We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The location is located in the pedestrian zone so it can be tricky to get there if you are following your GPS. It can also be tricky to find since reception is IN the restaurant and the signing isn't clear if you are coming from certain directions. The rooms themselves are clean. Once there it is an easy walk to find food or to go to the baths.Our room didn't have a view but we were out and about all day so there wasn't really a need for it. Breakfast is at a separate restaurant across the street but its close so it is not a big deal. All in all it was good but if you are looking for a place to stay that is super fancy and nice this probably is not the place you want to stay. If you are looking for a centrally located place this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ihearttravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
36
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fittleworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Third time I've been to Baden-Baden for the Christmas Markets and I'd seen this hotel before, enjoyed a cup of coffee and decided to stay on my most recent visit. It's really central, close to the shops, a short stroll to the Spa(s) and to the main attraction - the Christmas Market.

The room itself was great. Big comfortable bed. There was only one pillow each but we were given more as soon as we asked. When we first went into the room it was quite cold but soon warmed up once we turned on the heaters. There was a decent shower room and we felt very comfortable.

Breakfast was served in the cafe over the road. It was a decent enough buffet although not overly exciting. A delightful waitress fussed over us making sure we had enough tea and coffee and nothing seeemed to be too much trouble for her.

The Christmas decorations are splendidly wonderfully extravagently madly O.T.T. There's a santa's grotto created in the patio in front of the hotel and little Santas can be seen peering in through the dining room windows, a jolly santa chuckles as you come in, there's reindeer, a sled, pine branches woven through the fencing and .....oh - go and see it, even if you don't stay there.

Evening meals weren't included but we ate there twice. The food was OK but nothing very special. Old school germanic. I found it odd that I couldn't charge the meals and drinks to the room.

The downside was that it pays for being central by being very noisy. There's one of these automatic barriers that prevents access into the street except for service vehicles. It beeps noisily when it goes down and again when it is coming up. So the bin collection, late night taxis, early morning deliveries and so on all led to a really penetrating two tone beeping while the bollard did it's stuff. There was quite a lot of late night (midnight plus) pedestrian traffic on the street outside and the setting in a little square seemed to amplify the noise of the shouting and lengthy discussions probably fuelled by beer.

Would I go back? Probably not. Nothing against the hotel but the noise really disrupted my sleep.

Room Tip: One with ear plugs facing away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We entered the hotel Löwen because it was close to the Spa and because it was a three star hotel. We wanted it to be minimum three stars.

I would probably rate this between three and four stars. The room was definitely clean, silent, high standard - not a great view, but none needed. The beds were good quality, clean. The shower was very good, the bathroom clean and nice and of high standard.

The restaurant was very good offering Bavarian dishes. Not big restaurant, but folksy and local type. The breakfast next morning was across the tiny town square and into a separate hotel where there was a small breakfast, although more than sufficient.

We paid 95 Euros for a room, and that was a really good deal in my eyes. Probably the best value for money for the trip we had.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

The Hotel is in the Center, I would agree in the summer it could be a little noisy with windows being open.

The room was a good size clean with comfortable bed

Breakfast is in cafe opposite

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

A perfectly good hotel situated right in the middle of the main pedestrianised street and close to the thermal baths. The bedroom was adequetly, if old-fashionedly, furnished but the en-suite looked brand new and was kept sparklingly clean - it had a bath tub as well as shower. The only problem - and it is the same for all the central Baden hotels - is that the hotel has it's own restaurant / bar outside. Consequently it's noisy from about midday to midnight, when it closes - not normally a problem but if you've arrived as we did on a very early flight, having had to get up at 4.00am, we really needed an early night - not possible here!

By the way the breakfast was fine - previous report seemed to be disappointed to get a continental breakfast while staying on....er...the continent! What did they expect - a pig roast with dancing girls???

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DandareOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2008

We were in Baden Baden for the first time in June-07. We got there by chance, without any reservation. We slept our first night at the Alte Laterne (see separate review), but unfortunately. they where fully booked for the second night.

My guess is that the hotels, who are situated on a sqare in the middle of the pedestrian zone, have the same owner. So they arranged for us to stay the second night at Zum Goldenen Löwen.

Goldenen Löwen is clean, newly renowated, completely without charm and also more expensive than Alte Laterne. We were also unlucky to get a room without view (see pictures and compare with Alte Laterne)

My overall experience (3) is because the neighboring hotel Alte Laterne offers everything that you get at Goldenen Löwen, but with charm and at a lesser price.

  • Liked — Clean. location
  • Disliked — That we had to move here because our first hotel were fully booked
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We first tried the Am Markt based on the reviews here but as they were booked we ended up here and liked it very much. It had been remodeled, all hard wood flooring, non smoking, clean, etc. Like the rest of European hotels, you mustnt expect a bath tub and unfortunately they beds were those that are like two twins put together . Otherwaie we had a stay stay and the hotel restuarant was also quite nice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — smoking reception...grosssssssss!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelincritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alte Laterne
Hotel Alte Laterne
#23 of 50 in Baden-Baden
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#7 of 50 in Baden-Baden
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roemerhof
Hotel Roemerhof
#31 of 50 in Baden-Baden
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bischoff
Hotel Bischoff
#38 of 50 in Baden-Baden
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Merkur
Hotel Merkur
#11 of 50 in Baden-Baden
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quellenhof
Hotel Quellenhof
#5 of 50 in Baden-Baden
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen

Property: Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
Address: Gernsbacher Str. 9, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing