We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but rather basic”
Review of Hotel Bischoff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bischoff
Ranked #39 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Strasbourg, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient but rather basic”
Reviewed August 19, 2009

I stayed there for 2 nights, the room was clean. As for breakfast ( called buffet...)I found it really basic and poor :only factory feedstuffs and a rather small pot of coffee or tea.
You must know that no one there speaks English (or French , I am from France), so there was no real communication with the staff. You have to manage by yourself.
Add to that, there is no one at the entrance desk during the day, the door is closed by 5pm which makes the place really impersonal.
Just one good point : it is well-located, just opposite the Roman bath.
All in all : a bit too expensive, not good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pisoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
18
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Lovely location, basic rooms, slightly overpriced for what you are getting. Staff hardly speaks any English. Assistant to the General Manager, Ms. Silke Volz, doesn't know what customer service is and is rather rude over the phone. Upon arrival and request I provided my credit card however full prepayment was demanded thereafter. When raising my concerns, I was simply told that a "take it or leave it" policy applies. I had no choice than to prepay the entire stay in cash. When the staff took my 500 Euro note, she hinted, that she could not verify the authenticity of it due to the lack of such a machine.
Thank you for your trust and confidence and for allowing us to stay at your establishment.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faisalsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

The Bischoff has the advantage of being centrally located, the Friedrichsbad is just opposite and the Caracalla a stone's throw away. The shopping streets start just 50 meters away but on the other side of the block so noise is not a problem.

Parking in Baden-Baden is an issue, there are actually a few places in front of the Bischoff but you have to reserve those in advance and they cost 8 Euros / day. Alternatively, leave your car in the Vincenti carpark, 200 m away from the Bischoff.

Rooms are basic but good, we had a double with a little balcony, TV, and a small bathroom with a shower, WC and sink (small meaning that only one person fits in there at a time).

Breakfast is included in the price of the room, again basic but plentiful.

Recommended if you are looking for a good budget hotel, and only need a place to sleep.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The very small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Hotel Bischoff is part of a group of hotels, restaurants and a catering service in Baden-Baden. A point to note is the reception is not staffed after 5pm. Therefore if you’re arriving after this time you have to call to Hotel Laterne before 11pm and Gasthaus Lowenbrau if after that time. All are in the same area. We arrived later than expected and a very pleasant Manager from the Gasthaus met me in the hallway of the Laterne quite by chance. However, we soon had our key (and a much needed beer) and were in our room.

The room is small enough, although adequate when you’re out all day sight seeing. The ensuite is a reasonable size. My only crib is ours had a shower over the bath with no curtain so the water got everywhere! Everything is spotless. The breakfast is fine, nothing to get excited about, but there’s plenty of it and refreshed regularly. There was one lady at reception that has limited English, but we met another very pleasant lady who had good English. There is also a phone at reception if you have a problem and need to contact someone after hours…take your key with you as you’ll need it to get back in, in the evening.

The hotel is directly opposite the Friedrichsbad, which is a glorious place to relax for two hours or so and definitely recommended (note that its all done in the nude, if you’re a bit squeamish about that the Caracalle Therme is just up the road and great fun as well!). As for the rest of the town there are plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants nearby and the Kurhaus and Trinkehalle are only a short distance away.

If you’re looking for somewhere to lay your head each night after a day’s touring around, this place is ideal and I’d have no problem recommending it.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing bad to say at all.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueyedpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2008

The most wonderful stay in Germany - right in the midst of the mountainous region of the Black Forest - beautiful view, great city to stroll, plenty of shopping, the baths were tremendous, the food was fresh - we want to come back and spend more relaxing time there.

  • Liked — comfortable
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank philrpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Friedrichsbad mit Prager Stuben
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alte Laterne
Hotel Alte Laterne
#21 of 50 in Baden-Baden
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Haus Reichert
Hotel Haus Reichert
#37 of 50 in Baden-Baden
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
#30 of 50 in Baden-Baden
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roemerhof
Hotel Roemerhof
#32 of 50 in Baden-Baden
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quellenhof
Hotel Quellenhof
#4 of 50 in Baden-Baden
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bischoff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bischoff

Property: Hotel Bischoff
Address: Gernsbacher Str. 10-12, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bischoff 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bischoff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bischoff Hotel Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing