We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the prettiest but a hip lil' joint”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freiburg im Breisgau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Forest Hostel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the prettiest but a hip lil' joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

First of all we went on THE biggest mission - with heavy luggage, a child and a spontaneous shower - only to find ourselves at the WRONG HOSTEL (YHA). Caught a cab and my first impression was that it needed some renovations. But the room was comfortable, affordable, and the free wifi was very helpful. The young people everywhere was a blessing for me and the guy at the front desk (a little hectic at first) turned out to be a sweetheart, showing us things on the map and being generally helpful. Nights were noisy and I founf it a little hard to sleep but the free lockers available all day upon check-out gave the place another huge tic. The showers, designed like space machines, were a fun little addition. I felt happy and at home :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyGirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    29
    10
    29
See reviews for
3
16
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here last summer. The Hostel is set in a pretty little part of town and is located pretty centrally. The staff were pretty straight forwards, but I guess thats what you expect when checking in over 20+ people a day. If you're a young traveler looking for somewhere cheap then this is a clean and spacious place to chill out. They had a little musical and relaxing area, communal kitchen and computers to make use of. I've noticed some others complaining about the showers, but I thought they were pretty cool. Alot of tourists can't deal with communal showers, but if you've ever been to a public swimming pool - you know the drill. I didn't take any issue (although there was a group of - rather attractive - Latvian girls which got the men and womens bathrooms confused, but I didn't mind). We met a lovely Australian couple travelling in there too, and we managed to have a really great time in Freiburg itself. If you come from a more liberal perspective, this place will be heaven, but if you're picky/ have a general sense of entitlement, you won't find this ideal. Well, thats my two cents. I would recommend this place to any fellow travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The first thing you notice when arriving to this hostel is the poor quality of the people staying there. It is clear that this is NOT a youth hostel, in fact there are many 'permanent residents' (all 65+ men, poor hygiene, farting continuously). Additionally, there seems to also be a family living there, which turns the nicely set up 'chill area' of the hostel into a babysitting lounge featuring screaming children. It is sad, since overall the hostel had nice and clean facilities and had made effort to make it a groovy place to stay, but sadly their residents severely impact the general tone of the place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcyella13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The thing is, if you compare it to hostels across the world, this one will seem bad. But in the Freiburg context, it is reasonable, given every place else seems to be much more expensive. Location is about 20 min walk from train station but it's easy to catch a tram to get to/from hostel, and it's right in the city centre. I had a room to myself and it was ok. Room itself is average in size for cheap places in Germany. Decorated with quirky furniture but the whole place and people there are kind of quirky. You have to pay for pillow and sheets if you don't have your own. Doing laundry is kinda expensive at 5 euro. Overall, ok, if you don't want to spend very much on accommodation in Freiburg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night in august 2011 and I'll not go here again. The staff was mostly friendly, although some of them had a bad attitude when you wanted to ask them something. The showers looked weird and was not private ones. We did not use them. You also had to pay extra for the pillow and bed linens. The kitchen you could borrow was not clean and the glasses were dirty so you had to clean them extra careful before using them. The location was good though. We stayed here just because we needed a place to stay before we moved into our student accommodation the day after.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I just slept there one night, but it was enough for not repeating this again. I paid 18 e for a bed in a room with another 7 beds. if you want blankets, sheet and pillow you can rent them. I am totally against this, so I didnt rent. I prefferes to sleep dressed in my street clothes, than to encourage to rent these things, when the price is huge for what they offer. Not to mention that the receptionist he kept one euro for himself. Its a lot of noise from all the other rooms, people come and go from the room, turning on the light as many times as they want... i would preffer to pay 10 euro more, but to have also the blankets, pillow, sheet and breakfast included and less people in the room. I dont advice anyone to go there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The place was about a 20+ minute walk from train station. Price was 17+4(sheets)=21.was in room #2 with 10 other beds. Bedding was clean. Kitchen was fairly clean, but I saw three spiders on my bed while laying. Staff was friendly.kitchen was sort of a mess with dishes piled up. My biggest disapointment was the friendliess of other customers. No one seems like they wanted to meet new people. That's not the fault of the hostel though.**NO WIFI AVAILABLE AT THIS PLACE** cell phone signal was full data though thank god.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekker519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Freiburg Sud
Ibis Budget Freiburg Sud
#22 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victoria
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Forest Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Forest Hostel

Property: The Black Forest Hostel
Address: Kartaeuserstr. 33, 79102 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Freiburg im Breisgau
Also Known As:
The Black Forest Hostel Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing