We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view with little else to offer”
Review of Hotel Tanneck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tanneck
Ranked #48 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Sleepy Bavarian Village
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful view with little else to offer”
Reviewed September 16, 2008

We stayed at Hotel Tanneck when my mother-in-law came to Germany to visit while we are stationed here with the Army. I picked this hotel based on the cute pictures that the hotel's website had listed. It was a bit pricey for what it had to offer. We had 2 doubles, both with spectacular views over Baden-Baden. This really was the only thing about the hotel that stood out.

My husband and I had a recently remodelled room with a tiny bathroom and lumpy bed. My MIL and 5 year old daughter stayed in the next room over. Their bed was also terribly lumpy, you could even feel the support beam about midway down the bed. Their room was musty/moldy smelling, probably caused by water damage above the heater where the wallpaper was noticably moldy and needing to be replaced. The hotel's own website states that they specialize in adjoining rooms which is what I requested. I booked the room 4 months in advance, but did not receive adjoining rooms. The rooms were next door to each other, not adjoining. My definition of adjoining means that there is a door between the rooms so that you don't have to go out into the public areas of the hotel to get from one room to the other.

We were only in Baden-Baden for one night, so the rooms were bareable. I won't stay there again.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — rooms need remodelling to include new mattresses
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GrafArmyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
American abroad
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Nothing wrong, but nothing more than just a place to stay. This hotel is pretty much as the previous reviewers describe. There's nothing really wrong with it, but nothing to make me recommend it to anyone traveling to Baden-Baden, either. We chose it because of a Rick Steeves recommendation, but I think there are better choices and he could drop this one from the list. The location in the foothills above the town does make a quiet stay with a nice view. It's only a 10-minute walk into town (steep climb) and the free parking is a plus. That said, the hotel itself seems reluctant to provide value for money and almost deliberately doesn't want to provide the little extras that make you leave feeling satisfied. (Extra charge for an egg at breakfast when we're paying 140 euros per night? Come on!) Our quad room had 4 mis-matched sets of scratchy, thin towels (how much does it cost to provide a set of soft, matched towels?) Rooms are not just quirkily decorated; they are shabby and neglected (but clean.) The innkeeper was kind, efficient and helpful; not exactly cheerful, but we didn't find that anywhere in Baden-Baden, to be honest. In short, this would be OK if you are stuck, but Baden-Baden is so charming, it has to be worth looking for a hotel with charm, too.

  • Liked — Views of the town
  • Disliked — Shabby interior and minimal comforts
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zawojska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

A charming lady in charge, but alas the hotel was sadly wanting in most respects. It was clean but very 'down-at -heel'. Good views of the city.
BUT, Breakfast indifferent, and noisy old fashioned cooler/fridge.
Totally uninspiring. The worst of 8 hotels in Germany on this trip, AND THE DEAREST!!! 100 Euros a night was ridiculous. We had much better for less than half the price elsewhere!!!

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — State of building/furnishings/food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sapdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baden-Baden hotels

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2007

Lately, I've been staying in faceless institutional hotels and longing for someplace with more local character. So, when driving by Baden Baden, we took the opportunity to drive into town unannounced and find someplace with Character. Along the hotel trail, marked through the city and up into the hills, I came across the Hotel Tanneck.

The inn is a cross between cottage and victorian castle, built into the hillside with a small parking area out front. The eclectic lobby has a bit of everything, presided over by the crisp and friendly woman who owns the house. We chose to spend an extra 5 euro to get the balcony double: it's a hike up a curving stairway with luggage, then down a hall full of plants, glass, and oriental rugs, to the rooms.

The hotel (more of an inn) is a bit like staying with your eccentric aunt: somewhat run down and filled with every knick-knack imaginable. The view from our small balcony was stunning, overlooking the city with panoramic views. The room itself is small, a mix of big heavy beds and deep wooden closets, odd little lights and well-used chairs. Unfortunately, the double bed turned out to be two twins pushed together. It's worth noting that, peering around the edge of the balcony, we could see more modern rooms refurbished next door to ours.

In-room TV is extra (there is a set for rent in the hall!) and an internet terminal is available in the lobby (for a charge). The bathroom is small but the shower has ample hot water. The neighborhood is residential and quiet at night. Breakfast is in a sunroom overlooking the city; cereals, meats, cheese, breads, juice. You get a pot of coffee: eggs and other items are extra charge.

The city is a short, vertical walk from the inn, down a path and steps to the city. Mark your course: it can be tricky to remember all the junctures back up. There is tourist information at the bottom (open at 10 am), and the casino is next to it. DO make time to walk across town to the Caracalla Spa, the mineral baths and water park that are a fun and very relaxing experience no matter what your group.

The hotel is, indeed, quirky, but charming: it's a comfortable and unique stay that fits in with the fanciful setting.

  • Liked — Location, character
  • Disliked — Faux-double bed
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

We shall be making our fourth visit to Hotel Tanneck this June. The position is fabulous, overlooking the Kurpark and with a delightful walk down into town through the wooded park. (The uphill return can be avoided by using the bus if you're lazy.) The hotel is a large traditional house with huge overhanging eaves and is run by two very friendly and helpful sisters. They expect you to make yourself at home - and we have been treated with unusual kindness in the past. The generous size of the rooms and their particularly fine outlook more than compensate for any lack of modern style in the ensuite facilites. Excellent value for money in this expensive town, where a fine outlook, private parking and a balcony are hard to find without paying treble the price.

Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriella62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarpines Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2006

Hotel Tanneck may not be every travelers cup of Liebfraumilch, but for those who enjoy a different experience, this is the platz! Owned and managed by 2 charming sisters, this former rest home sits atop a hill, next to a park, with a path from the hotel down to the town center. Our slightly oversized twin room had a balcony, with an excellent view of the town. It seemed nothing matched, but that just added to the charm. And for 12 Euros, they did 2 loads of laundry! I am already planning my next trip to Germany around another visit to Hotel Tanneck, and the "Water Therapy" and massage at the Baths of Carracala. This was one of my 2 favorite stops on an 18-day European trip that covered 7 countries!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Mountain-Lance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2006

i have been there at 2001.
the room was not modern at all.
there was no tv in the room,
you should pay to see tv in a small lobby.
basic breakfast, no eggs.
the hotel was an hospital before many years.
you pay a lot for nothing.

  • Stayed September 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nachum c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baden-Baden hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etol
Hotel Etol
#20 of 50 in Baden-Baden
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Haus Reichert
Hotel Haus Reichert
#33 of 50 in Baden-Baden
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bischoff
Hotel Bischoff
#38 of 50 in Baden-Baden
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tannenhof
Hotel Tannenhof
#28 of 50 in Baden-Baden
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Sophienpark
Hotel am Sophienpark
#7 of 50 in Baden-Baden
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
#30 of 50 in Baden-Baden
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tanneck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tanneck

Property: Hotel Tanneck
Address: Werderstr. 14, 76530, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 50 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tanneck 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tanneck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanneck Hotel Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing