We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tarnished image....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Minusio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tarnished image....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We got there on monday june 10th. The young woman @ check-in didn't offer help with the luggage, said there was nobody to help with the air conditioning, and said that we were 25' away from the Festspielhaus (utterly wrong - we were only 8' away on foot,). If the Heliopark wants to get back to a certain - prior - image they'd concentrate on how to choose their "public face"!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    113
    37
    13
    6
See reviews for
44
146
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed at the Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch for four nights in April 2014. There can be no doubting this hotel's assets: perfect central location in the old town (in the pedestrian area, so no traffic) and elegant design. My room on the third floor was very large and the bathroom (with bath) well-appointed. Everything was very clean and tidy.

But there were some telltale signs that corners are being cut. The shower head in my room, for example, (a "phone" type shower head that can be held in the hand) could not be fixed in its stationary position on the wall fitting as this was broken. A number of lights in my room and throughout the hotel needed their light bulbs to be changed. These things don't look good.

The breakfast was very good and provided a wide selection, but a number of the waiting staff attending breakfast spoke little (or in one case, no) English. The reception staff spoke adequate English but in the entire hotel I found only one or two staff members whose English was fluent. Fortunately I had enough German to get by, but many of our party didn't.

I had no problems with the free wifi but didn't avail myself of the spa facilities so can't comment on those.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahaminAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thessaloniki
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

a very elegant,old spa hotel in the heart of baden baden city!
the decoration,the breakfast,the service,everything excellent!!
nice for couple but also for friends company.value for money.also i have to mention is a very quite
place.
they could have slippers at the bathroom or more toilette facilities but if you ask for the staff will help you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed at the Heliopark for a weekend getaway. Based on the positive reviews had great anticipations (representative of 4 stars). Upon arrival I learn that he sauna facilities are not working (a heads up a time of booking would be great), at check-in the reception did not complete a proper introduction. Further, the WIFI was out of order, which was a big deal for me, in need of completing a work project. The hotel did not do anything to try to "make up" for this inconvenience.

Additionally, the reception provided wrong directions on the bus route to the airport - thankfully I did not trust the competence of the staff at that point to question the directions and depart early.

As other reviews noted, breakfast is great, and the waiter staff are very accommodating. Also, the TV channels are screwed up, with lots of state-owned agency propaganda.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyinfinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erieville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for almost a week the end of May 2013. It was attractive, clean, well appointed, with very friendly and helpful staff. We could not believe the beautiful array of fresh fruits, pastries, meats, cereals and eggs that were on the breakfast buffet which was included in the room price. The dining area was lovely with linen tablecloths and napkins. This hotel is situated nicely in a "pedestrian only" section which meant that there was very little traffic noise, but we were within walking distance of shops, grocers, attractions, the hot baths, public parks, public transport, and the parking garage where we left our rented vehicle for most of the week. WiFi reception was best in the main floor lounge. I would love to return to Baden Baden and if so would plan to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch

Very nice hotel with large clean room and nice bathroom. Our room 405 had a small balcony with a view. I thought the double door room entrance was a bit odd (see photos).

The hotel location is good. I can't speak to the price because it was included in our Rick Steves tour price.

The bed was a double but like a lot of hotels in Europe there were two single mattresses together with the ever-present deckes (single bed quilts enclosed in single quilt-sized pillow cases). Don't they have they have these big enough to cover two people? I never saw flat sheets or blankets in Germany. If I got too hot I just pulled the quilt thing out and used just the cover.

The breakfast and breakfast room were very nice. A huge selection and comfortable seating area.

The downside of the hotel would be the small elevator and Wi-Fi which wouldn't work in room and I couldn't get it to work in the lobby either.

Room Tip: Room 405 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimFromAuburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We travel quite a lot. This month trip included France, Luxemburg, Belgium and Germany. We are a couple and we are staying in Baden-Baden one night. If you are a young couple this place is NO for you.. Only twin beds moved together are available in this hotel.
Bathroom smells of mold and has not a fresh feel and this hotel is not cheap my friends.
Pillows are not made for comfort here and no AC...
If you are over 80 and like basics this place is for you...
Sorry .. I wish I could be nicer... but I already am ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lifeisours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.8 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.5 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#9 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#8 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch

Property: Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch
Address: Hirschstr. 1, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Baden-Baden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
#10 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliopark Zum Hirsch Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing