We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Traube Tonbach
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Baiersbronn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

One of the best stays I spent during the recent years. Lovely location, perfect service, superb breakfast, fantastic food, wonderful spa area, high quality and right price. Absolutely to be recommended. I only suggest to make small adjustments in the room: something to make the beds more confortable and a change of the curtains for a darker morning. But these are really peanuts.
See you back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank federcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your Feedback. We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay at the lovely Tonbach valley. Thanks as well for your assessment to our rooms. We are constantly renovating our hotel and hope, that you can see the effort at your next visit.

Have a happy christmas time.

Yours sincerely,
family Finkbeiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 607 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

TRAUBE TONBACH
May 2012

My personal pleasure in travelling, is going to places that are different to my homeland Singapore,
and in learning a little about the cultures of the places I visit. So my first trip to Traube Tonbach
from 16 May to 20 May was another good experience to be remembered.
Hotel Traube Tonbach in Baiersbronns is in the Black Forest Region. I now understand why,
the name Black Forest.When approaching the Hotel by car one sees the dark dense sillouette
in the horizon of a mass of never-ending hundreds and hundreds of pine trees..an awesome sight.
The Hotel is not like anything I have ever stayed in before. Modern five Star Hotels worldwide
have a kind of predictable uniform look about them. At Traube Tonbach it was very different.
The decor of the main areas of the Hotel is in the Black Forest Baroque style using lots of wood
for ceilings carved with intricate designs, and for walls and floors. This" heaviness" gives the
Hotel it's unique and special identity.Even the floral arrangements were unlike any I have ever seen anywhere.
Our room was however, modern with all the comforts that travellers can expect to enjoy.The
one important thing that needs improvement is the quality of pillows..too soft and very
uncomfortable, not condusive to good sleep.It would be a good idea to give guests a "pillow menu" which is now being offered by many good hotels around the world
The thing that impressed me most during my stay at Traube Tonbach was the service provided
by the hotel staff. Everyone had a smile and was more than happy to be of help. This gives the
good feeling that everyone working here enjoyed what they were doing.
The one area which was not to my taste, and where my husband and I only used once for a
bite to eat upon arrival, was in the main lounge, which I found sterile and terribly "kitschig"
Serious consideration should be given to make this area more cosy and " gemuetlich"
To be here is to expereince German Cuisine at it's best. The hotel has 4 Restaurants. The
Silberberg, Bauerstube, Koehlerstube, and the famous Schwarzwaldstube which is one of
nine 3 star Michelin Restaurants in Germany. The person responsible for all this wonderful
gastronome is Resident Chef Harald Wohlfahrt, who my husband and I were fortunate enough
to meet 12 years ago when he was in Phuket as guest Chef on a special promotion for the then
Phuket Yacht Club Hotel.
To dine at Schwarzwaldstube is a gourmet's dream. Bookings for lunch or dinner have to be
made months in advance to avoid disappointment. Food does not come cheap here, but it is worth every cent spent for the sheer pleasure and enjoyment of experiencing a Degustationsmenu which by the way lasts for at least a minmum of 3 hours if not more
Special mention has to be given to the superb service given by the staff in this restaurant. We
were amazed at how efficiently and silently they worked.Everything moved like oiled clockwork
but there was never a moment when we felt that someone was hovering around over us. It was just amazing.
For lovers of the out-doors, good fresh air is plentiful and for free, and there are numerous hiking trails all around the area.
Yes! Traube Ton Bach is an experience in life not to be missed.
Lotus_Kun

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lotus_kun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Dear Lotus_Kun
It is a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay at Traube Tonbach. Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.com
We are very pleased to see your kind description of our hotel. We will forward you compliment and nice words gladly to our whole staff team in the hotel and in our gourmet-restaurant Schwarzwaldstube.
Thanks a lot also for your notice concerning the pillows, our housekeeping do have different kind of pillows for our guests. Please inform us about your whishes, when you are here again, so that we may dispose correctly for you. We will note and discuss your proposal of a pillow menu with our staff.
The main lounge is part of the hotel which will be one of the next steps of our renovation, for the moment we are finishing the dependence Haus Kohlwald, which we may open in September very new. As the hotel is run by our family, we have to earn the money which we spend first. So step by step the Traube will get its new face.
We are looking forward to welcome you again, here in the Traube Tonbach and we remain with best regards
Your family Finkbeiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel is what it is: a charming, old school, typical German hotel. Do not expect the new, hip design and all the i-gizmos that some 5 star hotels and its visitors favour, but what you get is perfect, old fashioned service. Everyone will greet you with a smile ("Grüss Gott!"), everyone will try to help you with that same smile. And yes, the rooms are not brand new, but nothing is worn out and the little touches (chocolates and apples in the room at arrival, chocolates from the turn down service,...), super clean bathroom, great beds,... they all make a stay memorable. The sauna environment and swiming pools are spacious and it never feels too crowded. My wife was very happy with the massage in the welness/spa. And finally: there's the food. Four different meals, four enjoyable experiences: the best ever breakfast buffet (name it and it was on the buffet, and if it wasn't you could stil order it), candle light diner in het hotel's Silverberg restaurant was nice , diner in the adjoining Bauern Stube very nice and our lunch in the *** Michelin Schwarzwald Stube was memorable. All this combines perfectly with the hotel's proximity to some of the best hiking and biking in the world, ideal for burning all those extra calories. We loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear guests,
Thank you so much for your kind mail and the great description of your stay here in Tonbach.
We are so pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your holidays with the Traube service in all our restaurants, the new Spa & Resort and the surroundings here in the Black Forest.
We thank you for your praising words, which we gladly share with our staff and we would love to welcome you back and wish you until then all the best!
Warmest regards from your family Finkbeiner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The service level, accomodation and facilities make this hotel spa a great place to stay. We spent lunch at their 3 michelin star restaurant while the kids went to the playground which is indoor. Babysitters where arranged for them and we just relaxed away. Really no need to worry as the level of service is top notch. I strongly recommend this hotel. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: Call early for bookings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1life4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for your words about your stay at Traube Tonbach.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you could enjoy your lunch at our restaurant Schwarzwaldstube and your kids had a great time in the Traube Kids Court.
We thank you for your recommendation an hope to see you and your family back again in the Tonbach valley once.
Best regards from your family Finkbeiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

My family and me just returned from Germany. We have had a marvelous stay at this Hotel. We stayed the week after easter and enjoyed our 4 generations family meeting for the first time there. They have a great variety of different room types. Interconnecting or two bedrooms with one bathroom. Great for families like ours. All rooms had an adequate size, are nice and clean and offer all and more necessities one can wish for during a stay. The interior is a very German, Black Forest style, basically exactly what you expect it to be in a neat and sophisticated way. The hotel also offers an huge kids room with very friendly and profound all day supervision for the very young and older kids.
The air in the black forest is amazing. We had our windows opened every night and could´t believe how peaceful and quite it can be (us coming from the city).
Unfortunately, I was too late for booking a SPA treatment, but was able to have a look through the cabins while my wife bought some nail polish. It all seemed to be very new, its a nice atmosphere with happy looking staff.
The Hotel was fully booked. Most guests were couples or families like us. I really liked the bar area in the evenings. There was a band and sometimes a DJ.
The weather was the only down side, it was pretty cold with rain and for that we don´t have to leave England in April.
Overall, me and my family had a blast with really good wine, very friendly staff and a few pounds more on the rips, as the food is delicious. All there´s left to say is, thank you Family Finkbeiner

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Brian M,
We would like to thank you very much for your kind comment and the nice photos on tripadvisor.com. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you and your whole family could pass a wonderful stay at Traube Tonbach. Your detailed description of our rooms, our Kids Court and the Black Forest shows the facilities for families with kids, which are great here in the valley of Tonbach.
We are sorry to hear that you couldn’t experience our very new Spa & Resort. We had there a big rebuilding last year so we are glad to offer now our guests a place where they may enjoy first-class treatments. As there is a high demand we would recommend you to book your massage already in advance. We are looking forward to welcome you there next time.
Thanks again for your nice words which we may share with our team. We hope to see you and your family back again in Tonbach (with more sun and less rain)!
Warmest regards from your family Finkbeiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

What a mess, and what mismanagement of it! In January we reserved one of the penthouses of this so called 5 star hotel, and we confirmed both the reservation and the (steep) price. We arrived here and... nothing was available! For some reason we were supposed to have received or requested a reconfirmation of our confirmation, or something like that... But no, no reaction on our confirmation mail, nothing, and hence... no reservation made! Completely unacceptable on this level and in this price range!
We were first offered a double room (on the other end of the comfort range), then a first "suite" was shown to us... with a view on a roof, and finally a somewhat better suite that was more or less acceptable but certainly NOT worth an upgrade. We had to accept: it was this, or abandoning our holiday. Compensation? No, sir! A girl came into our room with a bottle of champagne (oh, looks nice)... just to pour us a glass, and leave with the bottle...
In the evening the restaurant granted us the aperitives, but this was way undervalued for what we were refused in the first place.
Furthermore all personnel (both at the reception and in the restaurant) persisted in talking German to us, even when we repeatedly let notice that we weren't German speakers (by asking French menus, by talking English,...). Most rude and impollite!
No, this is not a 5-star level. This is not to be repeated. We won't be seen here again. Stay away of Traube Tonbach. It's rubbish. But very expensive rubbish...

Stayed: April 2012
18  Thank leysfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear Mr. Leys,
Thank you very much for your time and your effort to give us a feedback about your stay.
As you know, we are very sorry about this misunderstanding of your hotel reservation. We may really understand your disappointment and would like to ask you to accept our apology.
We deeply regret the inconvenience about your room and the language problem.
Please be assured that this is not the norm of our house.
We would like to thank you for your comments, which allow us to determine the strengths and the weaknesses of our house from your view.
It would be great to welcome you once again in Tonbach to show you and your family our hospitality.
Best wishes and warmest regards from your family Finkbeiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Traube Tonbach is something of a Grande Dame within Germany's hotel landscape. As such, its target audience are certainly not younger people. This has nothing to do with its 1980s oak wood Black Forest Luxuy Chic, but more with the rooms and the evening entertainment.

Reception and service
Very good, professional and friendly. Certainly a 5 out of 5 here.

Spa and wellness
Clean, modern with lots of choice between different pools, saunas and steam rooms. Very good. A 5 out of 5 again

Restaurant Silberberg
Dinner of somewhat above average quality, but not amazing. Salad buffet rather small. Breakfast is good with very friendly staff. Kitchen clearly did not know what Eggs Benedict are (we got a piece of toast, cut into a triangle, with some spinach and a poached egg)

A 4 out of 5

Schwarzwaldstube, Harald Wohlfart
I think without him, the Traube would certainly loose one of its biggest unique selling points.
No need to go into details - one of Europe's best restaurants. 3 Michelin stars. a 5 out of 5.

Rooms
Out-of-date. This has nothing to do with an oak-wood, 1980s luxury style. I personally dislike it, but I can see that many other people like it. However, room prices of more than EUR300 per night for two in rooms that are essentially out of date (besides the flat planel TV), is ridiculous. Worse though is the fact that you are allowed to smoke basically everywhere in the hotel besides the restaurants, some bits of the lobby and the spa. This is again so 1980s and out of touch with the real world (i.e. they don't have a non-smoking floor) that it hurts. Either you lower the room price for your product (last renovated back in 1993), or you upgrade your rooms asap. The current price is unreasonable.
2 out 5

Bar
Very good cocktails, but you are allowed to smoke essentially in all the bar areas that are cozy. The only non-smoking area is the one besides the dance-floor where no one ever sits (which obviously reflects on the clientele - many smoke). The dance-floor then is the trigger for a really bad memory. The hotel employs piano players and singers who basically create songs of 1980s quality with some fake tunes etc.... Terrible. One can never argue about taste, but people we are not a 1980s cruise ship somewhere on the Danube or in a retirement home. It is totally unacceptable in a five star hotel (with the American Diamond Award) to have such music. Classic piano will and would do. No need for fake tunes and German folk songs.... If this is what people like, then management will face huge problems soon as the younger generation (30-40 year olds) no longer grew up with Musikantenstadl & Co. I guess you can continue with this programme if you only ever want older people in your hotel, but even my parents would find this music out of place and out of date.

2 out of 5

Summary: The service is good, especially the younger staff are very motivated and professional and offer five star service. Some more senior staff clearly focus more on those customers who have been coming to the Traube for 10, 20 or more years. IF you are younger and not one of their recurring customers, you will automatically be in the lowest category (which got reflected in where we were seated in the restaurant, the room we got etc.) This is really bad. We used this trip to test whether the hotel would be nice for a week, but we think it simply is too expensive and stuffy for what it is.

The rooms need upgrading asap (I know Haus Kohlwald is being upgraded right now) for the money they are asking for.

They need a non-smoking floor.

The Traube reminds me of my many vacations with my grandparents when I was young. We used to go to the Steigenberger Bad Griesbach in the 1980s and 1990s. Compared to the Steigenberger (which even back then had non-smoking floors), Restaurant Silberberg is not as good and the rooms were also nicer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Critical_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Dear Sir,
First of all we would like to thank you very much for your comment after you stay at Traube Tonbach.
Thanks to your valuable comments with your impressions of your stay with us and your recommendation we are able to improve our service for you.
We regret to hear that you very disappointed of our rooms and the evening entertainment.
As our hotel, with his history which goes back to 1789, grew step by step you will still find places where we keep the past like in our restaurant Bauernstube. Nearly always we are about to improve the service and the buildings for you, our guests. Concerning the rooms we may assure you that we made efforts to renovate them constantly. As you already know the next project our Depandance Haus Kohlwald, is already under progress, where all rooms will be modern and spacious. We would be very pleased if we may show you these new rooms after completion of the constructions in September.
Concerning smoking we may inform you that we are already in discussions to solve this problem soon and to create a comfortable atmosphere for everybody.
We would like to thank you also for your observations of our music entertainment in the evenings. Please be assured that we are already changing our music program, on week-ends we do have DJ’s, who are very successful with the entertainment of our guests. This step will be one among many steps of permanent changing process of a hotel like ours with different audiences.
Once more we thank you for your honest critique and we would be very pleased if you would give us a second chance to satisfy your expectations and to convince you of the Traube Tonbach hospitality and service.
Warmest regards from the Black Forest your family Finkbeiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baiersbronn
4.3 mi away
Hotel Sackmann
Hotel Sackmann
#5 of 32 in Baiersbronn
253 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Lamm
Hotel Lamm
#12 of 32 in Baiersbronn
126 reviews
7.4 mi away
Schwarzwald Resort Dollenberg
Schwarzwald Resort Dollenberg
#1 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Flair Hotel Sonnenhof
Flair Hotel Sonnenhof
#17 of 32 in Baiersbronn
47 reviews
2 mi away
Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof
Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof
#14 of 32 in Baiersbronn
58 reviews
16.1 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Traube Tonbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Traube Tonbach

Address: Tonbachstr. 237, 72270 Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baiersbronn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Baiersbronn
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baiersbronn
#2 Romantic Hotel in Baiersbronn
#3 Spa Hotel in Baiersbronn
Price Range: $374 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Traube Tonbach 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traube Tonbach is nestled in the romantic Tonbach Valley, surrounded by tall fir trees and gently rolling hills. The historic Black Forest hotel has been family owned and operated for over 200 years. Today, it is setting extremely high standards as one of the most exclusive and modern locations for hospitality and enjoyment, accommodations and wellness, activities and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Traube Tonbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traube Tonbach Hotel
Hotel Traube Tonbach Germany/Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing