We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid, reputable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colombi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Colombi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Solid, reputable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This was our fourth visit to the Hotel Colombi. The room was clean and comfortable, though maybe a touch on the small side. The bathroom's decorations, though immaculate, were slightly dated, but the V&B tiles are fast becoming classic museum pieces so it would be a shame to rip them out and replace them with something more modern and faceless.

We ate at the hotel's restaurant, the Zirbelstube. The meal was excellent and very well priced (this was Sunday and as a previous reviewer has noticed, I think there's a special offer on that day).

The bar was great, but my reviewing head is a bit hazy after this point.

All in all, a good experience and definitely worth a trip to the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBlueLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    102
    39
    10
    11
See reviews for
71
187
22
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed last Sunday night whilst driving back from italy. Very comfortable upgraded rooms and excellent dinner which seemed to be a Sunday night special offer as it was so cheap. Excellent bottle of reisling from the church estate on the Moselle. Also a good breakfast, buffet plus eggs cooked to order.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the hotel get more sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGPtrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

My friend and I stayed 1 night at the Colombi in Freiburg during our road trip to the French Alps.We arrived in the evening and were greeted nicely by the reception employees. We got 2 single rooms at a reasonable rate(150euros/night/room).

They even showed us the rooms before we decided to stay there.The parking attendant/porter carried our suitcases up to our rooms,parked the car,etc.Another employee accompanied us to our rooms to make sure every detail would be perfect.

The single rooms were very clean and nicely decorated.The bathroom amenities were plentiful(Molton Brown).

Although we did not plan to eat the buffet breakfast at the hotel,we ended doing so after seeing the amazing spread.Everything was of high quality and beautifully presented.The restaurant was such a gorgeous room too.

I cannot find any flaws in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in May 2012. good location near the old city good parking facilities.
The hotel has all it can expect from a 5 *. Excellent service, very nice common areas ( lobby, meeting rooms, restaurant & bar). All has quality all is classy. Rooms are also very good ( I had one in the renovated wing). The pool & spa area look also very nice but unfortunately had no time to use them. so you may ask why do I give them only 4 out of 5?
well i was on a business trip and really these days 5* hotels without wifi in the rooms is something that needs correction. so apart from that a perfect 5.wonderful staff.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank agsLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Although, I consider European hotels standards lower than North American standards I do have to mention that the Hotel Colombi is a fantastic Hotel to stay at. It sits across from the Colombi park which is a nice view which serves beautifully while having a snack or a meal at their restaurant. A bit on the expensive side, but worth it. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NakaNiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We spend one night here and were very satisfied. The staff was excellent--always friendly. We were a bit disappointed that they couldn't be more helpful in finding a good restaurant--they said that everything they'd recommend was booked full. We booked massages in the spa and it was one of the best massages I've ever had. I felt that the condition of the hotel was slightly sub-par for a "five star superior" hotel--lots of signs of wear and tear here and there, but nothing major. The breakfast was wonderful--huge selection. We stayed here because we snagged a great deal online, but if we'd paid full price for our room, I might have been a bit disappointed. Overall though, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brooTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

We were only here one night so treated ourselves. Staff were welcoming and helpful - our room was not ready but they let us into the warm spa/pool while we waited which was most welcome on a freezing wet day. Agree with other reviewers that the hotel is a bit old fashioned but in a nice way as they take good care of their visitors and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Didn't have breakfast or food. Mini bar water was expensive so it would be nice if they provided complimentary water in the room. Agree price should also really offer a continental breakfast such as tea, coffee, croissant. Wouldn't take much to provide this and would make the stay 100% comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GralindaSWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.2 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victoria
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombi

Property: Hotel Colombi
Address: Rotteckring 16 | Am Colombi Park, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#1 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#2 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#10 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Colombi 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Colombi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombi Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
Hotel Colombi Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing