We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start tunnelling.....”
Review of Camping Hirzberg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freiburg im Breisgau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Hirzberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Reasonable camp site with reasonable facilities spoilt by an officious little man intent on enforcing rules and regulations.
We visited as part of the Windy 500 European banger rally in July 2013. Several teams with some weird and wonderful vehicles. The man in charge spent all evening chastising people for noise issues. One of our group was told to turn off his car radio at 6pm as others could hear it. We were told not to use mobile phones after 10pm. No talking and lights out. More prison camp than holiday camp. We were pleased to sneak out quietly in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spooky388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 89 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided last minute to camp at the end of our trip around Europe and meet some friends in this camping place.

We emailed them and explained our situation hoping to rent a caravan. Instead we ended up staying in one of their tents. We had a wonderful time. The staff and the owner are so nice. They really could not have helped us enough. We hired bikes, they told us about great cycle routes, ealking routes, where to eat, what to see, do etc...

They really could not have done more to make our holiday so wondeful. We rented our travel tickets from the camping office for great prices. There are always staff members around. The owner and his wife are so friendly.

The bathroom facilities are cleaned everyday, everyone really respects the place.
One of the best places we have stayed in in a long time.

Location is great, so accessible by bike and tram. It is a bit of a walk into Freiburg but you are in the country while being in the city.

I would love to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExplorersABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I agree with much of what reviewer "BooBoo Bear" wrote in 2009. My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in June this year, having booked several months in advance. The facilities are good and the staff friendly but the overcrowding, even in June before the major tourist season, is unbelievable. We have never stayed in any other place as crowded as this! We were lucky choosing the third pitch we were shown as this was more spacious than others. However, on arriving back one day after having spent the day in the lovely city of Freiburg (easily accessible by bike) we found a large tent behind us - an area where we had been told we could park our bikes. All available space is filled with campers, no privacy, and the distance between individual "units" is zero! The "average" rating I have given this site is based on the oppressive overcrowding. As noted previously, the location is excellent in terms of its distance from Freiburg centre, and this is a delightful and highly recommended city to visit. We have also stayed at a campsite in Titisee which offered free bus and train passes and would stay at this campsite in any future visit to the area as it is a relatively short train ride to Freiburg from Titisee.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This site is very well organised, the staff are very informative and exceptionally friendly. Lots of things to see in the area and transport readily available. Would recommend this site to anyone. We were there with friends who agree with our comments.
Ian and May Waters, Scotland.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayKirkcaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in June, well run small site the owner is a gem showed us to our spot and helped us park up, my only small criticism would be that for the site you have it would be good to have a separate area for emptying the waste water out of the mobile homes instead of down the drain near reception, as we were emptying we were asked to stop as the odour was unpleasant near reception, please do something about this and you have a little gold mine there.

Kevin & Theresa Jewell

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We camped for four nights in Hirzberg during September 2012. The campsite was lovely, super clean amenities and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We were currently two thirds of the way through a three month road trip, when our car decided to have server braking problems. Being in a country where we didn't speak the language, didn't have telephones and didn't know the process of getting our car seen to we were a little wound up. We arrived at the campsite with the intention of having our brakes fixed so had told the owner about our problem and asked the process we should take. He promptly found us a site to set up and said to come back down to the office when we were set up to look into it. Within the hour of us arriving and having set up we went back to the office to find that he had already called a number of local mechanics and arranged a time (that afternoon) and best price for our brakes to be fixed. He had given the mechanics the campsites number to call in order to contact us about our car, given us directions to the mechanics and public transport information on how to return after dropping the car off.

Our car need a huge amount of work done to it, but in the meantime, the owner of the campsite has taken it upon himself to act as our personal secretary, taking calls and messages from the mechanics and also bargaining with them about prices for us. He went above and beyond his role and duty to ensure we were completely looked after and the problem was fixed.

On leaving the campsite he informed us that we weren't required to pay for our car having stayed at the site on the final night. We are so incredibly grateful for the help provided and in such a friendly and professional manner. We couldn't believe how incredible the service was and can not recommend them highly enough.

THANK YOU AGAIN CAMPING HIRZBERG!!! You saved the final leg of our trip. :)
Nicki and Michael

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here as a party of two, in a tent and one vehicle for two nights.

The location of this campsite is fantastic. It is only a 10-15 minute walk, straight down the road the campsite is off, to the heart of Freiburg. The ladies at reception were very helpful and spoke very good English. We had made a reservation by email, but they had lost it when we arrived. Luckily, they had space for us on the site. Our pitch was of a good size for our tent.

The toilet block was cleaned daily and was fine. There were sometimes queues for the showers in the morning though.

The biggest issue with this campsite was the other campers. People did not respect the silence between 10pm and 8am rule at all. Someone left a child alone, completely unsupervised in their tent for over three hours and this child screamed consistently in to the night, until past 12am. There was also lots of other disturbance with people slamming car doors and playing board games until late at night.

Right next to the entrance to the campsite is a large pub, which serves great food, but is occupied by most of the campers in the evenings. You do not here any noise from the pub at your pitches, but you do here people coming back from the pub being quite loud.

Overall, this campsite would be best avoided at peak season if you wish to sleep at night, but would probably be great during the quieter season.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank classicmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
1.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
938 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camping am Moslepark
Camping am Moslepark
#1 of 28 in Freiburg im Breisgau
96 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lettisches Haus
Lettisches Haus
#13 of 28 in Freiburg im Breisgau
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,686 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
632 reviews
4.9 mi away
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Fre...
#18 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Hirzberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Hirzberg

Address: Kartauserstrasse 99, 79104 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: $9 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
lovely quiet campsite in an idyllic setting, sourrounded by madows and forest - yet in the city - 20 walking-minutes from romantic downtown of Freiburg, with all modern ameneties, pitches for mobiles, caravans,camper vans or tents, rental caravans and rental tents in summer, open all year around, restaurant, beer garden in summer, breakfast during the season, rental bikes, WIFI, bus stop at the side, tram stop 6 min walkingNearby Attractionsright behind the camp ground start 6 hiking trails, some of them long distance, 800 miles of trails within the greater city limits, the southern Black Forest ideal for MTB, Hiking, Biking, skiing....Not far the famous Europ-Park - the Alsac, the Rhein-Falls, Switzerlandfor ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Hirzberg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing