We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, excellent location”
Review of Hotel Alte Laterne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alte Laterne
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and a great stay in the very traditional German hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Bad part of the room was that we could not turn down the heat so I had to have the windows open all night. Which was fine as I liked the cool mountain air. there is no free internet. you have to purchase it from the front desk via a tmobile hot spot.There was a parking lot( 5 minute walk away) for our car which was an added bonus. breakfast was good and included in the room. Very central and easy to walk all over the town. If you are looking for a good room that is a good value do not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swimmy128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 119 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Can't beat this delightful hotel for its location, right in the heart of Baden Baden and close to all shops,spa and good restaurants. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Great value for money. Clean and cosy makes it the perfect budget hotel in this delightful town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent New Year's Eve in this precious hotel. The location is great just few steps from famous spa and in the core of the town. It is a great value for money hotel. It is clean and simple with a very nice warm atmospheare. Forget taxi, cars and bus because you can reach everything on foot. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Small, nice hotel in the pedestrian area. Rooms were nice and well equipped with sitting area, bathroom and even a fridge. Very kind and helpful staff. Easy to reach buses to different parts of the surroundings.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you can't go stairs or don't like to wake up while the town wakes up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kariEiksmarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The hotel has an old-world charm with little things reminding of the times gone. It is prettily decorated and the different way the rooms are placed add to the "cute" factor. A very friendly staff and a good restaurant makes it a perfect place to stay while visiting the city. The hotel is located in a little "pedestrian-only" square making it more attractive if you are visiting the city for a vacation and want to relax.

The closeness to the square may make it a little noisy but we didn't mind it :)

Room Tip: Although the rooms that face the square may be a little noisy but they have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NidheeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Exactly what you want: great location, good breakfast and a good value. Nothing fancy but spotlessly cleaned and has everything you need. Stayed here twice and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I was so impressed by the hotel during my stay here last year that I was happy to return. Must say, they have been consistent and I strongly recommend this hotel to travellers to Baden Baden.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Merkur
Hotel Merkur
#8 of 50 in Baden-Baden
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Etol
Hotel Etol
#27 of 50 in Baden-Baden
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hote Loehr
Hote Loehr
#39 of 50 in Baden-Baden
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Kaiser im Centrum
0 mi away
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
#32 of 50 in Baden-Baden
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alte Laterne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Laterne

Address: Gernsbacher Str. 10-12, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Price Range: $132 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alte Laterne 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alte Laterne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing