We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and beautiful sanctuary in the Black Forest”
Review of Hotel Bareiss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bareiss
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Baiersbronn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We just returned from spending a couple of days at the Hotel Bareiss, and it was the perfect coda to our two and a half week stay in Germany and Austria. The hotel bespeaks a bygone era, but in no way do I mean that as a pejorative. It had all the graciousness, charm and comfort that one could ask for! We had a suite with a beautiful view of the hills of the Black Forest. We were traveling with our adult daughter, and I had requested an accommodation with an additional bed. The first night she slept on a pull out sofa, which was not comfortable. I mentioned this to the staff at the front desk and they immediately offered to secure a different type of bed. They did, and she slept very well. It's the type of hotel where the staff knows your name, which always is appreciated. We had two delicious dinners at two of the hotel's restaurants. Unfortunately, the premier dining venue was closed as we were there on a Monday and Tuesday, but I cannot imagine that the food could have really surpassed what we enjoyed by that much. There's also a lovely pool area and a very nice bar. We also took advantage of the hotel's top tier spa. My daughter and I especially enjoyed hiking up the the hotel's Satallei restaurant. It's about a 3 kilometer walk, but with the beautiful scenery, it was so worth it. Thanks to all the staff there for making a stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nyctexan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on your holiday at the Bareiss!

Let me answer you with a little story: “Once upon a time there was a village, called Mitteltal, located in the heart of the Black Forest, it is said people, even from far away and abroad, came to visit this place to see fairies dancing high up on the mountains.” Although this is a little made-up story, there is some truth behind it. The region of Black Forest has always been a place of attraction to people from all over the world, and our hotel, located in Mitteltal – situated in the middle of green hills and forests – has been visited by our guests, who can enjoy a splendid view from their rooms on the unique green panorama and mountains and can of course make interesting discoveries too, outside in the nature. Maybe they will not see real fairies dancing, but for sure our guests can enjoy the mysteries and the magic of the Black Forest!

We wish your holiday with us is very special, filled with beautiful moments, simply being an extraordinary holiday experience to you.

As your hosts, we are always striving for the best, we wish to offer you the best activities, inside and outside of the hotel, for instance hiking tours, relaxing moments in our SPA and in regard to your culinary enjoyment, our restaurants are glad to make you feel at home, with for example a selection of typical Black Forest specialities, such as ,,Schwarzwälder Schinken”, ,,Maultaschen” and with international cuisine, our wine cellar in the premises also keeps selected American & European wines ready for our guests.

The Bareiss-team looks forward to seeing you again in Mitteltal – we send you our kindest regards, accompanied with our best wishes of luck, happiness and health.

Yours sincerely,

Hannes Bareiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 473 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

Bareiss is a hotel and spa nestled in a gorgeous Black Forest valley. The hotel is laid out in timbered buildings in the base of the valley, with no fewer than five separate swimming pools, inside and out. We had a two night stay here in June 2014 (room 97). The room was large, with a very comfortable bed, big bathroom and a lovely balcony with loungers. The view over the valley was picture postcard perfect. Although the place looks quite rustic it had nice modern touches, such as effective (free) WiFi and plenty of electrical sockets at desk level, avoiding the need to go crawling around on the floor at the back of cupboards to recharge your phone.

Staff were great, genuinely helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was spectacular, with a huge selection of breads and an entire meat counter with a dedicated server to carve the sausages and hams to order. For more serious fare there is the gourmet restaurant, which has three Michelin stars. This is a beautiful spot, and the hotel is hard to fault in any way.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andy Hayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Mr. Hayler,

Let me tell you how glad our hotel was receiving your rating, thank you – we appreciate your feedback, it is very important for us to know, if we were successful in reaching our goal and in offering you, our guests, the best and most unique holiday, at Hotel Bareiss.

For sure, as our guests, you have the wish to relax, have a good time and forget all stress –

Our location, in the middle of the nature, is an ideal spot to make you concentrate only on your well-deserved holiday. There is a range of activites, ready to be discovered by our guests, indoors as well as outdoors. Be it hiking, mountain-bike tours, tours with our oldtimer-cars, tennis, golf, just to mention a few.

Our rooms were especially designed in such a way, giving our guests a feeling of staying at home, but still being on holiday and these are equipped with internet and TV, for the full enjoyment of our guests. As your hosts, we are concerned of making sure you profit from a relaxing atmosphere! The beautiful green view from your room on the forests may be one possibility to find quiet moments, or our SPA can offer you, our guests, this "special relaxing atmosphere”.

Our hotel, as holiday resort, aims to be your special holiday home, where all wishes of our guests are fulfilled and where "holiday dreams” shall come true!

We all look forward to welcoming you again soon with a "Herzlich willkommen”, sending you our kindest regards, accompanied with our wishes of luck, prosperity, happiness and of course health.

Yours truly,

Hannes Bareiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having stayed at the Hotel Traube Tonbach several times we decided to try the Bareiss for a change. First the pros: All members of the staff are very friendly and helpful, they know you by your name in no time. The premises, indoors and outdoors, as well as the facilities are in excellent condition, impeccably clean and the whole Hotel has a very pleasant ambience. Especially the pool- and wellness area radiate unsurpassed luxury - with an abundance of towels on every corner, free soft drinks and ice cream in the lounge area of the sauna etc.
Regarding the cons: Even if our room, with a nice balcony, was not exactly spacious, it was ok for a couple of days. What was not ok was the bathroom, which turned out to be too small for two people at the same time (unless one is in the shower or the bathtub), when you opened the door, it almost hit the sink. There was a separate toilet though.
Unlike most other reviewers we cannot really rave about the food. Our half board menus were decent, but not outstanding, we would have appreciated more flavour and spices, and a little pause between the courses. The breakfast buffet lacked nothing in choice and variety, though we had the impression that the bread and rolls were warmed up and not fresh from the bakery, Also the fruit plates did not look very inviting, fruit - especially the mangoes - was carelessly piled up. And some little decoration, a little tomato or parsley on the side, would have looked so nice on the fried eggs.
Certainly the Hotel has many advantages and merits, however we have not made up our mind whether to prefer the Bareiss to its competitors.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HappyGelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear guests

Thank you very much for your trust and being your hosts. I was really pleased after reading your lines that we were able to inspire you with our staff and our premises. Your recognition is really appreciated.

I am really sorry that your room did not meet your expectation concerning the bathroom. Maybe you can imagine giving us a second chance – we would be glad to do everything we can to leave no wish unfulfilled. We just finished some extensive replacements in 35 of our rooms – a new look for well-tried standard.

Your critical comments concerning your stay are really helpful for us. Nevertheless, I feel of course sorry for what you experienced different from what you expected and wished. This is not at all enjoyable for me as your host who wishes the best experiences and memories for his clients. Our ambition is to arrange a stay for you as comfortable and enjoyable as we can. Generally we achieve this aim. Therefore, it is much to my regret that we cast a cloud over your stay concerning the food and I truly apologise for the inconveniences. It is our aim to offer our guests relaxation far from the everyday life so that they can get new energy.

I can only apologise again for the inconvenience you suffered during your stay and hope that you not hold it against us. We would be very happy to welcome you again and to persuade you from our hospitality – because that is what we wish for you!

Maybe until next time, which would please us all very much, I wish you all the best and send you best greetings from Mitteltal.

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We loved everything about Hotel Bareiss and it truly accomplishes what it is strives to do - rejuvenates the heart, mind and soul. The staff was stellar. Our room was very comfortable, well-appointed and the view was quite beautiful (storybook beautiful). We took hikes through the bucolic countryside equipped with a lunch the Hotel packed for us. After hiking, we would visit the spa. Not part of our usual routine in America, we loved the cleansing and rejuvenating effects of the sauna and pools. We treated ourselves to a massage one day which I highly recommend. Cocktails in the bar room before dinner was a nice way to start the evening. Recommend dining at least once at the 3 star Michelin Restaurant Bareiss. Each restaurant served delicious fare with top-notch beers and wines that were fairly priced. The breakfast buffet had so many delicious dishes to try it was a culinary adventure each morning! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Mrs Elizabeth S.

Being a place of well-being is what drives us every day again. As it is an honor for us to be at your service and to do everything we can that you remember your stay here with us in Mitteltal the best possible way. What more can I say and write concerning your evaluation but “Thank you very much”. We, my father Hermann Bareiss, the Bareiss-Team and I, are really proud that you could spend wonderful days in the Black Forest and were able to find the recreation you expected.

As a hotel for three generations, the Bareiss should be a haven of peace and quiet, relaxation, pleasure and escape from the everyday bustle. A place of which one thinks with anticipation before the doors open and one enters the very special and unique Bareiss world. A place of which one is happy to reminisce when one sets off again towards home. Your lovely words are the best motivation for us to keep up our efforts and to give our best every day again to make the Bareiss your holiday home.

Right from the beginning of the story of the Bareiss, it was a very important fact for my family to create a “holiday home”, not just a hotel – and the work will go on! As we still have a lot of ideas to be put into practice, some of them this year.

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity welcoming you again here in Mitteltal and being your holiday hosts one more time. Until then, I would like to say “Auf Wiedersehen” and wish you and your family all the best.

With kind regards

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I surprised my wife with a weekend trip to Hotel Bareiss in April 2013. Since both of us are German and used to live in the Mannheim region it wasn't an entirely long trip to this wonderful venue. But we fully support anyone from around the world who thinks it's a good idea to take a ridiculously long trip to see this hotel / region. It is simply breathtaking! The attention to detail, the friendliness, the way it is embedded in this beautiful part of Germany, everything! Sure, it's not exactly budget-friendly, but it is worth every penny!
And to top it all off, you can dine in one of only ten 3-star (Michelin stars of course) restaurants in Germany. Be sure that your savings are invested perfectly, when chef Lumpp serves you French cuisine that cannot be described with anything else but jaw-dropping!
To sum it all up: we are making this hotel a regular destination in our schedule of international trips. We don't really care that we moved to Bahrain in the meantime...

Room Tip: Be sure to enjoy that superb breakfast. There's nothing they don't have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuzum1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear guests

Thank you very much for taking the time to write that you enjoyed your stay at The Bareiss.
We are delighted that we meet your taste and that you can benefit from the services we offer. We strive for offering our guests an excellent quality in all areas of the hotel to make your visit a very special one.

I could not be happier after reading your compliments for our staff members and I am sure you can imagine how delighted they all were about it. So there is nothing more for me to say but ‘Thank you!’.

We, my father Hermann Bareiss, all staff members and I, would be very happy to welcome you again here in Mitteltal.

With my best regards from the Black Forest

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our third visit to Bareiss was just a perfect as the first, and we have already reserved "our" room for Christmas 2014. We say "our" room as we have stayed in the same suite every time - we love to light a fire and play Christmas music while relaxing in the evening. We were again treated to a wonderful evening at the Morlokhof while the Bareiss family celebrated the holiday season with a special evening for all the staff at the hotel. The Morlokhof is one of the oldest and best conserved farmhouses in the Upper Murg Valley. It was a splendid night for those going to Morlokhof and a wonderful time for the staff at Bareiss - a huge win win for every one and a demonstration of the care for both the staff and the guests the Bareiss family shows.

There are not enough superlatives for the room, the food, the sauna, the staff - they are all perfection. If you are going to Europe from the US and expect to have easy access to fast food places, and for everyone to speak perfect English, this is not the place for you. If you want to enjoy the finest in German hospitality then this is the place, and most of the staff do speak very good English so there won't be any problems.

We took side trips to visit Christmas Markets - great fun and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat22202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear guests!

You enjoyed your Christmas time here at the Bareiss – that is the most important fact for all of us, my father Hermann Bareiss, the entire Bareiss team and me. Thank you very much for your kind and friendly words.

Your laud and recognition mean a lot to us, because every day we try to achieve the best for all our guests and customers. It is not always easy, especially at Christmas time. We, my father Hermann Bareiss and I, know quite well that our staff is unique and it is very important for us to say “Thank you” for this commitment. A special evening, such as you describe it, is our duty and we are really glad that most of our guests can accept our decision to spend an evening with our crew. Your lovely words concerning our Morlokhof make us a bit proud and we feel honored of having the chance to present to you an unique Black Forest farmhouse ensemble with all its history and charm.

Right from the beginning of the story of the Bareiss, it was a very important fact for my family to create a “holiday home”, not just a hotel. With our latest renovation concerning the new Pool and Sauna environment, we decided to create a new oasis for our guests – and the work will go on! As we still have a lot of ideas to be put into practice.

We look forward to welcoming you again here in Mitteltal in December at the Bareiss. Until then, I would like to say “Auf Wiedersehen” and send my best wishes and greetings.

Kind regards

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel was "simply perfection" and the very pinnacle of outstanding service, comfort and splendid food. I spend over 100 days every in very good hotels all over the world but I believe this is the ultimate of what can be achieved.
If you wish to be truly pampered then Bareiss is the place to go

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnHCologneGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear guests

Sometimes it only needs a few words to make one beam with joy and pride – and so did you with the words you found to describe your days at the Bareiss. Thank you very much for your laud and your recognition, also in the name of my father Hermann Bareiss and the entire Bareiss team. We were really delighted about your evaluation.

We might not have Caribbean flair or the outstanding impression of the Rocky Mountains, but we have the Black Forest with its wonderful and unique landscape, fresh air, hiking facilities and many ways spending your time with leisure activities in a healthy and moderate climate.

So if you wish being pampered again and experience true recreation, we will be glad welcoming you again here with us in Mitteltal. Until then, I say “Auf Wiedersehen!” and wish you and your loved ones all the best.

With best regards

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baiersbronn
1.8 mi away
Hotel Traube Tonbach
Hotel Traube Tonbach
#3 of 32 in Baiersbronn
597 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sackmann
Hotel Sackmann
#5 of 32 in Baiersbronn
248 reviews
6.2 mi away
Flair Hotel Sonnenhof
Flair Hotel Sonnenhof
#19 of 32 in Baiersbronn
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Dollenberg
Hotel Dollenberg
#1 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lamm
Hotel Lamm
#12 of 32 in Baiersbronn
122 reviews
16.8 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bareiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bareiss

Address: Hermine-Bareiss-Weg, 72270 Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baiersbronn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baiersbronn
#1 Luxury Hotel in Baiersbronn
#2 Spa Hotel in Baiersbronn
#2 Family Hotel in Baiersbronn
Price Range: $163 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bareiss 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family and holiday hotel set in the middle of the Black Forest, in which three generations can feel at home and spend their holidays. A whole range of possibilities for wellness benefiting both body and soul: from gourmet gastronomy to Black Forest snacks, from the Bathing Environment to Bareiss Beauty & Spa, from attractive living right up to leisure time programmes. Experience the genuine hospitality which makes Bareiss what it is - a hearty welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bareiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bareiss Hotel Baiersbronn
Hotel Bareiss Germany/Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing