to your room and explains the various features. Had a junior suite that provided ample room -- looks like the website pictures only better.

Room (in the newer building) includes VERY large (nearly walk-in) closet with safe, sofa, two chairs, desk, large TV and a mini-bar. There is nightly turndown service. My room faced the street but there was no noise. The rooms have dark curtains and electronically controlled blinds. It was a bit hard to get the room cool even after turning down the thermostat but opening the window for a short period resolved the issue. The bath was decent-sized (especially for Europe) with double sink and a large tub. Molton Brown bath products are a nice touch.

Hotel is right in the heart of town and, during Christmas season, a 2-minute walk to the Christmas markets. The hotel is close to many restaurants and shops so it's easy to dine out as well as find anything you may want to buy.

Service was terrific and personal. It's clear that the hotel staff wants to make your stay pleasant and they definitely do that and more. I had a minor maintenance issue on day 1, which was quickly and successfully addressed in the hour that I was walking around town.

There is a nice morning breakfast buffet that includes champagne (although I never saw anyone drink it) but, for 20 Euros, it is a bit pricey for what you get. That said, I must admit that the soft-boiled eggs are cooked to perfection and service is incredibly efficient. If you want something lighter, there is a pastry/coffee restaurant in the hotel or you can walk less than 5 minutes for many other options. The dinner restaurant is a Michelin 1-star with prices to match. Menu looked great but you can eat VERY well in town for much less money.

Freiburg is a wonderful city and the Colombi matches it for personality and excellence. Stay here -- you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: New building is nicer. Stay away from C100 rooms -- they are on the walkway between the building an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisstheDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombigmbh, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for your lovely words about your visit at the Colombi Hotel. We gladly forward your positive feed-back to our staff.

The most beautiful part of our work is being awarded with your laud and recognition.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Colombi Hotel.

With kind regards

Michael-Stephan Sänger
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 467 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights and three days visiting Freiburg im Breisgau recently and we stayed at the Colombi Hotel, a member of the Leading Hotels of the World group. We had a fabulous time there. The staff, accommodations, and food were all outstanding. My family has always been fortunate enough to be spoiled by the Four Seasons hotels, and I can report that the Colombi is in the same category. The special care given to their guests is probably due to the fact that their is a family name and reputation behind the Colombi. It makes such a difference. We would certainly recommend staying there if you can afford it. The town is sweet and not terribly expensive.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombigmbh, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear guests,

We refer to your stay in the Colombi Hotel and would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your positive experiences.

The ratings in the internet are becoming more and more important for us, so we thank you for your kindly post on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and would be very happy to welcome you to the Colombi Hotel once again.


With kind regards

Michael-Stephan Sänger
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here for six nights in mid October, 2013. This hotel is a member of 'the leading hotels of the world', which is not a chain but a consortium of independently owned luxury hotels. So it's perfect for those who would like to avoid big chains and experience uniqueness. The lobby is not that big but cozy. The room is elegantly furnished and I believe every room is individually styled. Room size and bathroom size is decent even according to US standard (I got single room). There are a lot of fine details built into designing and furnishing the rooms, which makes the difference between a great hotel and a good hotel.

In fact what impressed me the most is not its hardware, but its software. The front office staff was always friendly and helpful. I saw them interacting with the older guests and it felt like they were interacting with their grandparents. The housekeeping did a immaculate cleaning job, and they even folded my clothes left outside into a floral shape. They were also always smiling whenever I saw them, at different times of the day. You receive a personalized greeting letter from the GM, and the front office staff give you a tour of the hotel when you first check in. You also receive a complimentary fruit plate when you check in, and a complimentary bottle water each day. The turndown service is accompanied by chocolates placed on your night table.

You have free Internet access in the room, but for WIFI service you need to go to the lobby. Breakfast has wide selection, but is a bit pricey (20 euro). Because of its convenient location, you can easily find different restaurants around the hotel. It has one of the award-winning restaurants and boasts one of the best chefs in Germany. Food is great but make sure you make reservations because its restaurant is that popular. As I mentioned above that the hotel enjoys great location. It's about a few minutes' walk from the train station, a few minutes walk from the old town, right across from the Colombi Park, and right next to the Freiburg University. There are so many different restaurants close by and within walking distance, so you can almost find any type of cuisine: European, Asian, American fast food (I saw one of the most unique looking McDonalds in the city, which has NO golden arches sign and looks like a castle).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CGQ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombigmbh, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear guests,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Colombi Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. We the Colombi Hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and would be very happy to welcome you to the Colombi Hotel once again.

With kind regards

Michael-Stephan Sänger
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very beautiful lobby and nice restaurant. We made a booking a few weeks in advance and wish they would have warned us there would be a set menu that night and there were no menus in a English because of that. Great location close to sights and shops. Not sure it was worth the money with no wifi in the room and bar was way too smoky with cigar smokers. Also, breakfast is not included and we could not justify the cost so we ate out at a bakery. All of Germany allows smoking which is a shame as they are behind most other countries in this aspect. Freiburg was such a cute town. I'd go back but saw many other cute hotels that were probably a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RedTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombigmbh, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to tell on Tripadvisor about your stay at Colombi Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

With kind regards

Michael-Stephan Sänger
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Living in style: In a way majestic building with a sweeping staircase, comfortable chairs in the hall, charming old style elevator, etc. The service at the reception was attentive and very friendly (except by checking out).
The bed was very comfortable and the choice of pillows was great, along with satellite TV, bath robes and slippers and, last but not least, the Molton Brown toiletries were exciting – they’re just delightful.
Unfortunately there was no time for the indoor swimming pool and spa.
5 - 10 minutes walk into the centre of Old Freiburg (Münster) and perhaps 10 minutes from the Main Station.
With some small extra touches it could have been even more lovely. The off putting things were that the lighting in our so called “classic room” was inadequate – almost no daylight as the room was out to a kind of backyard, this could give you a kind of depressive feeling (especially on rainy stormy days) … .
The breakfast-service was friendly, the choice of cereals was not overwhelming. Coffee was unfortunately just OK, I do like it stronger.
The dinner in the restaurant was delicious, even if the service was not perfectly friendly. As I remember it was more "naturally" friendly some years ago.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BURGWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a two night stay after a tiring trip up from Lyon, and knew as soon as we entered the hotel we were greeted like old friends with a genuine warmth from the reception staff and concierge, which was welcome as we were fully clad in our MC gear!

We were shown to the room by the reception manager who explained the facilities as he concierge brought up our bags. The rooms are large and comfortable with beautifully finished bathroom with lovely toiletries and lots of towels and robes.

The hotel has a beautiful indoor pool and relaxing area with a small steam room and sauna which was very welcome.

We ate in the restaurant which is expensive, but the service and quality of products are what you would expect. The menu was not that extensive but gave a lot of thought to the food on offer including local sourced food products. The wine waitress was extremely helpful and guided us to some lovely local red and white wine which truly supplemented our meal.

I wish the hotel had another restaurant serving a little more basic food, as two nights in the one restaurant would have detracted from the first occasion. Freiberg is a lovely walking city with so much to enjoy and take in with a wide selection of restaurants and bars to sample and enjoy.

he buffet breakfast offers a good selection of hot and cold food and in a lovely sunny first floor overlooking the park. There is good secure parking which was useful for us.


We will definitely come again and enjoy this fine hotel and lovely city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalmoFitandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombigmbh, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write that you enjoyed your stay at the Colombi Hotel.

We are delighted that we meet your taste and that you can benefit from the services we offer. We strive for offering our guests an excellent quality in all areas of the hotel to make your visit a very special one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.


With kind regards

Michael-Stephan Sänger
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We came to this hotel to celebrate my wife's birthday. It was a nice surprise to find flowers and a delicious cake in our room upon arrival. It's a nice gesture and a memorable souvenir.
Tho hotel is perfectly located with all great services you can expect from a 5 star hotel. Service was above my expectations and the room was nicely decorated and clean.
If I have to think about a downside I will just regret that it is too far to come back more often.... but I definitely will come back.
Thanks for the great memories left.

Room Tip: We were on a Superior room. They are on the top floor with great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombigmbh, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your holidays and your birthday in the Colombi Hotel.

It is a great pleasure to us to read you positive comment concerning the attentive service team. We gladly forward theses feed-back to our staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and we remain with best regards

Yours sincerely,


Michael-Stephan Sänger
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
358 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombi

Address: Rotteckring 16 | Am Colombi Park, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#2 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#10 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: $277 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Colombi 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Colombi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombi Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
Hotel Colombi Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing