We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freiburg im Breisgau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Forest Hostel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Overall irritating experience. Most of the staff seemed irritated by our presence (group of students), and one older staff lady was quite rude, frequently, telling us to clean up after other people, to be quiet when we were being quiet, and threw out some of our food even though it was labeled properly. They have one laundry drying machine that takes over 2 hours, but two clothes washers. This means that even if you get your clothes in early, you may experience what I did - after 8 hours of my stuff sitting wet in a pile, I asked as to the fate of my clothing. I was told they might get to it by the next day, and I said I was concerned about mildew, and could they hang it for me. They said no, they would dry it, and I took them back and hung them in my room. Then I was criticized for having a messy room. Staff have gone in to people's 12-person dorm rooms and criticized the mess (clothes only, no food or bottles or anything). There are two showers on a floor (approx 50 beds a floor) and three toilets. There is no wifi, but you can pay to use a network cable to plug in to a router in the lobby and use your laptop there. Two free Ubuntu computers at the front desk are free at least. No breakfast. The place is pretty musty, and they burn incense in the kitchen. So, if you're an asthmatic, have fun. There is a decent common room and that's about the only redeeming thing about this place.

Maybe if I were 18, traveling solo, I'd like the vibe. If you like patchouli and wearing hemp pants, and you haven't showered in a week and a half and don't plan to any time soon, you'll like this hostel. The private room (two single beds) is three feet from the entrance to the hostel so you get to hear every single person stumbling home all night, and the window opens on to the smoker's seating area outside. Noisy and smoky in that room.

I would not stay again and would not recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side - closer to the hill - are quieter and face a canal, so you hear water. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dresdenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    30
    10
    29
See reviews for
3
17
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We came here in a group and unfortunately the staff pretty much ruined it. The hostel IS very clean and close to anything you'd want to do in Freiburg and we all couldn't agree more on this. Unfortunately the rude and insulting staff overshadowed any positive feelings.

When we first checked in the gentleman who helped us was aghast that we'd be asking is there wifi. 'It's bad for you'. Um, ok that's fine if YOU personally think the internet and computers are evil but don't force your beliefs on us....and while this gentleman didn't continue to make comment the in-house 'kitchen lady' was so unnecessarily rude it became comical in the end.

She berated some of the younger students for not being able to cook for themselves....it's fine to explain to people how to use the kitchen equipment but personal insults are totally unacceptable. There are no signs near the range explaining how to use it or what level the fan has to be at so how are we to know? She would complain about dishes WHILE we were eating. You didn't even get a chance to eat FIRST then clean your dishes before she'd start in.

She constantly accused our group of leaving a mess. Once this started we watched each other and kept everyone on track; we weren't the ones leaving dishes out yet she continued to complain. She demanded that one student clean all the dishes up eventhough they weren't hers, she complained to one student as to why must she have a laptop? (we were there with Uni so we had work to do). She accused another student of not even being a guest at the hostel and threatened to report one room for being "too messy" (a dorm room occupied for a week by backbackers is going to have clothes all over!)

The cherry on top was that she has been talking 'smack' about our group this whole time but one morning there was a friend of the group visiting and they speak german and understood everything this lady was saying. When confronted the Kitchen lady denied saying anything negative.

We complained to the front desk and were to that they were very thankful for her Kitchen Work but did apologize and admit the lady did not know how to deal with large groups coming to the hostel.

Suggestions *sarcastically*:
This hostel should ban groups larger than 2. It's clear the staff don't know how to deal with a large group
Ban young people. Make this an over 25 hostel as some of the comments from the Kitchen lady made it clear that "young people these days..."
No electronics allowed. If the fundamental ethos of this establishment is that computers and wifi are bad, then don't allow them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1greenmachine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed in this hostel for a week and really enjoyed my stay. The building is great, the common areas really nice to hang out in (books, a piano, lots of space) and the kitchen really inviting and friendly. The atmosphere was also great. This hostel offers everything you need - washing machine, bike, you name it and really has a backpacker spirit. It is located in a nice quiet, yet central area and the bottom of a hill, close to the river and looking into the forest. Freiburg at its best.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaella085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We originally booked three nights in a shared room at the Hostel and at the time of the reservation the Hostel website offered a 20% discount on all reservations made in the months of January and February. However, when arriving at the hostel and having to inquire about the discount we received a flat out no, and in fact some attitude: "I can't believe that {offer of a 20% discount} is still on the website!' Next, we were rushed to store our luggage and received more attitude for being a little slow, "this is why I asked if you needed to re-pack!" Coming back in the afternoon to check in we asked again about the discount, feeling that it was within reason to inquire about an offer made to us that helped to persuade us to book with the Black Forest Hostel. We then received another flat out 'No' and were told it was 'impossible' and that if it was the case that 'we do not need to stay here {at the hostel}.' As two young adults, unfamiliar with the area and on a limited budget this was very disheartening information. It was very surprising to have made the decision to stay at the hostel based on a great deal only to discover the deal retracted, and made to feel uncomfortable by the staff of the hostel, and asked to essentially leave, or pay more of a premium price. So in the end we left and found excellent accommodations literally down the road for the same price. Also, an important note, while leaving the hostel the staff failed to offer help in finding new accommodations. I would not recommend this place to anyone. The staff lack any sense of customer service, and they would rather lure you in with a seemingly great deal only to retract it. Bottom line, this place sucks, and we didn't even make it in the door ten steps.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This hostel is a converted old factory, so it has large lounge area with table tennis etc. It has a large kitchen which anyone can use. The whole hostel is very clean. Has a slightly hippie feel to it. We were in an 8 bed dorm but it did not have a crowded feel to it. There is a vineyard behind the hostel and is only walking distance from the city. Staff were nice and helpful, however the hostels was not the best place to meet people.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monamahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I'd probably have loved this place at 19. However 15 years later the dirty, noisy accommodation, late night disturbances and uncomfortably tiny private room, along with a half hour wait for check in, have left me with no particularly positive memories of my stay. We'd booked for three nights but unapologetically (although with an offer to help find an alternative) having lost the last nights' booking we were very glad to leave. Note that the charged for linens do not include towels - or at least they weren't on offer. Parking is also not available despite description on Hostelworld. Freiburg is beautiful but I think there are better ways to see it and definitely at better value than 58 euro per night for a barely adequate private room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuttgart
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The Black Forest Hostel is a great place to stay. Clean, beautiful and really really close to the city center. The staff is friendly and helpful and always willing to make your stay better. there is a kitchen and a fridge, which everyone can use in a charming surrounding. the living room is very big and nice. there are 2 internet stations. it is open til 1 o clock but you can get a key to get in later. there is a doorkeeper for emergencies. I stayed here with my sister last summer for one night and came back this year with my mother, who ( thinking of higher standarts :P ) was also very pleased with the hostel :D we will come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitrigefullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
886 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Freiburg Sud
Ibis Budget Freiburg Sud
#23 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
350 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
296 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Blume
Hotel Blume
#33 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Forest Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Forest Hostel

Property: The Black Forest Hostel
Address: Kartaeuserstr. 33, 79102 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Freiburg im Breisgau
Also Known As:
The Black Forest Hostel Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing