We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Merkur
Nearby Hotels
Magnetberg Hotel(Baden-Baden)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden(Baden-Baden)(Great Value!)
$102
$92
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rebenhof(Neuweier)
$125
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$367
$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden(Baden-Baden)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$168
$137
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$229
$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Atlantic Parkhotel(Baden-Baden)
$370
$331
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$578
$539
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveler rating
242
160
45
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
160
45
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree of chargesky tvcheap parkingfast wifienjoyed our staysmoked fishbeautiful cityincluded breakfastother hotelsyogurtreception staffquiet streeton site parkingcentral locationexcellent restaurantcomfortable stayvery nice hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 462 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Since we were two adults and two teenagers, we reserved one of the junior suites. We had room 315 which was on the top floor of the second building - it was a walk-up with no elevator which was fine for us, but if you have difficulty with stairs, you might want to specifically request a lower-floor room or one in the main building which does have an elevator.

The room was clean and incredibly spacious! The modern furnishings and artwork were all nice and in good repair. The living area contained two sofas (which converted into beds for the kids), coffee table, TV & DVD, bar area with mini fridge and coffee/tea set-up, room safe, plus a dining table and four chairs. The separate bedroom had a comfortable European-style double bed. The bathroom had a tub/shower combo with a rain shower head, makeup mirror and hair dryer. Wifi in the room worked fine. The location of the hotel was on a quiet one-way street within walking distance of most everything in town.

Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We were given cards for free drinks at Equipage nightclub and an extra hour at the Caracalla Therme (pay for two hours, get the third free). We used our room towels and bathrobes at the spa since we didn't bring our own. Staff can arrange massages and beauty treatments if you are so inclined. The breakfast buffet was included in our room rate and it was excellent - breads, meats, salmon, cheeses, boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, fruit, juice, coffee, tea, etc. We also ate dinner in the restaurant and it was fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FloridaMomOfTeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Awesome hotel, convenient location, walking distance from everything, fancy, very spacious rooms, clean, the staff are nice and speak well English, I would go there again and again and I would recommend it to any one visiting the city

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraYMans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias_Hirsch, Manager at Hotel Merkur, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Mrs. SaraYMans,
thank you very much for choosing Hotel Merkur for your stay in Baden-Baden and also for your very nice and positive review.
We do always our best to make the stay of our guest as comfortable and memorable as possible.The well-being of our guests is our aim every day.
Replies and review like yours are our highest form of praise and guests like your are the reason why we love to do our job.
We would be happy to welcome you again as our guest and we wish you a wonderful time.
Warmest regards from Baden-Baden
Matthias Hirsch and the whole Hotel MERKUR-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

In a quiet street within walking distance (or with buses) to most sites. Good value, as breakfasts are generous and varied and staff all very willing to help. Single rooms are small and rather cluttered with excessive furniture.

Room Tip: small single rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 8291em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was our first time in Baden-Baden but for sure not our last onee. We love this beautiful city and the friendly hotel Merkur. The city and the hotel are small and lovely. The location of the hotel MERKUR is perfect. You can reach everything in a just a few minutes walking distance.
Our double room superior was large, modern, comfortable and clean, with everything you need and a very special extra: free of charge Sky-tv-channels, so we could watch the Champions Leaque football games in our hotel room  Wifi is also free charge (like it should be in every hotel) and you can order a iPod-docking-station and bathrobes also free of charge.
The food at the restaurant and the breakfast was excellent and the service was friendly.
Also the staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. We felt us very welcome from our first step in the hotel Merkur and we look forward to come back in a warmer period.
They told us spring should be a very beautiful time in Baden-Baden.
We want also recommend you the Museum Frieder Burda and the Friedrichsbad if you visit Baden-Baden.
At the night there is a good entertainment in the Equipage at the Kurhaus with live music (every night, if I remember right). One more extra at the hotel MERKUR: at our check in we get a voucher for a free drink at the EQUIPAGE.
We can recommend Baden-Baden and the hotel Merkur highly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Salvatore T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've travel a lot of hotels over the years for work; this is by, far, the worst hotel. Here are just some of the reasons why:

1. Hotel doesn't allow you to change your plans. If you leave 1 or 5 days early - you still need to pay the price even if you DID'T STAY there
2. They say they have a restaurant. It is a joke. There isn't a host/waiter there to serve you.
3. No fitness center even thought he woman on the phone said they do
4. No receptionist between the hours of 10pm - 8am (even though they claim it is 12-7). I needed cab for the airport at 7am.
5. Wi-fi sucks. Really poor signal through entire hotel (yes, I even asked to change rooms and was faced with low signal.)
6. Right by a busy alley. Woke up to trash/street cleaners each morning

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias_Hirsch, Manager at Hotel Merkur, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear writer of this review,

we don`t know who wrote this review and what could be the reason for this.
And we can also not understand that it is possible to write untrue reviews like this here.

We just want to clarify:

- It could be that we have to charge a cancellations fee. But we search always a good solutions to the satisfaction of our guests. So, for example we do credit the cancellation stay at a following stay.

- We take care of our guest 24 hours. We are personally there for our guests at our reception from 7 am until 12 pm and our guests can reach us by phone all through the night.

- Of course we have waiter in our restaurant. Normally it is not worth to tell, because it is clear and necessary

- We have no gym in our hotel. And we never communicate anything different.

- Our hotel is located in a hotel quit zone. This is a little one way street with very less traffic. There are definitely no street cleaners, never!

It should be clear for everybody, that this review ist not a true one.

We thank all our guest who take time to write a real review about their real stay at our hotel MERKUR

Every single guest and the satisfaction of all our guests is very important for us and we are happy about every positive feedback.

Warmest regards

Matthias Hirsch & the hotel MERKUR-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews