We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear”
Review of Hotel Tanneck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tanneck
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Reviewed September 17, 2007

A charming lady in charge, but alas the hotel was sadly wanting in most respects. It was clean but very 'down-at -heel'. Good views of the city.
BUT, Breakfast indifferent, and noisy old fashioned cooler/fridge.
Totally uninspiring. The worst of 8 hotels in Germany on this trip, AND THE DEAREST!!! 100 Euros a night was ridiculous. We had much better for less than half the price elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sapdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 23 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2007

Lately, I've been staying in faceless institutional hotels and longing for someplace with more local character. So, when driving by Baden Baden, we took the opportunity to drive into town unannounced and find someplace with Character. Along the hotel trail, marked through the city and up into the hills, I came across the Hotel Tanneck.

The inn is a cross between cottage and victorian castle, built into the hillside with a small parking area out front. The eclectic lobby has a bit of everything, presided over by the crisp and friendly woman who owns the house. We chose to spend an extra 5 euro to get the balcony double: it's a hike up a curving stairway with luggage, then down a hall full of plants, glass, and oriental rugs, to the rooms.

The hotel (more of an inn) is a bit like staying with your eccentric aunt: somewhat run down and filled with every knick-knack imaginable. The view from our small balcony was stunning, overlooking the city with panoramic views. The room itself is small, a mix of big heavy beds and deep wooden closets, odd little lights and well-used chairs. Unfortunately, the double bed turned out to be two twins pushed together. It's worth noting that, peering around the edge of the balcony, we could see more modern rooms refurbished next door to ours.

In-room TV is extra (there is a set for rent in the hall!) and an internet terminal is available in the lobby (for a charge). The bathroom is small but the shower has ample hot water. The neighborhood is residential and quiet at night. Breakfast is in a sunroom overlooking the city; cereals, meats, cheese, breads, juice. You get a pot of coffee: eggs and other items are extra charge.

The city is a short, vertical walk from the inn, down a path and steps to the city. Mark your course: it can be tricky to remember all the junctures back up. There is tourist information at the bottom (open at 10 am), and the casino is next to it. DO make time to walk across town to the Caracalla Spa, the mineral baths and water park that are a fun and very relaxing experience no matter what your group.

The hotel is, indeed, quirky, but charming: it's a comfortable and unique stay that fits in with the fanciful setting.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2007

We shall be making our fourth visit to Hotel Tanneck this June. The position is fabulous, overlooking the Kurpark and with a delightful walk down into town through the wooded park. (The uphill return can be avoided by using the bus if you're lazy.) The hotel is a large traditional house with huge overhanging eaves and is run by two very friendly and helpful sisters. They expect you to make yourself at home - and we have been treated with unusual kindness in the past. The generous size of the rooms and their particularly fine outlook more than compensate for any lack of modern style in the ensuite facilites. Excellent value for money in this expensive town, where a fine outlook, private parking and a balcony are hard to find without paying treble the price.

3  Thank Gabriella62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2006

Hotel Tanneck may not be every travelers cup of Liebfraumilch, but for those who enjoy a different experience, this is the platz! Owned and managed by 2 charming sisters, this former rest home sits atop a hill, next to a park, with a path from the hotel down to the town center. Our slightly oversized twin room had a balcony, with an excellent view of the town. It seemed nothing matched, but that just added to the charm. And for 12 Euros, they did 2 loads of laundry! I am already planning my next trip to Germany around another visit to Hotel Tanneck, and the "Water Therapy" and massage at the Baths of Carracala. This was one of my 2 favorite stops on an 18-day European trip that covered 7 countries!

Stayed: October 2006
6  Thank Mountain-Lance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2006

i have been there at 2001.
the room was not modern at all.
there was no tv in the room,
you should pay to see tv in a small lobby.
basic breakfast, no eggs.
the hotel was an hospital before many years.
you pay a lot for nothing.

  • Stayed: September 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nachum c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Moscow, Russia
13
Reviewed May 19, 2005

Five of us were traveling by car and had to find a place to stay just one night in Baden-Baden. Tanneck was the first one we came across, right after we had climbed the hill to get a nice view of the town. Surprisingly, they had a room for five!!! That was very funny. In our "suite" there was a big room and a very small room. Besides a double bed and three single beds (one of which was actually a "chair-bed") there were two cribs! Overall, quite quaint.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Zurich, Switzerland
18
Reviewed November 1, 2004

It may be that hotels in Baden-Baden are generally overpriced and thus the Hotel Tanneck my be more on the budget side. However, for 100 Euro per night one may expect even in this plush city a hotel that has a certain standard. And indeed, from the outside it looks quite nice, sitting at the slope of a hill looking over the city, a bit like an old castle.
But the problem is the inside: the furniture is ca. 1940s, i.e. not in a retro-style, but exactly bought then and never renewed since. The carpet consists of piece of even older carpets cut out and placed somewhere in the room. The curtains are old, a bit dirty, the rooms dark. Even the lobby is crammed up with old furniture and other stuff (kitschy pictures, an ugly bottle vending machine etc.).

The strange thing is that it is not really possible to critizize the basics: the rooms are big (very high ceiling), clean, new windows, quiet... But the overall appearance really is depressing. It seemed to us that the owners really think that this kind of style is something that visitors expect. Well, maybe if you are over 93 years old...
And, as one of the others also wrote: the cancellation policy is strict: 80 percent of the room price have to be paid if they cannot rent the room to somebody else.

Look out for other hotels!

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Kaiser im Centrum
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etol
Hotel Etol
#27 of 50 in Baden-Baden
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bischoff
Hotel Bischoff
#49 of 50 in Baden-Baden
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Merkur
Hotel Merkur
#12 of 50 in Baden-Baden
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Am Friedrichsbad mit Prager Stuben
1.3 mi away
Allee Hotel Leidinger
Allee Hotel Leidinger
#31 of 50 in Baden-Baden
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tanneck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tanneck

Address: Werderstr. 14, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Price Range: $111 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tanneck 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tanneck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanneck Hotel Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing