We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks more authentic than it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lowenbrau

Lowenbrau
Ranked #9 of 227 Restaurants in Baden-Baden
Price range: $35 - $141
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Looks more authentic than it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We only dodged in for a swift beer after a walk round the shops. Service was OK beer good but a bit pricey. Felt quite Bavarian in the Black Forest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    445
    229
    56
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
233 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Cool place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

After spending some hours at the Caracalla spa we found ourselves ready for a good lunch. The Loewenbraeu looked very appealing with the nice shaded garden and beautiful flowers around. The staff was dressed with traditional dress which added to the atmosphere and dispite the rush hour they were able to serve us efficiently. The beer was nice and cold. The portions were satisfying. Price was kind of high.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giora_I_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
343 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
“Our Bavarian friends would be embarrassed by this food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spotted the blue and white awnings and headed straight for the Lowenbrau, where the atmosphere was buzzing on this summer evening and found a table in the tightly packed garden. We ordered our hefes and settled down, expecting to enjoy our favourite dishes but were sadly disappointed.

Service was peremptory. OK, so they were busy, but nevertheless, the lack of attention and care with which our order was taken and delivered was not as we'd have expected from such a place. We ordered three different dishes from the menu and not a single plate was up to scratch. My husband's comment was "how come we're in Germany, in a German restaurant, eating German food and it doesn't taste authentic?" We travel in Germany frequently, are very fond of Bavarian cooking in particular (see previous reviews) and this was simply awful.

Having decided to forgo dessert or further drinks, my husband placed his credit card on the table, ready to pay and a passing waiter simply snatched it up without breaking step and disappeared to who knows where - leaving us all speechless! Five minutes later he returned with the bill (and the credit card too, thankfully)

Very disappointing indeed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Tasty traditional Deutsche food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

After walking into the beer garden you get that traditional German feel with charming garden settings and the waitresses and waiters dressed in traditional Bavarian dress.

The beer was cold and the Riesling very nice. My wife had the jaeger schnitzel which was nice although it was a pork schnitzel which was not indicated on the menu and I had the pork knuckle. All I can say is the knuckle was huge and moist and tasty. The cabbage salad was exactly like my German mother made it!

Overall very pleased and the only criticism I would have is that its pretty expensive but then again so is everything in Baden Baden.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joey60_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sausage and Steins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We chose Lowenbrau for Sausage, Sauerkraut and Steins and were pleased with our traditional German dining choice (the staff were even in traditional costume). Great atmosphere outdoors - candle lit under a leafy canopy. Basket of bread to soak up the beer, lovely regional Rose wine and great coffee and apple strudel to finish (and a sneaky kirschwasser schnapps which was very fiery). Efficient staff kept us well fed and watered throughout the meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Somersetfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowenbrau also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Lowenbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing