We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall Excellent-but a few areas for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Traube Tonbach
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Baiersbronn
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overall Excellent-but a few areas for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

I recently stayed at the Traube Tonbach from November 2 to November 7 for some R&R before some business meetings in Frankfurt. This was my second visit to Traube Tonbach and my return was due to the very satisfactory experience the first time I was there. There is currently some on-going construction to expand the spa services area so the there was some disruption to the elevator service and general construction mess. But it was really no problem. My room was a single room in the main house and it was cozy but not cramped. Traube Tonbach's staff was always courteous and helpful, and spoke English (helpful since I was most likely the only American there and my German isn't too good). The food was at all times of the highest quality, with excellent service. The half-board option for 25 Euro per day is a good value. My only disappointment in the dining department was a Bloody Mary which took a long time to arrive, was highly overpriced and poorly made. The spa area was well maintained and clean at all times. The fitness room is disappointing, cramped, and with only a very limited selection of weights and exercise machines. However, since most of the clientele of this property are on the elderly side, this most likely is not an area management views as a major area that their clients focus on. The other area of disappointment was the WiFi which was really only usable if you sat directly across from the reception desk where the signal was decent. Otherwise, while free, the Internet access was essentially useless. I will say that the management is aware of the problem and that they are going to a new Internet provider in 2012.

Overall the Traube Tonbach is a first-rate resort and a good place to go if you want good food, good service and some quiet time in the Schwarzwald. Due to the relatively minor issues mentioned above, I could not give it 5 stars, but I would certainly return for a third visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerKoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind and detailed description of your visit in our hotel.
We are glad to see, that you enjoyed your stay in the Traube Tonbach also for the second time.
Thank you also for sharing your disappointment, because only owing to these valuable references we are able to determine the strengths and the weaknesses of our house from your view. As you already noticed we know about the WiFi problem and we will change it as soon as possible to assure you a prompt access.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you again in the beautiful Black Forest for a pleasant and quiet stay.
Best regards from your family Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    65
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
148
254
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hedehusene
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Staying at this historic place is fantastic, every thing is at top level, see all the happy guests on this side, the michelin guide, and so on. But it was pleasent to pay the bill after 2 days in Schwartzwald. The price for meal, wine, mini bar, coffe, cigars everything is very fair. It´s top level in the world but the prices are so human, and you´r feeling well welcome

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolf4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for referencing us at this point. Our main ambition is to please our guest during their stay and after it. Part of this is at all times a reasonable price-performance-ratio. The greatest compliment for us and our work is when a guest returns to our hotel. We hope to see you again here in our beautiful valley and wish you all the best

Sincerely
Renate Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
143 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed here on a Tauck tour and this is definitely one I would love to go back to someday! It is one of the loveliest hotels I have ever stayed at and wished we had more time there. Upon arrival we were met by some of the staff who then escorted us to our rooms. They were dressed in traditional German dress (the ladies) and every person we came in contact with went beyond what I expected in service. Truly a first rate and well run hotel. The rooms are divided by a half wall so there is a sitting area and also a balcony overlooking the most beautiful valley. A scene straight out of Heidi. The hotel is build into the hillside so there are multiple levels which makes it entertaining to find your way throughout the hotel. The pool area is large and has an indoor part which connects to the outdoor part- you swim under a connecting passage to get to the outdoor. Lots of lounge chairs outside overlooking the gorgeous scenery. Hot tub also there. They do have a spa which looked lovely but we didn't have time for that. Would love to go back and try it though. The rooms were very well appointed and had lots of storage space if you were staying a longer period of time. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent-one of the best in a hotel I have experienced and breakfast was not only wonderful, but presented like a magazine picture as far as the buffet breakfast goes. Lots of choices! The hotel also has mountain bikes which look top of the line you can reserve for free and take advantage of riding if you are in shape for hills! The rooms are not air conditioned but with the climate we did not need it. Just opened the windows when we were there. They do have fans you can request for you room if you want one. The bar was large and beautiful and had a dance area if there was music and one wanted to dance. One night there was music in the lounge. 2 lovely shops on property. Lots of outdoor sitting outside for drinks or enjoying coffee in a garden type setting- rose bushes, etc. When it was time to leave, the owner got on our tour bus to say thank you and hoped our stay was lovely. It was- beyond lovely. Can't say enough good things about this place and if I ever get the chance and am anywhere closeby would go back for several days just for the relaxation. Truly is a hidden gem! Also they will give you free internet which is a plus. You do have to be in the lounge area or the front desk area to use it though I believe or at least that is what I found.

Room Tip: I think any of them would be fantastic from what I saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you so much for your kind and detailed description of your stay on the occasion of a Tauck Tour in the hotel Traube Tonbach.
It is great to read how you experienced your stay and we thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. Only owing to your valuable references we are able to determine the strengths and the weaknesses of our house from view of our guests.
We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed our breakfast offer and that you liked our swimming area, your room and the bike proposal.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again, for a longer stay to offer you a relaxing vacation in the Black Forest.
Warmest regards from the whole team
Your family Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We spent four beautiful and relaxing days at this beautiful hotel. Family run by four generations, you can feel the TLC in the enviroment from the moment you arrive. The rooms are beautifully appointed with terrific views of the valley and the forrest. Their vatiety and diversity of restaurants on the premises in unequeal to any hotel. The spa and its pools are superb. But the most outstanding and noteworthy characteristic of this jewel, is in its staff. Seldom have I encounter so many smiles and shine on the faces of all of the staff(not a single one exception).
If you are planning to be in the area, you simply cannot miss this experience. Enjoy

Room Tip: Forrest/valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you cordially for your nice words after your stay in the Black Forest.
We are pleased to read your great description of the hotel Traube Tonbach. Of course we will share your fantastic compliments with our staff. Together with my brother Matthias I support my parents, already in the eight generation, with the daily challenge to prepare you an unforgettable stay in our house, fortunately we dove have an excellent workforce.
Thanks again for your recommendation of the Traube Tonbach, we hope to see you back again soon in the Tonbach valley.
With best regards from the whole team
Sebastian Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
275 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Relaxing, natural setting in the Black Forest. You can be as active as you would like, hiking, biking, swimming, dancing, exercise classes, or just let the staff take care of your every need. Owned by a family with a true commitment to service, and attention to details, including wonderful restaurants. This place is a jewel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear guests
Thank you very much for your kind description of your experience in our Hotel.
As you correctly wrote, there is a big amount of activities to join on and around our property in the Black Forrest.
My family and I want to thank you very much for your compliments. It is indeed a great joy to be there for such nice guests like you.
We are hoping to welcome you back in Germany as soon as possible.

With best regards from the whole team,
Sebastian Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at the Traube Tonbach for three days and two nights in late July as part of a business trip. The hotel was gorgeous and the staff superb. We loved every minute of our stay. The hotel sits on the edge of the Black Forest and most of the rooms have spectacular terraces overlooking the forest. The hotel arranged an unforgetable hike for us through the Black Forest which was absolutely breathtaking and culminated in a fabulous lunch in a cabin in the forest. After lunch, we searched for edible mushrooms! The hotel had electric bikes to use if you wanted to zip through the forest instead of hike. A couple in our group who are avid bikers, used the electric bikes at the hotel's recommendation, then let us try them and we had a blast! The food at the hotel was soooo wonderful - an unbelievable breakfast buffet, delicious lunches and incredible dinners. We even met the chef and the owner of the hotel at dinner one evening and found out the hotel has been in the same family for eight or nine generations. It's obvious from the moment you arrive that the hotel puts a lot of time and effort into making your overall experience a fabulous one. We really enjoyed the indoor pools and spa and the overall warmth of the hotel. Even though we live in South Florida, I still dream of going back to the Traube Tonbach. Well done!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floridafivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear guest
We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to describe your stay in Tonbach.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Traube Tonbach.
As you pointed out correctly the hotel is family owned and operated for more than 220 years, with my brother and me being the eighth generation to be here. It is our greatest concern to delight and spoil every guest in a personal way.
I am also happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful landscape with one of our E-bikes, which is indeed a great experience.
We are hoping to welcome you back in Tonbach as soon as possible.

With best regards from the whole team,
Sebastian Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Beautifully maintained, traditionally German hotel with wonderful restaurants. It is situated in the Black Forest. All you need to do is walk out the back and you will be on marked trails in the middle of the majestic forest. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I've ever experienced. There was fresh fruit and chocolates left in our suite every evening. And for dinners you have a 3 Michelin starred restaurant. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: They are expanding the spa area so ask for a room that does not face the construction area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesBocaRaton_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baiersbronn
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bareiss
Hotel Bareiss
#1 of 32 in Baiersbronn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Sackmann
Hotel Sackmann
#7 of 32 in Baiersbronn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.9 mi away
Flair Hotel Sonnenhof
Flair Hotel Sonnenhof
#18 of 32 in Baiersbronn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel Dollenberg
Hotel Dollenberg
#1 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
6.5 mi away
Nationalpark-Hotel Schliffkopf
16.1 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Traube Tonbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Traube Tonbach

Property: Hotel Traube Tonbach
Address: Tonbachstrasse 237, 72270 Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baiersbronn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Baiersbronn
#2 Romantic Hotel in Baiersbronn
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baiersbronn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Traube Tonbach 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traube Tonbach is nestled in the romantic Tonbach Valley, surrounded by tall fir trees and gently rolling hills. The historic Black Forest hotel has been family owned and operated for over 200 years. Today, it is setting extremely high standards as one of the most exclusive and modern locations for hospitality and enjoyment, accommodations and wellness, activities and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Traube Tonbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traube Tonbach Hotel
Hotel Traube Tonbach Germany/Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing