We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great free attraction, well worth the uphill walk”
Review of Schlossberg

Schlossberg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mountain located on the outskirts of Freiburg provides both fabulous views of the city and peaceful opportunities for hiking.
Level Contributor
260 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great free attraction, well worth the uphill walk”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We used the funicular 'train' to get part way up the hill following out excellent lunch nearby. Once at the top of the funicular, the ladies decided to sit in the shade with what was already a fantastic view over Freiburg, while us lads decided to continue up to the Schlossberg. A long, winding, uphill walk, nearly all in the shade was quite pleasant, considering we reckon it was at least 32C. A slight detour at the top as believe it or not the monument was not yet visible, took us to where the original keep was. There is virtually nothing left of the original castle, an information plate in German, so we tried the other direction, rounded a corner and there it was....the monument. An amazing design, galvanised steel in a fusion with some huge wooden posts, hat appear to be continual pieces of wood. We took the plunge and decided to climb, lots of steps, a little bit of vertigo, but we made to what we thought was the top, to see another very narrow and steep spiral set of steps leading to a final platform just wide enough for two.....we didn't take those lot few steps. The views from the main viewing platform we amazing, and it was well worth the climb. A few photos were taken and we headed down, the walk back was very pleasant and we rejoined the wives for a well deserved drink at the nearby restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Colincoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    164
    48
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

5 stars for me because of the combination of a great workout and lovely views. Walk up- it will take you longer, but you will feel good. The views from the top are stunning, and a really great way to get a feel for the area. If it is fall/winter/spring make sure to bring a jacket even if its nicd in he city. It can get windy up there! Whats really cool is the number of locals you see making the hike on the weekends... tons of families and little kids. Really adorable!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Views from the top!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is well worth the trip if you are mobile. A short ride on the funicular is followed by a 10 minute walk to the tower. It's a climb of 186 steps to the very highest point of the tower but the views are well worth it once you get there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Subwebman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic View of the city”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

It is a must visit destination in Freiburg. Beautiful and complete view of the city. Though the climb is a bit more steep in beginning but it reduces once the restaurant is crossed. On the top there are two binoculars which work on 50 cents.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanak305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Well worth the hike up”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The schloss gardens are great, though be prepared for an uphill walk! Though the walk itself only took about 30mins at an average pace. There are plenty of walking tracks leading to the top depending on the level of fitness. It was very popular when I was there, as it was a sunny day in Freiburg. The walking tracks at the top afford great views of the surrounding area. However the lookout tower trumps these - climb to the top for fantastic views of the surrounding areas. There is a small cable car, though this only goes half way up the hill.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schlossberg also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Schlossberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing