We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quality, good taste, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Drexlers

Drexlers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, German, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“quality, good taste, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

relativity small restaurant, with very detailed and good taste design. food was nicely served, with very personal chef's touch. great surprise for a city with many meritocratic restaurants.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    47
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The one and only restaurant for winelovers in Freiburg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Drexler's is somewhat unique in Freiburg. The restaurant is owned by Ralph Schmidt and Mario Fuchs who both operate Drexler's winestore in Freiburg. Therefore, as you can imagine the restaurant offers a incomparable variety of specially selected international wines from Germany, France, Italy, Spain, Austria, etc. at reasonable prices. Even more remarkable, is the very extensive choice of wines which can be ordered by the glas. This goes both for white and red wine. This enables guests to taste different wines: when can you try a German Riesling, a French Sauvignon Blanc, an Austrian Gruener Veltliner, a Bordeaux and a Rioja in one evening?

The food is somewhat international cuisine with a mediterranean influence. Only a couple of dishes, but all of them very well prepared.

The restaurant is in a small and not very scenic side road close to the ***** Colombi Hotel. The place is rather small and often pretty crowded due to its unique character. Therefore, reservation is usually required. Winelovers should visit the restaurant on Thursday nights when Ralph Schmid usually is also present. His knowledge and experience in wine is unmatched. Besides locals folks the restaurants also attracts a suprisingly international crowd of business people and some tourists.

Therefore if you are a winelover coming to Freiburg, need a break from German food and beer and would like to discover what great wines Germany has to offer and would like to compare them with some international wines, Drexler's is the place to go!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Manolo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humacao, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worthy of its rating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Very pleasant place, food was innovative and both much lighter than traditional German fare and not over-rated at all. When requesting a bottle of wine they suggested a very nice wine with a reasonable price, much closer to the bottom of the list in price. I would highly recommend but you do need reservations.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Casual, but elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

We made a reservation quite far in advance to be sure that we would have seats and we notified the restaurant of my food allergy at that time to make sure that there would be things I could eat. We went here with our 2 young children to meet a colleague of my husband and were immediately seated and they were ready to tell me what I was able to eat on the menu based on my food allergies (they had nicely recorded it with our reservation, so the waitress already knew about it). The waitress was incredibly friendly and tried to also make my children feel welcome and happy. The food was wonderful. It tasted fresh and was very flavorful without over seasoning anything. Presentation was also lovely. They don't have a children's menu, but I did find things that my kids enjoyed which were fresh, tasty and healthy. Parking was a bit of a challenge, however, it was within walking distance (~10 minutes) of the train station so if you don't want to drive around looking for open parking spaces/garages, you might consider taking the train there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank purpleworms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

A very modern restuarant bringing something new to the more common traditional restuarants in Freiburg. It is extremely clean and even the restaurant has a very modern, trendy feel it caters for all age groups. The choice of wine is tremondous and the restuarant itself is owned by a wine dealer so wine is not a problem. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak good English. Booking in advanced is advised as the restuarant is very busy and popular.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katherine038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drexlers also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Drexlers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing