We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst hotel i ever been”
Review of Hotel Tanneck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tanneck
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Reviewed February 27, 2006

i have been there at 2001.
the room was not modern at all.
there was no tv in the room,
you should pay to see tv in a small lobby.
basic breakfast, no eggs.
the hotel was an hospital before many years.
you pay a lot for nothing.

  • Stayed: September 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nachum c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 23 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Moscow, Russia
13
Reviewed May 19, 2005

Five of us were traveling by car and had to find a place to stay just one night in Baden-Baden. Tanneck was the first one we came across, right after we had climbed the hill to get a nice view of the town. Surprisingly, they had a room for five!!! That was very funny. In our "suite" there was a big room and a very small room. Besides a double bed and three single beds (one of which was actually a "chair-bed") there were two cribs! Overall, quite quaint.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Zurich, Switzerland
18
Reviewed November 1, 2004

It may be that hotels in Baden-Baden are generally overpriced and thus the Hotel Tanneck my be more on the budget side. However, for 100 Euro per night one may expect even in this plush city a hotel that has a certain standard. And indeed, from the outside it looks quite nice, sitting at the slope of a hill looking over the city, a bit like an old castle.
But the problem is the inside: the furniture is ca. 1940s, i.e. not in a retro-style, but exactly bought then and never renewed since. The carpet consists of piece of even older carpets cut out and placed somewhere in the room. The curtains are old, a bit dirty, the rooms dark. Even the lobby is crammed up with old furniture and other stuff (kitschy pictures, an ugly bottle vending machine etc.).

The strange thing is that it is not really possible to critizize the basics: the rooms are big (very high ceiling), clean, new windows, quiet... But the overall appearance really is depressing. It seemed to us that the owners really think that this kind of style is something that visitors expect. Well, maybe if you are over 93 years old...
And, as one of the others also wrote: the cancellation policy is strict: 80 percent of the room price have to be paid if they cannot rent the room to somebody else.

Look out for other hotels!

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2004

I'm not sure what the previous reviewer expected from the Hotel Tanneck, but we were very pleased with the hotel on our two-night stay in mid-September, 2004. This is definitely not a high-class joint; it's for the no-frills crowd (or, as I prefer to think, for those of us who'd rather spend money buying things in Baden-Baden rather than staying in an expensive hotel). Baden-Baden does have lots of hotels, but this is a resort town so you'll have to search to find something as reasonably priced as this place.

You *will* know that you're in budget territory: the hotel towels and toilet paper both bring the word "sandpaper" to mind, and if you want an egg with breakfast, you'll pay extra. It's all balanced, though, by helpful staff that's happy to give directions and area recommendations. Half the people staying in the hotel during our stay were French, which (to my mind) makes the place seem more "international" and less like I'll find myself sitting next to someone from St. Louis.

The hotel is on a quiet street on a hill overlooking the city; you're *not* in the middle of downtown. It's a 5-10 minute walk to the Trinkhalle, through a well-lit, pretty park, though there's a bunch of steps to contend with. We had a great view of the city from our hotel room, and appreciated the quiet at night.

Nice place, relatively good value for an expensive town, and friendly people.

2  Thank asteroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2004

On its website, the Hotel Tanneck appears as a charming castle-like hotel. However, the inside is a much different story. The rooms are very basic with old furniture, and the house-keeping leaves much to be desired. Travellers should also be aware of the Hotel Tanneck's cancellation policy. In the likely event that it does not meet travellers' expectations, the Hotel Tanneck charges a cancellation fee of 80% for each night booked. So, for example, 5 nights equals the room rate x's 80% x's 5. As a result, I would strongly advise against booking over the Internet. There is plenty of good accommodation in Baden-Baden, so travellers would be well advised to first walk around the city (which is truly beautiful) before selecting a hotel.

10  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demander une chambre avec balcon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank verneuil36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Boussens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Kaiser im Centrum
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bischoff
Hotel Bischoff
#48 of 50 in Baden-Baden
45 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sonne
Sonne
#16 of 50 in Baden-Baden
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dorint Maison Messmer
Dorint Maison Messmer
#3 of 50 in Baden-Baden
622 reviews
1.3 mi away
Allee Hotel Leidinger
Allee Hotel Leidinger
#32 of 50 in Baden-Baden
22 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Baden-Baden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tanneck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tanneck

Address: Werderstr. 14, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tanneck 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Tanneck Hotel Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing