We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply exceptional (but do take time to understand it before arriving)”
Review of Hotel Bareiss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bareiss
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Baiersbronn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The Bareiss, deep in the Black Forest, aspires to achieve the very highest standards of service, in every single detail. They do this very well indeed.

Every single member of staff was courteous, professional, helpful, and willing to go the extra step to exceed customers' needs. Food is very good and there is LOTS of it. We thought the breakfast was probably the best we have had, anywhere (easily beating the much-loved Sunday Brunches in the best Four Seasons hotels) - masses of variety and very good quality ingredients. The cakes (for afternoon tea) are spectacular.

Facilities are superb. There are endless dining areas, bars, pools, and the most gigantic sauna and spa area with wonderfully tranquil relaxation rooms. There is a lovely hour-long walk up the mountain to the hotel's own little cafe in the forest.

There is an entire village for children, fully staffed, and with an extensive programme of activities (although its success does depend on how many other children of the right age are in resident concurrently). There is also a beautiful little playground with a pirate ship to clamber over, a large teepee in which the children can sit and sing songs, and a campfire to roast a lovely outdoor dinner. Amazing.

Service is paramount to the Bareiss team. We left a feedback form with some suggestions for minor improvements - and a few days after we returned home we received a very kind, personal letter showing how they would act on every point. Very impressive.

Some suggestions for future visitors (especially those from outside Germany, who may not have stayed anywhere like this before):

- Be prepared for the decor. The rooms (and indeed uniforms) have a very particular style, traditional for the area - which is not in the slightest bit to our more metropolitan/modern taste, but although on first impact it was overwhelming, after a while it grew on us and it is really done very well indeed.

- Be prepared for the atmosphere. The hotel website shows the hotel spaces largely devoid of people, so it is hard to gauge how it looks when in use. We found that dinner was quite dressy, with quite a few wealthy Parisians and Germans of a certain age; a collarless shirt just doesn't work! Elsewhere there are other far more relaxed areas ... and in the sauna it's quite the opposite extreme, where the German level of comfort with nudity is somewhat confronting for some international visitors. Actually we soon found ourselves very comfortable and relaxed throughout the hotel, but we weren't quite prepared for what we found at first.

- There is a very extensive programme of activities, which again we weren't quite expecting - it was a bit like arriving on a cruise ship and being given a huge list of what you should do from hour to hour. Of course, again, we relaxed into this quickly and found that while there were a few things of interest we could also just put our feet up and relax in a hundred different ways

- Give yourself a long enough stay. We stayed four days - it took us a day to unwind and acclimatise to this very particular environment, but then we found dozens of ways to relax and we really didn't want to leave after just four days. We could easily have spent a week or more there. It is the sort of place where guests hand over their car and settle back for a deeply relaxing stay. It may not work so well for a very short stay.

- Book half-board, even if you never normally do this. You get a huge breakfast, rich cakes in the afternoon and a 7-course dinner (or a shorter BBQ by the pool if you prefer). Lunch is entirely unnecessary.

We had a wonderful time at the Bareiss, once we had got over a few initial adjustments. We came away very relaxed indeed. We will certainly seek to go back, in both winter and summer, and would heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite near the pool and might be noisier than others so you may want to talk this thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AnnONeamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your gorgeous words and also the questionnaire, which you filled out in your time spending holidays at the Bareiss. What was written there prompts me to express our thankfulness to you in the name of the entire Bareiss team. It was most considerate of you to draft a few suggestions quite apart from putting forward some criticism.

These thanks on our part are truly heartfelt for it is not all self-explanatory that you as a guest at our hotel decided to take the time to draw our attention to a few things, which can help improve what we have to offer and in turn, our services and organisation. I am in fact very thankful for your proposals and we will try our best to think about the things mentioned.

I am looking forward to seeing and welcoming you again in the Black Forest and send my best regards to you, also from the whole Bareiss team.

Sincerely yours,

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 485 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

Quite simply exceptional. It is the whole experience that makes this a wonderful hotel. The staff clearly love their jobs and cannot do enough (genuinely) to help. Food is beyond belief. The set menu runs to 7 courses with an exceptional cheese buffet (27 varieties of cheese), a wonderful salad buffet and all served in the most delectible of settings. The holiday arrangements include tours in a vintage bus, visits to their 18th century farm with a wonderful tea and lots of walks. There is a spirit of generosity about the whole place with a fabulous range of pools and spa facilities: where fruit, homemade ices, Sweets, fruit Juices and more are provided. In the room you will be greeted by flowers, and fruit that is constantly replenished. There is nothing that has not been thought of. This is one of the world's most exceptional hotels and just makes you relax. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, but you may find it tricky to get a room given the massive amount of repeat business. Keep trying!Q

Room Tip: South side would give the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ManchesterSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Your kind comment about our holiday resort and your recommendation prompts me to express our appreciation towards you, it is our guests‘ satisfaction motivating us to give the best and offer you a wonderful holiday experience – in a few words, a relaxing time at the Bareiss.

One way we wish to make you happy during your stay at our hotel, is with the offer of a variety of meals and food in the restaurants, for example, we pamper you with a Black Forest Gateau at the Bareiss cake buffet. Daily, our guests can enjoy the cheese buffet, and on tuesday evenings a dessert buffet with hot and cold desserts is to your disposition.

You can enjoy our “Forest Park”, which is ideal to walks and for spending relaxing moments, where you can walk on a wooden lounger pier, observe ducks in a duck house and in summer you can enjoy the Kneipp waterway, whereas in winter we offer alleys for curling fans.

With Strasbourg about 1,5 hours away, we take you in the Bareiss Oldtimer bus on a sightseeing trip, to go, for instance, on a shopping tour in the city, while enjoying the view in our Oldtimer. Driving from Mitteltal to Strasbourg, you will have the chance to drive on the “Schwarzwald Hochstraße” - which for some is one of the most beautiful panoramic view of Germany – beautiful forests, villages and landscapes are awaiting you – with a unique panorama over the mountains of the Black Forest National forest park as highlight, “so…don’t forget to take pictures, do you have your camera with you?”

The whole Bareiss-team is awaiting you in Mitteltal, to welcome you again here with us and to offer you an unforgettable holiday.

Sending you our kindest regards, I say “Auf Wiedersehen”

Hannes Bareiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel covers a large area in the middle of Black Forest. We stayed in one of their standard rooms (right above the restaurant). It was still very nice--very quiet and private. The hotel owner and stuff are really going all out to make your stay there pleasant and relaxing. From early moring free fresh coffee/sparkling water/fresh squeezed juice by the indoor/outdoor poolS and heated outdoor salt water whirlpool and indoor jacuzzi; to the famous breakfast with sparkling wine; to A LOT of daily activities to work off those calories; to the selection of cakes for afternoon tea; topped it off with incredible dinners. All the food are very high standard, influenced/controlled by the three Michelin stars restaurant on premises? One minor issue: I am not sure if it is common locally--i do see some small flies, hovering over some of their fruits and cheeses in the moring and evenig buffets. The hotel will deduct your included dinner expanse from your bill of the three Michellin stars restaurant if you decide to eat there, and since after a few days of eating, you may be quite full, you probably just want to order from the la carte menu, instead of the multi-courses set menu. If you drive out 10-20 minutes, there are good suppermarkets and local souvenir shops, where you can get bottle water and local stuff. We'll go back for sure!

Room Tip: NOT sure about the ground level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILOVETRAVEL2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your posting about the Bareiss. Your feedback is very important to us, as we wish to offer you the best holiday experience possible, in our holiday resort and your feedback therefore is very helpful. I was glad to read your comment about your stay with us. Our hotel, located in Mitteltal - a village in the Black Forest region - is thanks to its quiet location but also to its closeness to nearby cities an ideal place to spend some relaxing days.

At our breakfast- and brunch buffet you have the choice of a wide range of breakfast specialities. The restaurants offer you regional and international meals, where we are happy to fulfill your culinary wishes – we are motivated and glad to make your holiday an unforgettable and special experience.

As well as the region, The Black Forest, has lots of beautiful places and secrets to discover!

I do hope we will be able soon to offer you again a wonderful stay.

Sending you my best regards and from the Bareiss-team, saying – ,,Auf Wiedersehen in Mitteltal”

Yours sincerely,

Hannes Bareiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We just returned from spending a couple of days at the Hotel Bareiss, and it was the perfect coda to our two and a half week stay in Germany and Austria. The hotel bespeaks a bygone era, but in no way do I mean that as a pejorative. It had all the graciousness, charm and comfort that one could ask for! We had a suite with a beautiful view of the hills of the Black Forest. We were traveling with our adult daughter, and I had requested an accommodation with an additional bed. The first night she slept on a pull out sofa, which was not comfortable. I mentioned this to the staff at the front desk and they immediately offered to secure a different type of bed. They did, and she slept very well. It's the type of hotel where the staff knows your name, which always is appreciated. We had two delicious dinners at two of the hotel's restaurants. Unfortunately, the premier dining venue was closed as we were there on a Monday and Tuesday, but I cannot imagine that the food could have really surpassed what we enjoyed by that much. There's also a lovely pool area and a very nice bar. We also took advantage of the hotel's top tier spa. My daughter and I especially enjoyed hiking up the the hotel's Satallei restaurant. It's about a 3 kilometer walk, but with the beautiful scenery, it was so worth it. Thanks to all the staff there for making a stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nyctexan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on your holiday at the Bareiss!

Let me answer you with a little story: “Once upon a time there was a village, called Mitteltal, located in the heart of the Black Forest, it is said people, even from far away and abroad, came to visit this place to see fairies dancing high up on the mountains.” Although this is a little made-up story, there is some truth behind it. The region of Black Forest has always been a place of attraction to people from all over the world, and our hotel, located in Mitteltal – situated in the middle of green hills and forests – has been visited by our guests, who can enjoy a splendid view from their rooms on the unique green panorama and mountains and can of course make interesting discoveries too, outside in the nature. Maybe they will not see real fairies dancing, but for sure our guests can enjoy the mysteries and the magic of the Black Forest!

We wish your holiday with us is very special, filled with beautiful moments, simply being an extraordinary holiday experience to you.

As your hosts, we are always striving for the best, we wish to offer you the best activities, inside and outside of the hotel, for instance hiking tours, relaxing moments in our SPA and in regard to your culinary enjoyment, our restaurants are glad to make you feel at home, with for example a selection of typical Black Forest specialities, such as ,,Schwarzwälder Schinken”, ,,Maultaschen” and with international cuisine, our wine cellar in the premises also keeps selected American & European wines ready for our guests.

The Bareiss-team looks forward to seeing you again in Mitteltal – we send you our kindest regards, accompanied with our best wishes of luck, happiness and health.

Yours sincerely,

Hannes Bareiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Bareiss is a hotel and spa nestled in a gorgeous Black Forest valley. The hotel is laid out in timbered buildings in the base of the valley, with no fewer than five separate swimming pools, inside and out. We had a two night stay here in June 2014 (room 97). The room was large, with a very comfortable bed, big bathroom and a lovely balcony with loungers. The view over the valley was picture postcard perfect. Although the place looks quite rustic it had nice modern touches, such as effective (free) WiFi and plenty of electrical sockets at desk level, avoiding the need to go crawling around on the floor at the back of cupboards to recharge your phone.

Staff were great, genuinely helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was spectacular, with a huge selection of breads and an entire meat counter with a dedicated server to carve the sausages and hams to order. For more serious fare there is the gourmet restaurant, which has three Michelin stars. This is a beautiful spot, and the hotel is hard to fault in any way.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andy Hayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Mr. Hayler,

Let me tell you how glad our hotel was receiving your rating, thank you – we appreciate your feedback, it is very important for us to know, if we were successful in reaching our goal and in offering you, our guests, the best and most unique holiday, at Hotel Bareiss.

For sure, as our guests, you have the wish to relax, have a good time and forget all stress –

Our location, in the middle of the nature, is an ideal spot to make you concentrate only on your well-deserved holiday. There is a range of activites, ready to be discovered by our guests, indoors as well as outdoors. Be it hiking, mountain-bike tours, tours with our oldtimer-cars, tennis, golf, just to mention a few.

Our rooms were especially designed in such a way, giving our guests a feeling of staying at home, but still being on holiday and these are equipped with internet and TV, for the full enjoyment of our guests. As your hosts, we are concerned of making sure you profit from a relaxing atmosphere! The beautiful green view from your room on the forests may be one possibility to find quiet moments, or our SPA can offer you, our guests, this "special relaxing atmosphere”.

Our hotel, as holiday resort, aims to be your special holiday home, where all wishes of our guests are fulfilled and where "holiday dreams” shall come true!

We all look forward to welcoming you again soon with a "Herzlich willkommen”, sending you our kindest regards, accompanied with our wishes of luck, prosperity, happiness and of course health.

Yours truly,

Hannes Bareiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having stayed at the Hotel Traube Tonbach several times we decided to try the Bareiss for a change. First the pros: All members of the staff are very friendly and helpful, they know you by your name in no time. The premises, indoors and outdoors, as well as the facilities are in excellent condition, impeccably clean and the whole Hotel has a very pleasant ambience. Especially the pool- and wellness area radiate unsurpassed luxury - with an abundance of towels on every corner, free soft drinks and ice cream in the lounge area of the sauna etc.
Regarding the cons: Even if our room, with a nice balcony, was not exactly spacious, it was ok for a couple of days. What was not ok was the bathroom, which turned out to be too small for two people at the same time (unless one is in the shower or the bathtub), when you opened the door, it almost hit the sink. There was a separate toilet though.
Unlike most other reviewers we cannot really rave about the food. Our half board menus were decent, but not outstanding, we would have appreciated more flavour and spices, and a little pause between the courses. The breakfast buffet lacked nothing in choice and variety, though we had the impression that the bread and rolls were warmed up and not fresh from the bakery, Also the fruit plates did not look very inviting, fruit - especially the mangoes - was carelessly piled up. And some little decoration, a little tomato or parsley on the side, would have looked so nice on the fried eggs.
Certainly the Hotel has many advantages and merits, however we have not made up our mind whether to prefer the Bareiss to its competitors.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HappyGelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear guests

Thank you very much for your trust and being your hosts. I was really pleased after reading your lines that we were able to inspire you with our staff and our premises. Your recognition is really appreciated.

I am really sorry that your room did not meet your expectation concerning the bathroom. Maybe you can imagine giving us a second chance – we would be glad to do everything we can to leave no wish unfulfilled. We just finished some extensive replacements in 35 of our rooms – a new look for well-tried standard.

Your critical comments concerning your stay are really helpful for us. Nevertheless, I feel of course sorry for what you experienced different from what you expected and wished. This is not at all enjoyable for me as your host who wishes the best experiences and memories for his clients. Our ambition is to arrange a stay for you as comfortable and enjoyable as we can. Generally we achieve this aim. Therefore, it is much to my regret that we cast a cloud over your stay concerning the food and I truly apologise for the inconveniences. It is our aim to offer our guests relaxation far from the everyday life so that they can get new energy.

I can only apologise again for the inconvenience you suffered during your stay and hope that you not hold it against us. We would be very happy to welcome you again and to persuade you from our hospitality – because that is what we wish for you!

Maybe until next time, which would please us all very much, I wish you all the best and send you best greetings from Mitteltal.

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We loved everything about Hotel Bareiss and it truly accomplishes what it is strives to do - rejuvenates the heart, mind and soul. The staff was stellar. Our room was very comfortable, well-appointed and the view was quite beautiful (storybook beautiful). We took hikes through the bucolic countryside equipped with a lunch the Hotel packed for us. After hiking, we would visit the spa. Not part of our usual routine in America, we loved the cleansing and rejuvenating effects of the sauna and pools. We treated ourselves to a massage one day which I highly recommend. Cocktails in the bar room before dinner was a nice way to start the evening. Recommend dining at least once at the 3 star Michelin Restaurant Bareiss. Each restaurant served delicious fare with top-notch beers and wines that were fairly priced. The breakfast buffet had so many delicious dishes to try it was a culinary adventure each morning! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Mrs Elizabeth S.

Being a place of well-being is what drives us every day again. As it is an honor for us to be at your service and to do everything we can that you remember your stay here with us in Mitteltal the best possible way. What more can I say and write concerning your evaluation but “Thank you very much”. We, my father Hermann Bareiss, the Bareiss-Team and I, are really proud that you could spend wonderful days in the Black Forest and were able to find the recreation you expected.

As a hotel for three generations, the Bareiss should be a haven of peace and quiet, relaxation, pleasure and escape from the everyday bustle. A place of which one thinks with anticipation before the doors open and one enters the very special and unique Bareiss world. A place of which one is happy to reminisce when one sets off again towards home. Your lovely words are the best motivation for us to keep up our efforts and to give our best every day again to make the Bareiss your holiday home.

Right from the beginning of the story of the Bareiss, it was a very important fact for my family to create a “holiday home”, not just a hotel – and the work will go on! As we still have a lot of ideas to be put into practice, some of them this year.

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity welcoming you again here in Mitteltal and being your holiday hosts one more time. Until then, I would like to say “Auf Wiedersehen” and wish you and your family all the best.

With kind regards

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baiersbronn hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Traube Tonbach
Hotel Traube Tonbach
#3 of 32 in Baiersbronn
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lamm
Hotel Lamm
#9 of 32 in Baiersbronn
135 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sackmann
Hotel Sackmann
#5 of 32 in Baiersbronn
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof
Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof
#14 of 32 in Baiersbronn
58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Schwanen
Hotel Schwanen
#23 of 32 in Baiersbronn
21 reviews
6.2 mi away
Flair Hotel Sonnenhof
Flair Hotel Sonnenhof
#17 of 32 in Baiersbronn
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bareiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bareiss

Address: Hermine-Bareiss-Weg, 72270 Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baiersbronn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baiersbronn
#1 Luxury Hotel in Baiersbronn
#2 Family Hotel in Baiersbronn
#2 Spa Hotel in Baiersbronn
Price Range: $277 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bareiss 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family and holiday hotel set in the middle of the Black Forest, in which three generations can feel at home and spend their holidays. A whole range of possibilities for wellness benefiting both body and soul: from gourmet gastronomy to Black Forest snacks, from the Bathing Environment to Bareiss Beauty & Spa, from attractive living right up to leisure time programmes. Experience the genuine hospitality which makes Bareiss what it is - a hearty welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bareiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bareiss Hotel Baiersbronn
Hotel Bareiss Germany/Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing