We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Schwarzwaldstube

Schwarzwaldstube
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Baiersbronn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $64 - $212
Cuisines: French, German, European, Central European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The taste experiences that have made Harald Wohlfahrt one of Europe's best chefs await you at Schwarzwaldstube in Baiersbronn. A master of flavours, his compositions create an incredibly light and perfect cuisine – delicate, intense, full-flavoured and delicious at the same time. Sommelier Stéphane Gass pairs each course with a subtle wine from Traube's outstanding cellar.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Brilliant dining. Perfect service almost spotless. Costumer is king.
Amazing wine list and the sommelier is incredibly knowledgeable and recommends not only the most expensive wines.
Something to try if possible.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jagl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Schwarzwaldstube, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you tried also our restaurant Schwarzwaldstube during your stay in Tonbach and we would like to thank you for your great rating. The team of service and kitchen is of course really happy about your feed-back, which is a perfect motivation to give always the best.
We hope to welcome you once back in the valley of Tonbach

Your family Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    25
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goettingen, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I loved the food at the Schwarzwaldstube. Compared to other Pellegrini listed restaurants, the menu wasn't super innovative or "unusual", but the meal was solid and expertly crafted. I thoroughly enjoyed my entire large degustation and would recommend it to anyone! The staff was also super friendly and polite!

If they had offered a decent beer selection and top notch direct-trade coffee from a respected small roaster, it would receive a 100% top rating from me. But, as with many Michelin star restaurants, wine is the focus, although there are many wonderful craft beers available as alternatives or additions. The top restaurants in the world should focus on variety in beverages and quality in coffee, but the majority don't. I have plenty of beers in my cellar that would have matched with most, if not all, courses in my degustation. Don't get me wrong, the wine was great, but for a few of the dishes, a beer would've been a better match (and the Pils on offer here was not an option).

A very few top chefs are beginning to take notice and offer a specialty house beer. Aafter all, a well-crafted beer is perfectly suited to upmarket dining. And hand brewed coffee from the likes of Tim Wendelboe are starting to be served.

I will return to the Schwarzwaldstube another year, another season. And I hope that they will offer at least a better cup of coffee - perhaps one with floral and stone fruit notes, a high and bright acidity creating an intensely juicy cup.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Schwarzwaldstube, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Katja,
We would like to thank you very much for your kind comment and you visit at our restaurant Schwarzwaldstube.
We are very glad about your visit and your great recommendation!
Thank you as well for your suggestions concerning the choice of drinks beside of wine. We forwarded them to our Chef-Sommelier. Only owing to your valuable references we are able to determine the strengths and the weaknesses of our house from your view, the view of our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our restaurant and remain with best regards from the Black Forest
Your family Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had lunch here the day after the first snow of the season last weekend. Just unbelievable. The menu is only in German or French, so the lead server basically described every course to us in loving detail. Every single course and wine recommendation was excellent and the banter we had with the staff just made the experience. This was our 3rd 3 star restaurant on our trip and was just very special in it's own way. I recommend lunch as you can enjoy the view and relax into the 4+ hour adventure. Everyone in the place seemed to be having the time of their lives. We just jumped right in. I can't recommend this experience enough.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KendallKeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Schwarzwaldstube, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice words about our restaurant "Schwarzwaldstube". We are really happy, that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking foreward seeing you soon.

Yours sincerely,
family Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top class 3 star restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I ate at Restaurant Schwarzwaldstube in April 2012. (The ending of this long restaurant name is pronounced "stoobay". Until we wrote it down, nobody knew where we were trying to get to, as everything begins with Schwarzwald around there!)

We stayed at Hotel Bareiss, 10 minutes drive away. Other visitors we spoke to were not impressed with the hotel by Schwarzwaldstube. The restaurant is in a beautiful location, deep in the Black Forest. The meal was excellent, and quite similar to Bareiss, but with even more Asian influences, especially Japanese. The presentation and service were excellent, and every dish showed a high level of skill, using top drawer ingredients. This was a very high quality meal. We had lunch (which I think is probably better than dinner, as you can see the great view) starting at 13:00 and finishing at 19:00.

The set menu is the same at lunch, encouraging a huge feast and then sleeping it off later. Highly recommended. We rated 9/10.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Schwarzwaldstube, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Paice,
Thank you very much for your kind comment to our restaurant Schwarzwaldstube.
We are glad, that you finally could find us here in the Black Forest (Schwarzwald) :-)
Also we are very pleased to read your review after the visit; it is great that you and your wife could spend such a wonderful lunch. We kindly forward your words about the food and the presentation to Chef Harald Wohlfahrt and his team in the kitchen and service.
Thanks again for you recommendation, we hope to see you back soon in Tonbach.
Warmest regards your family Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“3 well deserved Michelin stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This restaurant is top quality in every sense of the word, in contrat to the decor which resembles a Wooden style furniture in a bulky way, the food is eclectic, innovative, heavenly, the service level is really excellent, let them surprise you with their own wine choices...Dont take the prefix menu, Go a la carte and share a few entrees, apps and desserts with your group companions...you wont regret it...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 1life4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Schwarzwaldstube, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear guest,
A huge „Thank you“ for your comment to our restaurant Schwarzwaldstube “3 well deserved Michelin stars”. We are very glad to see that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the food, the service and our wine surprise. We forwarded your kind words of course also to our staff.
We would like to thank you as well for your remark concerning the decor. For us, the family Finkbeiner which owns the Traube Tonbach already since more than 220 years it is important to change and to renovate step by step, as it is possible. So we created a very new entrance and Spa & Resort last year and by September 2012 the new Haus Kohlwald will be open.
Thanks again for your wonderful recommendation about our restaurant. We hope to see you back again there soon. With best regards from the Black Forest
Your family Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schwarzwaldstube also viewed

Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Schwarzwaldstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing