We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice lunch break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lowenbrau

Lowenbrau
Ranked #8 of 226 Restaurants in Baden-Baden
Price range: $35 - $141
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice lunch break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We ate here on the 3rd of january and they still had all the Christmas decorations up: it was great for our 3 year old son.They certainly went made with all the Santas and elfs and sleighs!
The food is nice, typical german dishes, good beer and nice service. The bill was ok.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tulger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    445
    229
    56
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Avoid if you can”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We slept once in the hotel and were very satisfied . So 6 months later we decided to try the restaurant . Deception . I tried the spare ribs . You have 2 kg of meat in your plate , but i would have prefered less but better . It has no taste . My honey tried a goulash . The sauce is made with industrial powder .
Sleep here , rooms are just great , drink a beer here , but don t eat .

Helpful?
1 Thank beru25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Enjoyed this restaurant! Good portions and nice food but we had better and cheaper food else where in Baden Baden.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gems81H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced and indifferent - BUT with a lovely terrace”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I visited Baden-Baden on the end of October 2013. The weather was lovely, so we took the opportunity to have our lunch on the LOVELY terrace. The review:
Service:
The waiters were apathetic. From the moment we entered the restaurant until the moment we paid the bill. Only one young waiter that was serving the drinks and was smiling, the rest were as if they were forced to work there, un-paid.

Food:
Poor. I got the pork's knuckle. Normally this should be succulent, full of herbs and tasty. Instead, it was a big chunk of meat, a bit dry and almost unsavoured. I wife got schnitzel, with the same feeling.

Price:
24 euros for the knuckle. I cannot remember the other prices but it was overpriced. For the quality I think 16 euros is much more reasonable. Maybe that price was because of Baden-Baden but stil it was too much.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ntalas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Service was bit abrupt, even by German standards, though we were there in mid-October and the place wasn't crowded by any means.

Beer was good--no real surprise there--and the food was simple, tasty, and well-presented.

Pricey for what you get. And stick to the beer. Order a bottle of German red wine--don't know why you'd do that, but never mind--and you'll learn the meaning of "sticker-shock."

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldcelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowenbrau also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Lowenbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing