We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing timber and steel tower with great views”
Review of Schlossberg

Schlossberg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mountain located on the outskirts of Freiburg provides both fabulous views of the city and peaceful opportunities for hiking.
Port Sorell, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“amazing timber and steel tower with great views”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is well worth a visit but desperately needs better sign-posting. We met a number of groups of visitors wandering about looking for the tower at the top. At least it meant we talked to one another!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tastrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    158
    47
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the hike!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I climbed up the Schlossberg on a 90-degree July day. Even in the heat it was So worth the views of the gorgeous city below. Take water and wear good walking shoes. Treat yourself to a beer at the beer garden on the way down for more gorgeous views plus brews! You'll be glad you did!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shananananana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
260 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great free attraction, well worth the uphill walk”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We used the funicular 'train' to get part way up the hill following out excellent lunch nearby. Once at the top of the funicular, the ladies decided to sit in the shade with what was already a fantastic view over Freiburg, while us lads decided to continue up to the Schlossberg. A long, winding, uphill walk, nearly all in the shade was quite pleasant, considering we reckon it was at least 32C. A slight detour at the top as believe it or not the monument was not yet visible, took us to where the original keep was. There is virtually nothing left of the original castle, an information plate in German, so we tried the other direction, rounded a corner and there it was....the monument. An amazing design, galvanised steel in a fusion with some huge wooden posts, hat appear to be continual pieces of wood. We took the plunge and decided to climb, lots of steps, a little bit of vertigo, but we made to what we thought was the top, to see another very narrow and steep spiral set of steps leading to a final platform just wide enough for two.....we didn't take those lot few steps. The views from the main viewing platform we amazing, and it was well worth the climb. A few photos were taken and we headed down, the walk back was very pleasant and we rejoined the wives for a well deserved drink at the nearby restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Colincoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

5 stars for me because of the combination of a great workout and lovely views. Walk up- it will take you longer, but you will feel good. The views from the top are stunning, and a really great way to get a feel for the area. If it is fall/winter/spring make sure to bring a jacket even if its nicd in he city. It can get windy up there! Whats really cool is the number of locals you see making the hike on the weekends... tons of families and little kids. Really adorable!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Views from the top!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is well worth the trip if you are mobile. A short ride on the funicular is followed by a 10 minute walk to the tower. It's a climb of 186 steps to the very highest point of the tower but the views are well worth it once you get there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Subwebman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schlossberg also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Schlossberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing