We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Hotel Schemmer

Hotel Schemmer
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Schemmer
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Hotel Schemmer is a family run hotel which is ideal for the budget-conscious traveller. The rooms are clean and we slept really well on good beds. Our highlight of the day was the wonderful breakfast which consist of a variety of cereals, breads, eggs and a selection of cold meats and cheeses. Added to this is orange juice, coffee, home made jams, fresh fruit and chocolates...really good! The hotel is conveniently located near bus stops, trams and the main train station, but one can easily reach the old town by foot. Angela and Michaela were fantastic - they were very helpful , friendly and always willing to give directions and helpful hints. There are two supermarkets close by, as well as takeaway outlets. All rooms have internet access. If I ever visit Freiburg again, I will definitely stay at Hotel Schemmer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 27 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed in the hotel schemmer for a 3d conference in freiberg. It is in a student area of town, close to the city centre. They recommended some good restaurants nearby. It was october, so a little quiet. I wish some of these hotels had a small communal lounge area where people can sit. I was alone and it was quite lonely sometimes. Also there was the faint smell of cigarette smoke which lasted a few nights, but disappeared over time, perhaps a ventilation problem. Overall, the staff is great, the room was clean and good location, what else can you ask for? also nice cork spongy floorboards which were comfortable. The coffee isn't so good : )

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferDoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Schemmer. The staff are very friendly. It is conveniently located to Railway Station and the old city. Public transportation is also close by. Has a supermarket (Neukauf) around the corner.
The breakfast was excellent. Buffet of juice, cereal, breads, cold cuts, cheese, jam, boiled eggs, fruit, coffee and tea. Yum, yum!
They have a smaill private garden.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank annekeray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank DTJ333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank donpizza765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vladimir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Freiburg
Super 8 Freiburg
#37 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
70 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Blume
Hotel Blume
#35 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rappen am Muensterplatz
Hotel Rappen am Muensterplatz
#19 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Freiburg Sud
Ibis Budget Freiburg Sud
#30 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
670 reviews
1.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Freiburg-Sued
B&B Hotel Freiburg-Sued
#22 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barbara Garni
Hotel Barbara Garni
#24 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schemmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schemmer

Address: Eschholz Strasse 63, 79106 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: $74 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Schemmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Schemmer Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing