We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Falken
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Baiersbronn
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel/restaurant/pub is nestled on a side street in the valley of a scenic resort town in the Black Forest. The town is extremely picturesque. My wife and son climbed a hill and found a herd of goats (very friendly). The pub serves great bean soup and other items, while the restaurant is a gormet-style establishment with a very competent and friendly proprietor who speaks English very well, which was a great help for us. The rooms are spacious and offer wifi, TV (I guess, since we never watched it), and a huge bathroom, as well as views of the hills around us. Prices were about what one would expect, but the food was amazingly well prepared. It was easy to walk through the town, and there were many other hotels in the area. Just down the street from us was a bakery that featured wonderful tortes and cakes, and a very friendly older proprietor. Felt like I was back in my mother's kitchen after eating the apple charlotte!

My only real qualm was that parking was very tight, but with a little care, no fenders were dented.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 263310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I chose to stay here in Baiersbronn as part of a birthday/Christmas trip, and were not disappointed by the beautiful town/valley in which it is located. Although we have practically no German we were made very welcome by all the staff and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and felt festive and homely, with a real fir tree going up during our stay. Our rooms were warm despite the chill outside, with extremely comfortable beds and nice decorative touches even here. One main highlight was the delicious food. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, with a range of tasty breads, cheeses, meats, pickles, cereals, fresh fruits and yoghurts... the list goes on. One day we went out snow-shoeing and the hotel helped us to make up a full packed lunch from the buffet, to take with us on our trip. We also had one evening meal at the restaurant which served a range of local foods, beautifully prepared with hugely generous portions. We were very sad to check out of this wonderful hotel when our time was up, and will certainly be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jess231282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel offers great rooms, friendly service and excellent food at a price that is quite remarkable. We have stayed here two years running and it just gets better and better. The breakfast buffet is a joy to behold and the freshly cooked eggs were memorable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I spent several nights at the Falken, wanting to stay in one of the smaller towns of the Black Forest. Our room was huge, with a nice size sitting area and also a balcony. The bathroom was spacious. There are liquid soap dispensers in the bathroom, but if you would like shampoo, you will need to bring your own. Breakfast was included with an amazing amount of food. We also requested the half board and our dinners were wonderful and compared similarily to "fine dining" restaurants we enjoy at home. Certainly a value. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially since everything is written in German, we needed a translation of the dinner menus. On a side note, I used the public ladies room one evening and was surprised to find 3 potty seats and one step stool for toddlers -- I've never seen anything like that in the US, and I might add, they were immaculate! A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toadhollowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night at the Hotel Falken on our drive through the Black Forest. Our room was huge, with a balcony, very clean. Breakfast buffet was excellent - again, huge! We also had dinner downstairs in the restaurant, and very much enjoyed our meal. This family-run hotel and restaurant is a gem in a smaller town, in a nice location. We didn't have time to enjoy the amenities at the hotel, like the wellness center. There is also a pub next door, which we didn't visit, but looked interesting. Also has parking on site. Lots of hiking opportunities in the area. Definitely worth a stop.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank annie2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We recently stayed at the hotel falken. The staff were friendly, the rooms were large and clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a large selection of meats, cereals, breads, teas and juices. We had a meal in the hotel restaurant which was excellent and great value for money. Unfortunately the restaurant is closed Tuesday's so we went to the pub next door. Which u would also highly recommend as the food was nice and the pub was full if character.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area. It is great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete-Rhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Hotel Falken, is a small and splendid hotel in Baiersbronn. Run by Susanne and her family, they provide great service, great food and great advice. The rooms are VERY spacious and the service is excellent. Susanne was very helpful with tips, maps and advice on where to go and how to get there. The place is very clean, well looked after and they serve excellent food. They also gave us the Guest Ticket which gives you free journeys on all busses and trains within the Black Forest area for the duration of your stay.

if we are back in Black Forest, this would be the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IqbalNoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baiersbronn hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Traube Tonbach
Hotel Traube Tonbach
#2 of 32 in Baiersbronn
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hirsch
Hirsch
#15 of 32 in Baiersbronn
31 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Bareiss
Hotel Bareiss
#3 of 32 in Baiersbronn
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Lamm
Hotel Lamm
#12 of 32 in Baiersbronn
117 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Adler-Post Obertal
Hotel Adler-Post Obertal
#25 of 32 in Baiersbronn
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#22 of 32 in Baiersbronn
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Falken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Falken

Property: Hotel Restaurant Falken
Address: Oberdorfstr. 95, 72270 Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baiersbronn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Baiersbronn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baiersbronn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Falken 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Falken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant Falken Germany/Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing