We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foggy didn't see much”
Review of Merkur Mountain

Merkur Mountain
Ranked #3 of 49 things to do in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Foggy didn't see much”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Make sure you check the weather before making a trip to Merkur Mountain. We didn't and it was foggy and we couldn't see anything. I was bummed.
But... You take the train up the really steep mountain which is fun. There is a watch tower you can climb or ride the elevator to the top and see the landscape. There is a café/bar there that looked good. We didn't eat, but it looked good. There was a play area for the kids. They loved it. Brochures were in all languages. People were nice. I visited with my husband and young kids (5 and 2).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EOrr28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    76
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough,UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a trip up here.”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were in Baden Baden in December but were very lucky to have a clear sunny day when we went up the mountain on the funicular train. It is about a 30-40 minute walk from the town centre to the train which is operated automatically. Tickets are bought at the bottom of the track and the train is easy to operate.
Once at the top there are beautiful views, a picnic area, children's play area, visitor information and a cafe/bar well worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank southpacific53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erieville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful vistas”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We visited Merkur in May on a lovely clear day. There are beautiful vistas from both sides of the mountain. One of the highlights was watching the people paragliding off an edge of the mountain. Another highlight was enjoying a local beer at the restaurant at the top.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Scenery”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Loved the Cog wheel train which takes you to the top of the mountain to get a great view of Baden Baden town. Its extremely economical approx. 4 Eur per person and there is a public transport which takes you there in no time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank VikasGarg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
125 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Pretty Good!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Its a nice place to enjoy your weekend by a trip here! We went up the Mountain by Funicular Train and climbed down by treking just 4 km way, We had a good sunny day luckily and it was very beautiful way down.
The Mountain has tower on top, which takes you to the Highest point in Baden Baden, Nice view from the top,
There is possibility of paragliding from the top if wind conditions are good, they charge around a 110 euros for a awesome 10 min ride!!
Overall Its a Must see in Baden Baden

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Milind M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merkur Mountain also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Merkur Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing