We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Bed, Fantastic Breakfast, Fantastic Price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Merkur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Merkur
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bed, Fantastic Breakfast, Fantastic Price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had a great experience at Hotel Merkur in Baden-Baden. They had, bar-none, the BEST included breakfast of any hotel I've ever stayed in. I mean... who puts out an enormous bowl of stewed cherries for you to stir into your yogurt? HOTEL MERKUR! There were also lots of different meats and cheeses to choose from - not just the normal sandwich slices, but also brie and cut cheese - then muffins and pastries, hard-boiled eggs and really really good coffee, orange juice and grapefruit juice, fruit, etc. etc. Really generous.

The room was spotless and comfortable. It was nicely decorated and the bed was a slam-dunk on the comfy factor.

I had fun watching a movie in English after 3 months of German-Only TV, then conked out. When I checked out the next morning, they watched my bags free of charge, although it was clear that a tip was expected and appropriate when I came to get them.

The only drawback was that the free Wifi didn't work and the room was a little tight for navigation, space-wise. That's what rolled it back to a four.

Great experience all-around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnitaPeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    142
    35
    9
    4
See reviews for
45
211
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel 3 times over the last few years and I think, in comparison with other hotels in Baden-Baden, it offers good value for money. The location is great; close enough to the centre of town but up a fairly quiet side street. You sometimes hear a little noise late at night from people walking past but nothing too disruptive. The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable. The bathroom is of a good quality. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The breakfast is served in an attractive room and there is a fair amount of choice. If I was being picky I would knock off half a point for not having any pain au chocolat or more sweet things for breakfast. I would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cakestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have been to this hotel now about 6times and will always go there when in Baden-Baden area. Would even drive an extra 10 mile for it.
Rooms are above standard. Very nice interior with big tv and comfortable bed.
Free wifi on the rooms which works fine and is fast enough to use for work.
Breakfast offers plenty of choice. Great location close to restaurants and center.
I didnt check the hotel restaurant so cant rate on that.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel was nice overall, but I thought it was a bit overpriced for what you got. Mind you everything in Baden Baden is expensive.
Saying that everything about the hotel was good - nice rooms, spacious with a good bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was nice with a good selection. We decided to change our plans part way through our stay - we went to Baden Baden for the spa, but it was closed for renovation - so we wanted to leave early. The hotel was very accomodating, and agreed we only pay for the nights we were there rather than charging us for the whole stay which was pretty good at short notice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 40scouple14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias_Hirsch, Manager at Hotel Merkur, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking your time to write down your positive impressions.

With pleasure we have read that you had a nice stay and that you felt well at your stay.

Usually we get a lot of positive feedback and reviews for our good value for money.
Maybe you have stayed through a big congress and the room rate was higher. But also for this periods our rates are not as much higher as you are used from other cities.

One our homepage we have a page "room rates". On this page you can find the actually rates for the next seven days. On our booking page you can see the every prices for every day and room type on a good overview. So it is easy to choose the cheapest days if you are little bit flexible in your plans.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again to the Hotel MERKUR.

Warmest regards

Matthias Hirsch
Manager Hotel MERKUR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have stayed at this lovely hotel at least 10 times on business over the last few years. The service is consistently high and the welcome always a warm one. The staff are keen to please and nothing is too much trouble. If you want a nice, clean safe hotel look no further. As a business woman travelling alone I recommend it.

Room Tip: They are all great, but the 3rd floor in the annex is great if you want lots of space, it's huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenstax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Great small hotel in the centre of town, close to the main sites and the pedestrian shopping zone. Very nice and clean rooms. The wireless appeared to be a bit of a problem, but I think this was an extraordinary occurrence.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BalkanEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano Marittima, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

At our hotel search we were impressed by the modern and clear homepage of the hotel Merkur, with a lot of good information about the hotel and also about Baden-Baden.

So we booked our stay direct over the homepage and get also a present for our direct booking, which is a nice idea of the hotel.

At our arrival we were impressed and surprised again, from the city and the hotel

The hotel Merkur is located very central and quiet. The complete staff was very helpful and friendly with always a smile in their face.

We had a large superior room, with a big flat screen, dvd player, in room safe, complimentary sky tv (included the complete champions leaque) and free of charge wifi. We missed nothing in the room and the warm colors and nice decoration make you feeling well and comfortable. My wife enjoyed specially the rain shower in the modern bathroom.

The breakfast buffet was rich and everything was fresh. The late macchiato was maybe better then in Italy.

We had a very good dinner in the restaurant Sterntaler with an excellent and friendly service.

My wife still raves about the fantastic massage by the masseur Hubert in the hotel.

The hotel Merkur was definitely the best hotel we had in Germany and we want to recommend it highly, as also the wonderful city of Baden-Baden.

Room Tip: Room #106 was very bright with some windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orazio Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baden-Baden
0.3 mi away
Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch
Heliopark Bad Hotel zum Hirsch
#13 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Aurelia Suitenhotel
Aqua Aurelia Suitenhotel
#12 of 50 in Baden-Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merkur

Property: Hotel Merkur
Address: Merkurstr. 8-10, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Baden-Baden
#8 Family Hotel in Baden-Baden
#8 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Merkur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double room at hotel MERKUR. Autumn 2007 high-quality renovated rooms, equipped with CD-/ DVD-Player, 26' LCD flatscreen-TV, sat-tv, minibar, direct dial phone, safe, and free of charge amenities as wirless-LAN and Premiere Hotel TV channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merkur Hotel Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing